We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Inn Truro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Truro
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Okanagan, B.C.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed one night as a stopover. Room was extremely small but well appointed; flat screen, fridge, in-room coffee and the very comfortable beds. No breakfast is included at this property.

Although I did not use the gym, had a peek and it looked fabulous! This is an older property on the edge of the downtown core somewhat in a residential area.

Quite comfortable for our short stay in Truro.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyGryphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    145
    56
    18
    8
See reviews for
82
92
10
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay at this hotel - the rooms are a little small but comfortable and clean . The staff is very accommodating and pleasant !
Had the buffet breakfast which was very good and lots of variety .
Only complaint is it was a little noisy I could hear people in rooms next door and above me but I still was able to get a restful nights sleep .
Wish I would've had enough time to go into the pool !

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristynbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
881 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here on Priority Club points. Glad we did not have to fork out any cash. This is not one of the best Holiday Inns we have stayed at: the decor is gloomy (mostly dark brown). The room with two queen-size beds had hardly enough room to open our two suitcases. The restaurant was also just O.K. No buffet breakfast was available, and service was slow. The front desk seemed to be incredibly busy at all hours of the day and night, with multiple phone calls coming in, which all had to be answered by the single clerk on duty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Professional-Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Professional-Pilgrim,

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay in your clean and comfortable room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the size of the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed in a room with a queen bed, also had a sofa and chair. Very nice room, lots and lots of space although the bathroom was on the small side. Bed was very comfy, and the room was nice and clean. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ohio, NS
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Our room was well above averag and reasonably priced. Receptionist was efficient and helpful. Conveniently located for other contacts in Truro area. We wil return.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed here (2 adults and 2 kids) in April 2012. It was a 1 night stopover.

The welcome was warm and helpful, the room was spotless, the beds very comfortable, and the food at the on-site Bistro was good.

We were given "kids eat free" vouchers by reception for the evening meal and breakfast, and the serving staff made sure we had these before we ordered. It was nice that they seemed to be ensuring we didn't miss out on this saving.

All in all, a place to be recommended. We would certainly book there again.

Many thanks to all the staff there for a great job.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnygib1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed with our hockey team for a weekend. The hotel was not difficult to find but it was poorly located and not very close to the main highway. Our room was quite small and was musty smelling. The Resturant was quite expensive for the breakfast and unlike most holiday inns it was not included! The food was also not hot. The pool was good sized and jacuzzi was great. The drainage around the pool was clogged and you had to walk through sitting water to get to the sitting area. Above all my main concern was with how this hotel dealt with one of our other parents. One of the parents that were traveling with our group found a bug (not sure what it was) in their bed at 11 pm. Went to front and told staff and originally offered 2 free continental breakfast ($20). They moved rooms but then realized that what the hotel offered was ridiculous. After again complaining they were offered only one night at 50% off the other night full price and they also had the breakfasts. As far as I am concerned the whole stay in the new room should have been on the house. Not sure what happened with the room that had the bug. Will not stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samhamscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Truro, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
samhamscooter,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service and accommodations that were less than satisfactory. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#3 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#4 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belgravia Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Truro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Truro

Property: Holiday Inn Truro
Address: 437 Prince Street, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Truro 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Truro, Nova Scotia Hotel Guests of our Truro, Nova Scotia accommodations will discover the many new amenities as well as our convenient location when they stay at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Truro Hotel and Conference Centre. Corporate guests find our hotel in Truro, NS is very convenient to area corporations such as Crossley Carpet Mills, Kerr Controls, Wilson Fuels and Kohler Windows. Our Truro Conference Centre hotel has been designed with the business person in mind. We offer free high-speed Internet access, a 24-hour business centre and more than 11,000 square feet of event space for all your meeting needs in Truro, Nova Scotia. Lodging at our Truro, NS hotel is ideal for the leisure traveler. We are just two km from the Tidal Bore and the Bay of Fundy. Victoria Park with its gorgeous waterfalls and other Truro attractions such as the Truro Farmers Market and the Marigold Cultural Center are nearby. And with easy access to Highways 2, 4 and the 102, the attractions of central Nova Scotia are easy to visit. Our beautiful hotel in Truro, NS is a state-of-the-art oasis for the business and leisure traveler. Among our outstanding amenities are a new indoor, heated saltwater pool and whirlpool, a games room, and a fitness centre. Our welcoming staff will do everything possible to make your Truro, NS hotel experience the best it can be. Reserve your room today for great Truro hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Truro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Truro Hotel Truro
Holiday Inn Truro Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing