We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Holiday Inn Truro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Truro
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Aside from the fact Truro is a dead city. I don't recommend going there. Victoria Park is amazing but that is it. See the park and leave. The hotel isn't good. Rooms were not clean. They first gave my boyfriend and me a room with bunk beds. Why? They switched us when we complained. No breakfast served. Just overall sucked. Wouldn't recommend staying here. Only saving grace was that the superstore is located behind it and I could buy myself cheesecake. Oh and the Views sucked. From all windows.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenkabuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to switching your room and the cleanliness of your room. We have two family rooms that accommodate bunk beds and a queen size bed. I am sorry that you were placed in one of those rooms. I am pleased to hear that we managed to move you to a more suitable room and that you enjoyed Victoria Park. Once again, we appreciate your feedback, your comments are very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    149
    60
    18
    8
See reviews for
84
99
10
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My mom and I stayed here on our recent trip to Nova Scotia. We decided after a day of traveling to eat in the restaurant. The service was incredibly slow. We ended up waiting about 45 minutes for our entrees. After about 20 minutes, I asked our waitress when they were due and she said "they're just being plated." The next time we saw her was about 20 minutes later when she finally apologized and said that was someone else's meal. She further explained that the kitchen "got hit with a lot of orders at the same time." She explained they had a patio and lots of people there. When we left, there were only 2 tables of about 3-4 people each.

Our room was very nice. It was very typical of a Holiday Inn... nice pillows, desk, good TV. The restroom was a bit small, but very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbershopchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear barbershopchick,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our rooms and amenities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the restaurant service which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new brunswick canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed one night at the truro holiday inn. Had an executive 2 queen room booked but was told about a wedding group being there in that section. Was still offered the room but chose to stay in a quieter regular room. I appreciated being giving this choice. The room was basic but very clean. Only disappointment was bathroom was super tiny. Had a great nights sleep in the comfortable bed also. Had breakfast at the restaurant the next morning. Meal was good and priced reasonable. Would probably stay again if in Truro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Richard M,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance
to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was clean but really was not a great experience. This was probably one of the least inviting Holiday Inn Hotels that I have ever booked. The person at the front desk was not at all welcoming. We were not advised of pool times, breakfast times, or anything beyond our room number. There were NO brouchers or travel info available in the hotel, and I asked twice. I asked for info from the same person at reception and got a poorly photocopied map that showed the route to Truro's Victoria park (a great spot for kids to burn off energy)

When we returned from the park, a woman was smoking just outside the front doors. My kids were upset at walking through the smoke and so I mentioned it to the same person at reception. She responded that there was nothing that they could so about it and people could smoke outside. I pointed out that bylaws existed to establish how far a person had to be from the front door. She said that it is 5 feet minimum and the hotel can't enforce it. I pointed out that its actually a minimum of 5 meters and that the hotel is responsible for enforcing it on their property. Furthermore, as a guest who has booked into a smoke-free hotel, I expect it.

The hotel is very dark and walking towards our room was like walking into a dark cavern. The room was comfortable with lots of pillows and comfy beds. The shower was awesome with lots of pressure!

There is only one elevator and it can be quite slow.

We had dinner in the in hotel restaurant. The staff, Cheryl in particular, really made an effort to help us find selections that fit our food allergies ( gluten and dairy). The food unfortunately, was not great. My chicken was very flat and had not been seasoned. The jumbo fries that my kids had were terrible and they would not eat them. However, the gluten free, dairy-free pizza was a hit. Breakfast was ok service wise, but food quality was better.

The hotub was VERY hot, hotter than I have in my baths. The salt water pool was nice but water was cool.

The hotel is very clean but I would not return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gogojanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Gogojanet,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The rooms are basic and the beds were comfortable. The salt water pool is a great spot to cool off after a hot and humid summer day. The only downside was the coffee in the room and in the hotel restaurant. It was very weak and while I love stronger richer coffee this was not even passable as coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear James G,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We welcome feedback especially from valued guests like you.

I am truly sorry to read that you didn't find our coffee to your liking. Please accept our apologies for any dissatisfaction this has caused you.

I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels we stayed in from our 2 weeks roadtrip with the kids. We were able to swim here, had free wifi, kids eat for free at the restaurant for supper. The rooms were very clean, and nicely decorated, we stayed here 2 nights and would come again if we should past by here again. The only thing is that they do not serve a free breakfast.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MichelanneDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

After spending the last two nights on hard, uncomfortable beds (in Atlantic View Cottages, Lunenburg ,and Annapolis Royal Inn, Annapolis Royal), we were relieved to find wide, comfortable beds with nice sheets, a selection of pillows , and air conditioning.we all slept peacefully and restfully without waking. Our only complaint was no free coffee in the lobby in the morning. The Hotel was clean and tastefully decorated .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdinhandtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#4 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
0.4 mi away
Best Western Truro - Glengarry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#3 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belgravia Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Truro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Truro

Property: Holiday Inn Truro
Address: 437 Prince St, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Truro 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Truro, Nova Scotia Hotel Guests of our Truro, Nova Scotia accommodations will discover the many new amenities as well as our convenient location when they stay at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Truro Hotel and Conference Centre. Corporate guests find our hotel in Truro, NS is very convenient to area corporations such as Crossley Carpet Mills, Kerr Controls, Wilson Fuels and Kohler Windows. Our Truro Conference Centre hotel has been designed with the business person in mind. We offer free high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business centre and more than 11,000 square feet of event space for all your meeting needs in Truro, Nova Scotia. Lodging at our Truro, NS hotel is ideal for the leisure traveler. We are just two km from the Tidal Bore and the Bay of Fundy. Victoria Park with its gorgeous waterfalls and other Truro attractions such as the Truro Farmers Market and the Marigold Cultural Center are nearby. And with easy access to Highways 2, 4 and the 102, the attractions of central Nova Scotia are easy to visit. Our beautiful hotel in Truro, NS is a state-of-the-art oasis for the business and leisure traveler. Among our outstanding amenities are a new indoor, heated saltwater pool and whirlpool, a games room, and a fitness centre. Our welcoming staff will do everything possible to make your Truro, NS hotel experience the best it can be. Reserve your room today for great Truro hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Truro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Truro Hotel Truro
Holiday Inn Truro Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing