We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large rooms, free Internet, free parking and clean... Great for its class of hotel”
Review of Holiday Inn Truro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Truro
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
146 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Large rooms, free Internet, free parking and clean... Great for its class of hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The Holiday Inn is not a luxury hotel, and reading some of the other more negative reviews I think they gave this one a bad shake. I have travelled the world, and have just come off of 5 nights in hotels around the maritimes (from motel to 5 star places). To me, the Truro Holiday Inn was the best value for money in that trip, and would certainly be well above average in its class (3 star) based on my general experience.

Rooms were large, clean, and well kept. Parking was free, which many hotels now charge for (one of my pet peeves), as was the Internet. The staff were friendly overall, and the young lady at breakfast was phenomenal and accommodating. The front desk even arrange for me to temporarily borrow an iPhone charger from lost and found for a few minutes so I could access my travel docs from my dead phone... That's service!

The location is close to downtown, with a good pub or two just 500 yards away. I'd recommend the Italian Gino's for dinner about 1 km (1/2 mile) away if you want healthier fare.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pomacentrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time and energy to review our property. I am delighted to hear that you found the best value for your money at our hotel! I am very happy that you enjoyed your guestroom and you found our staff friendly and accommodating. Like you, I stay in many hotels, clean rooms and amenities are very important, however, it is the people that really make the difference. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, it means so much to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    149
    60
    18
    8
See reviews for
84
99
10
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Granville Ferry, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The room was very clean, quiet, and had all the comforts of home. If you are staying awhile, all the extra storage is a nice bonus. The decor was welcoming, current and completely relaxing. If you haven't slept on one of their Holiday Inn Express pillows... you're in for a treat. My only complaint is they don't sell them at the hotels.

Staff was informative and helpful.

Location isn't the best, as we had some difficulty finding it, but the locals were helpful with directions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the décor welcoming and relaxing! I love it that you mentioned our pillows! Each one of our beds host a ‘soft’ and a ‘firm’ pillow. So there is something for everyone! Our business really relies on guest feedback. It is the best indicator to gage customer satisfaction. So again, thank you so much for your comments and please be sure to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The check in process was interesting dealing with a person that did not speak very good English. After getting that done we get to our room only to gap find out they gave us keys to some one else's room! I'm very great full there was just stuff in the room and no people. They did fix the issue and upgraded us to suite for the problem. The suite is dated and in need of some new furniture. The carpet had also seen better days. Other then that the room was clean. Didn't really think when booking but I was expecting breakfast like the other holiday inns but I was wrong there is no complimentary breakfast here. There is a restaurant but we did eat there.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. It sounds like you were greeted by one of our international students. We partner with a provincial university to offer ‘on the job’ work experiences to their students and sometimes English is not their first language. I can appreciate how frustrating communicating in that situation maybe. I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with checking into an occupied room. I am delighted to hear that the issue was quickly remedied and you were upgraded you to a suite. Many of our guests comment on the fact that we do not offer complimentary breakfast like our Express hotels. Our hotel, is a full-service Holiday Inn with a restaurant that offers a full complement of breakfast favorites. Again, thank you for your feedback and your business. We really appreciate you staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Everything about this hotel screams average. They need to include breakfast with your room. Also, the pool is not clean. They have people going from the gym to the pool, it's disgusting. They need a sign saying, "please shower before entering pool". Sweaty people kept going in making us want to leave. Also, the hot tub was dirty. The staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYZworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience during your recent stay. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to gym guests using the pool and the cleanliness of the pool/hot tub. Our pool is on a regular maintenance program and the water is tested daily. Thanks to your feedback, we will evaluate our current standards and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I am happy to hear that you found our staff friendly! They are the heartbeat of our hotel and I applaud their efforts. Once again, thank you for the candid feedback, we welcome any opportunity for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our stop at the Holiday Inn was perfect. The hotel is in very good condition, and our room was excellent. We also thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast. The location was perfect for the main street in Truro. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review our property! I am very happy to hear that you stay was ‘perfect’ and that you enjoyed the location! It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We really appreciate your recommendation. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose our hotel. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
738 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I had a great time-- we were traveling through on a road trip, so Truro was not our destination. The room was clean and spacious, beds were comfortable, the Sunday brunch buffet was world class (and I know buffets!), and the breakfast was free and really quite good. In all, this was a very positive visit. The staff was great and really looked after us, were very interested in making sure we felt welcome. It's not like I'm a pushover-- I just blasted another place that was on this trip-- but I really did enjoy this stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for making our hotel a stop on your road trip! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your guest room and your food experience! I loved that you felt our staff really looked after you...that's what we are here for! I hope you and your wife enjoyed the rest of your road trip and we welcome you back on your next visit to Nova Scotia. Again, thanks so much for your review...we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had a short, one night stay on business and was fortunate to be upgraded to a room with a King Size bed. What a difference from my previous stay at this inn. Room on 3rd floor was much quieter and MUCH nicer equipped. I like having the sink actually in the bathroom and not out in the entry. A vast improvement. The bed was comfortable and the stay was fine. Quick and easy. The cost of $ 9 for a continental breakfast is absurd, however, and I can't understand why anyone would opt for this. This is the only drawback to staying here, I must go elsewhere for my breakfast.

Room Tip: I like the room off the main level much better, and close to the stairs as I dislike elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrownVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your last experience at our hotel. When the hotel was renovated four years ago, we used the existing footprint from the original building. The majority of guestrooms on the Stanfield wing have the split bathrooms. The guestrooms that accommodate our king size beds are located on the Victoria wing and have the more traditional bathrooms. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade to our king room! Sorry to hear you were disappointed in the price of your breakfast. We review all our menus once a year and we consider our customer feedback when designing our menu items and pricing. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will continue to use our property for your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#4 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
0.4 mi away
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#3 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belgravia Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Truro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Truro

Property: Holiday Inn Truro
Address: 437 Prince St, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Truro 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Truro, Nova Scotia Hotel Guests of our Truro, Nova Scotia accommodations will discover the many new amenities as well as our convenient location when they stay at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Truro Hotel and Conference Centre. Corporate guests find our hotel in Truro, NS is very convenient to area corporations such as Crossley Carpet Mills, Kerr Controls, Wilson Fuels and Kohler Windows. Our Truro Conference Centre hotel has been designed with the business person in mind. We offer free high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business centre and more than 11,000 square feet of event space for all your meeting needs in Truro, Nova Scotia. Lodging at our Truro, NS hotel is ideal for the leisure traveler. We are just two km from the Tidal Bore and the Bay of Fundy. Victoria Park with its gorgeous waterfalls and other Truro attractions such as the Truro Farmers Market and the Marigold Cultural Center are nearby. And with easy access to Highways 2, 4 and the 102, the attractions of central Nova Scotia are easy to visit. Our beautiful hotel in Truro, NS is a state-of-the-art oasis for the business and leisure traveler. Among our outstanding amenities are a new indoor, heated saltwater pool and whirlpool, a games room, and a fitness centre. Our welcoming staff will do everything possible to make your Truro, NS hotel experience the best it can be. Reserve your room today for great Truro hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Truro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Truro Hotel Truro
Holiday Inn Truro Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing