We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean and think its a great spot for motorcycle”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Berry's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berry's Motel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean and think its a great spot for motorcycle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I found it easy to find near highway. Grocery store across street, decent breakfast for a quick parting in morning. Drive up room. Nice lady at check in. Was 79$ with all taxes in. This hotel is locally owned. Room was clean and the bed and pillows were wonderful. Even had a fabricville out front too. Was about 40$ then some of the larger chains in the area on this Feb night and breakfast was free and self serve (boiled eggs, waffles, oranges,orange juice, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, bagels and cereal.)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you very much for staying at Berry's Motel! Not only do we have a large Sobeys grocery store across the street, but we're surrounded by restaurants as well (all just footsteps away)! Even though you can save $40 or more by staying with us instead of a larger hotel, we're constantly working to improve our rooms and keep them updated and modern; we strive to keep our prices as competitive and fair as possible. Our free continental breakfast is a recent addition and I'm happy that you were satisfied with it. Since we don't have a commercial kitchen we are unable to offer a cooked breakfast, but we try to provide a satisfying continental style.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
17
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I read several reviews about this place before booking and I was not disappointed! The girl at the reception was very pleasant and helpful. The room is lovely and seems to have been recently renovated. A mini-fridge and a microwave in the room, flat-screen tv, lovely bathroom. What more could you ask for at $79?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We have two types of rooms, Berry Best and Berry Budget, and I'm so happy that you enjoyed the Berry Best! It's great to know that our improvements are meeting your expectations. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed there last Thursday,Was offered ether old room for $69 or renovated nonsmoking room for $79.Was told bathroom was renovated ,new flat screen.new mattresses.I opted for the renovated room,A new vanity and mirror does not constitute renovated!!! paint pealing off the wall, Tub taps dripped so bad we had to put a towel under it so we could sleep!!The flat screen turned into an OLD tv with a red picture.The carpet had more give than the mattress.!!It might be nonsmoking but the room had an old smoke smell. This room was not worth the $10 I paid extra for .My wife DID NOT consider the room "clean" I do NOT recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Oh my gosh, I'm so sorry, but I can tell by your description that you were placed in an older smoking room, not one of our newly renovated units (all of which have flatscreen TVs). Did you contact us at the front desk? I can't remember a recent Thursday which was a full house, so we could have easily switched you over into the new room you were promised. I personally posted a Money-Back Guarantee in each room a few months ago, stating that if you do not find the room to your satisfaction, we'll refund your money within 30 minutes (provided the beds and bathroom have not been used, of course). I'm sorry that the front desk person made such a grave error; I'll certainly bring it up at our next staff meeting! But again, if you're not happy with a room, please let us know; we're happy to either refund your money or switch you to a new room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Truro hotels

Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

A few years back,I came to stay at your Motel because I often have business meetings in the Truro area.I remember walking into the office and was greeted by the most friendly helpful people I have ever met in a Motel setting.I had the pleasure of sitting with them for a bit and just talking about random things.The lady,named Tanya went completely out of her way to make sure the room was perfect for me.She gave me extra towels and a blanket and told me to come up in the morning for a coffee.Which I did and was greatly appreciated.They were both very professional and accommodating to my needs.
I went again last summer to book a room and they were GONE!!..I couldn't believe it but the lady behind the desk didn't hold a candle to them as far as personality.She had nothing good to say about them and said the owners couldn't stand them.I was so turned off by her that I told her I would be back and never returned.What was not to love about them?I was so sad to hear they left.How could you let them get away?On a positive note,I did find another Motel that was equally friendly and professional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We've invested a considerable amount of time and money in renovations these past few years, so our new rooms would be certain to impress had you stayed with us lately. BIG changes from when you last stayed a few years ago! We now have coffee makers in our "Berry's Best" rooms, as some people prefer to lounge in their rooms and sip coffee in the mornings rather than trudging up to the office, especially in winter. The lady you disliked is no longer with us, but we have a great team now whom I'm very happy with and proud of. As for Jeff and Tanya, I have nothing but good memories of them. As your review was not based on a recent stay, that's about all I can say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I needed to make really quick trip plans, and I booked a room at Berry's Motel. I have stayed there before, and had no issues so I decided to go back.

I called the hotel to inform them that I would be arriving late and person working the front desk told me they was opened until 11pm. I arrived at 8:00 pm and after I was checked in I noticed that there was a posted note that if I required anything that I should go to the front desk. I returned and requested a hair dryer. the owner stopped doing what he was doing right there and then to see to my needs.

The room that I had chosen(queen) had been renovated and it was fantastic. the room was clean, bright, and fresh.

Thanks for a great stay, see you again soon.

Room Tip: ask for the renovated room
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank firesummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review; I sincerely appreciate it! All of us at Berry's are proud that the time, money, and effort we're spending to renovate our rooms are resulting in happy stays like yours. About half of our rooms are renovated now; slowly but surely we're getting there!

Actually, our plan is to have two types of rooms: Berry's Basic, which is a no-frills room at a no-frills price; and Berry's Best, which is a premium room with premium amenities. Value or indulgence, the choice will be yours.

(I'll also take this opportunity to reply to other reviewers concerning the previous manager; she's no longer employed at Berry's Motel.)

Thanks, and see you again!

RK Berry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was flooded out of my house and I lost everything Sept.10/12. I had stayed at the Super8 for 3 days and I needed a more affordable option like your pre renovated room as I have a small dog. I was looking to book for about 2 weeks so I could clean up my house, and move home.
Your Manager was not in the office so I drove around the building. I was greeted by an a very unfriendly woman by the name of ? Williams. I was getting out of my car and I told her I would see her in the office. She wouldn't let me go to your office.....She kept saying the dog, the dog, and I tried to reassure her my dog was well behaved and she could call the super8 where I had been staying, for a reference. I asked her if I could talk to the owner and she said, she didn't know where she was. The conversation got to a point where I asked her about having compassion for a neighbour that I would end up sleeping in my car. "She told me she hoped I enjoyed my sleep". I am a senior and my dog is my companion and she is never left alone, for any reason. I left your property very angry and hurt by that woman. I ended up staying at one of your competitors for over a week. That mean-spirited woman didn't represent what you are selling.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Vickie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello Vickie R,

I'm sorry about the damage to your life caused by the recent flood. It affected me personally as well.

However, while small, well-behaved dogs are quite welcome for shorts stays of a few days or so, we have a policy of not permitting pets for longer than that. Many people have allergies to pet scents and we have found that if we allow pets to stay for more than a few days, a "pet smell" settles into the carpet and it can be very difficult and costly to remove. Even after commercial carpet cleaning efforts, some people remain allergic to the scent. Also, there have been people in the past who have left their pets alone in the rooms for hours, and they barked and howled well into the night, and disturbed other guests.

Sandra was not in the office because she also helps out with housekeeping in the mornings, and there is a sign posted on the front door which indicates that. I'll let you in on a little secret too: Sandra has a cute little dog named Abbey, so she understands your attachment to yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a very nice little motel suitable for couples, bikers, businessmen or anyone looking for reasonably priced accomodations that are clean and convienently located. The owner, receptionist, maid, information guide is all rolled into one pleasant lady who doesn't take any gruff
and only asks to be treated with respect. What I found to be most pleasant here, as with many of these roadside motels, is the interaction between the guests. Probably because you park right outside your room and any sitting out puts you in close proximity to your neighbors, you usually get to meet other travelers. This is definately one of these places. So if you are planning a trip to the Truro area you shjould try Berry"s and hey...............look for Roger one of the travelling businessmen who frequent this location. He is not only friendly and quite personable but a wealth of local knowledge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RKBerry, Owner at Berry's Motel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hello Brian!

Thank you for your review; the staff and I appreciate it! You hit the nail on the head with
your description. We're not trying to be a luxury inn; there are enough of those around town, where you might pay $150-$200 per night.

We're very happy in the $69-$99 range; as you said, a basic roadside motel. But don't let the phrase “basic roadside motel” put anybody off. As Brian said, our advantages are price, cleanliness, and convenience, and that's basically our goal in a nutshell.

Thanks for the 5 stars for cleanliness! While some of our rooms are older and the bathrooms tired, we still ensure they are as clean as a whistle. And all the thanks goes to our great housekeeping staff! Yes, a big “thank-you” to them! Day in, day out, rain, shine, or snow, they're always here for you! A big THANK YOU!

I noticed the sleep quality was rated 3/5. Did you find the bed too hard or too soft?

Thanks!

RK Berry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#3 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonehouse Motel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Tidal Bore Inn
Tidal Bore Inn
#6 of 8 in Truro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry's Motel

Property: Berry's Motel
Address: 73 Robie St, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 1K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Berry's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berry's Motel is centrally located in Truro, known as the 'hub' of Nova Scotia. Many of the province's favorite tourist attractions are located within a daytrip of the motel, so you can make us your one stop destination while visiting beautiful Nova Scotia!Berry's Best Features: Friendly staff, spacious grounds, small-dog friendly (sorry, no cats please), drive-up rooms (no stairs to climb), close to many eating establishments, amenities available at the front office, iron & blow dryer available, free WI-FI, picnic area, free ice, cable PLUS, free local calls, air conditioning, large parking lot to accommodate our trucker friends, fridges and microwaves in all rooms, complimentary local paper at front desk, laundromat. Plan to stay a while? Special monthly rates available. We have both regular motel units and mini-apartment suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Berry's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry's Motel Truro, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing