We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms look clean but are actually dirty” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Truro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Truro
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rooms look clean but are actually dirty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed there the other night and were given a room in the basement. We arrived late in the night and the first thing i did was checked the beds and they looked okay. I put my daughter to bed and then went to put things in the fridge. When I opened the fridge there was what looked to be old spilled milk inside there that had been sitting for quite sometime. I also noticed that on the wall there was a dark substance that was splashed onto the wall and not cleaned off. I called down to the front desk to let them know about this and I was asked if I wanted to move to another room but due to my daughter being asleep after a long day of traveling I said no that the beds were clean and that it was okay. She said she would make a note of it. When we went to check out I also told the lady about it and all said was that she would let housekeeping know. There was nothing said about being sorry or being surprised by the room being found that like or nothing. I will NEVER be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gxmnq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Gxmnq,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you found our location suitable for your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology if your stay was negatively affected by the cleanliness level of the amenities and staff service received. I will address this with the staff to ensure we can improve what we offer to our guests. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    133
    56
    16
    7
See reviews for
76
92
9
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ALLENWOOD
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel was centrally located, clean, had a nice gym. The staff could have been a little more helpful with things to do but in their defense this is not a five star hotel with concierge service. The rooms were clean, comfortable and modern. The free wireless was appreciated, had no problems with it. A good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DTNJLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Clean quiet room farily close to the highway and several store and restaurants.

My only complaint was the poor performance of the hotel's wireless internet in the evening.

Of note, there is no breakfast offered at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaf3rcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hammond, ON
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room size was ok but housekeeping questionnable. We had to ask to change the sheets of one of the bed, full of black hair between sheets when we open the bed. In the bthroom, the smell of old dirty rag and hair behind the door.

Restaurant--the menu were full of stain, tableclothe dull of stains.

Food-- very good

Service--very good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Sylvie C,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are delighted to read you found our food and service very good. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments regarding housekeeping are very troubling. I have taken note of your comments, rest assured these will certainly be looked into.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. We hope that you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is clean and comfortable. They do not offer a complimentary breakfast, but have a hotel restaurant. The hotel is conveniently located near the downtown area with dining options in close proximity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drsyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
218 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Large, clean, well-furnished room. Limited counter space in bathroom. Location seemed "in the middle of things", but for some reason we had problems getting around that part of town. Not sure I'd recommend it for location unless you're going to Victoria Park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mailstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Easily recommend any Holiday Inn, they are my preference because of cleaniness and comfortable beds!! :) We also took our cat with us because we moved across the country and had no problems there! However i will say the restaurant could use faster waiters....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zgmcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Truro hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#3 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel
0.8 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#4 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belgravia Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Truro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Truro

Property: Holiday Inn Truro
Address: 437 Prince Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Truro 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Truro, Nova Scotia Hotel Guests of our Truro, Nova Scotia accommodations will discover the many new amenities as well as our convenient location when they stay at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Truro Hotel and Conference Centre. Corporate guests find our hotel in Truro, NS is very convenient to area corporations such as Crossley Carpet Mills, Kerr Controls, Wilson Fuels and Kohler Windows. Our Truro Conference Centre hotel has been designed with the business person in mind. We offer free high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business centre and more than 11,000 square feet of event space for all your meeting needs in Truro, Nova Scotia. Lodging at our Truro, NS hotel is ideal for the leisure traveler. We are just two km from the Tidal Bore and the Bay of Fundy. Victoria Park with its gorgeous waterfalls and other Truro attractions such as the Truro Farmers Market and the Marigold Cultural Center are nearby. And with easy access to Highways 2, 4 and the 102, the attractions of central Nova Scotia are easy to visit. Our beautiful hotel in Truro, NS is a state-of-the-art oasis for the business and leisure traveler. Among our outstanding amenities are a new indoor, heated saltwater pool and whirlpool, a games room, and a fitness centre. Our welcoming staff will do everything possible to make your Truro, NS hotel experience the best it can be. Reserve your room today for great Truro hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Truro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Truro Hotel Truro
Holiday Inn Truro Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing