We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated musty room”
Review of Lakelawn B&B Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

There is nothing wrong with this place for a stay in this price range. Sometimes ratings on tripadvisor set expectations higher than they should be. For the price and being a dated Motel everything was fine. The room had no A/C and was *very* dated. Not to confuse with tastefully antique decorated B&B rooms we had before and after on our trip through Nova Scotia. But to be fair: all of our other stays where more expensive than this one. We didn't try the breakfast, so I can't talk about the food. If we would stay there again? Not sure about that.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bolantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakelawnMotel, Manager at Lakelawn B&B Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

We are a budget motel with the best location and grounds in Yarmouth NS. Our motel rooms are cottage style that are clean and comfortable. We provide plenty of services and we offer great value.
By looking at the average temperatures in Yarmouth one will soon see why most hotels and homes in this part of the world almost never need nor use air conditioning .We usually have moderate temperatures. We are on the ocean here and after sunset we get the most wonderful sea breeze that no air conditioner can match. This is what we are selling here.
We are 175 years old. We are in fact historic. We do not ever want to be fully renovated as modern or new. We try hard to replace the old with old when it breaks down, to keep the old charm and feeling of the place. We restored the buildings and kept the old feel.We buy few modern items and try to keep the place looking ageless and functional. Many refer to it as RETRO furniture. Some find it charming.
The rooms in the main house are the B and B rooms. They have the antique furniture and they are also more expensive and include a great breakfast. This offers our guests an option from saying in the motel.
Happy Travels
Mathew and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 458 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived to find a friendly owner, who checked us in without any trouble. He gave us lots of advice about the area, including where to find the lighthouse, when the fog would lift (he was right!) and the shopping malls and restaurants. Lots of room to park, but you may have to walk up a hill and/or negotiate steps to reach your room. We were in room 20 and it had a very awkward dip/slope in the floor where a wall had clearly been removed at one time. We tripped over on it quite a few times before laying down a cushion to step over just to remind us that the trip hazzard was there. Although clean and comfortable it could do with a bit of a revamp.

Room Tip: If in room 20 mind the trip hazzard on the floor where 2 floor levels meet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan1Bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakelawnMotel, Manager at Lakelawn B&B Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Hello
Thank you so much for the nice review and for taking the time to write it.
We have enjoyed having you here too and would love to see you back here soon
Wishing you all the best and great travels
And thank for the memories
Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights, Mathew (owner) was great! The service was exceptional. We will definitely stay here the next time we go to Yarmouth. The breakfasts were a real treat!! We stayed in the "Joseph Kennedy" room, (ask Mathew for the story).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassey111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakelawnMotel, Manager at Lakelawn B&B Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review. We thank you for the kind words and we have also enjoyed your company and we hope to see you again soon.
Thanks for the memories.
Mathew and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent a delightful 4 evenings in the B&B. Matthew, the owner/manager/chef, was warm and genuinely welcoming when he greeted us upon our arrival. Our room and bath, while modest, were very clean and charming. Throughout our stay Matthew was always at the ready to assist us, no matter what the request. The breakfast each morning was hearty and delicious and a great value. The absolute highlight of our stay was the incredible dinner that Matthew prepared for us and our guests. Thank you, Matthew, for making our stay in Yarmouth so special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncm11653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakelawnMotel, Manager at Lakelawn B&B Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

I thank you so so much for taking the time to write this review and for all the kind words that you have used.
We all hope to see you back here soon and we can make you omelets one more time.
I hope you have wonderful travels to come and great places to see.
We thank you for the memories...
We hope to meet again
Mathew and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

When Matthew took my suitcase and brought it upstairs to our delightful room in the B&B, I knew our stay was going to be exceptional! We could tell Matthew loves his work; he's a great host, and wonderful cook. We truly felt like we were staying more in Matthew's home instead of his motel. Took very good care of us! Thanks Matthew !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakelawnMotel, Manager at Lakelawn B&B Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Yes welcome home and thank you so much for the very kind words you used to describe us.
We have enjoyed all our conversations with you and your friends and we do really hope to meet you again soon.
In the meantime we thank you for the memories and we hope you have many wonderful trips to come.
Mathew and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

From the moment I first called the hotel to make reservations I felt these people know how to take care of their business! The rooms were very clean and the courtyards were so lush and filled with flowers and colors. The owners and the employees were always looking for ways to make us feel welcome and comfortable. They helped us with so many things they even pay for long distance calls. The hotel was full for the three nights that we spent with them but they always made time to take special care of the patrons. Everybody was happy and all the other people staying there appeared pampered and well taken care off. They are masters of hospitality and it did not cost them a thing to make us feel good. We always felt safe there.
Although the hotel was old and historic the building was well kept and restored and still had its old charm and majesty. The prices are wonderful and the best location in the quiet end of the down town area.They were always professional and warm and willing to help. They are the greatest ambassadors to Yarmouth. We wish them the best of luck they deserve the success that they are enjoying.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakelawnMotel, Manager at Lakelawn B&B Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

It takes real people to see and to understand what we are trying to be or do. It also is half the fun to have you here to make our lives so rich.
Thank you so much for spending a few nights with us and for the great words you have given us.
We do hope to see you again soon and thank you so much for the great memories.
Mathew and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent two nights at the Lakelawn B & B, the manager, Matthew welcomed us warmly and gave us the keys to a lovely clean room set in beautiful grounds. Matthew was very helpful and profession. He helped us choose an alternative dining location, (their dining room was fully booked) and even got us a phone number for a local taxi, so we could sample the local brews.

Breakfast which was served in a sunny and bright dining room, was more than ample - ham, eggs, toast, potato with fresh fruit, jams and coffee set us up for our sightseeing trips in and around Yarmouth.

Would we stay again, yes. Would we recommend Lakelawn B & B to others - yes.
The personal service, pretty grounds, great value and cheerful staff, says volumes about how valued you are as a guest.

Room Tip: If you want dinner, book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakelawnMotel, Manager at Lakelawn B&B Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Wow thanks for a WONDERFUL review and we really enjoyed having you stay with us at the Lakelawn.
It is always nice to have guests like you to make our life full and fun.
We hope to see you again and thank you for the great memories.
Mathew and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.9 mi away
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#4 of 6 in Yarmouth
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#5 of 6 in Yarmouth
84 reviews
14.1 mi away
Cape View Motel and Cottages
18.7 mi away
Argyle By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakelawn B&B Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakelawn B&B Motel

Address: 641 Main St, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range: $84 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakelawn B&B Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We also offer free wifi and free parking as well as the ability to use the YMCA for 10 dollars per day.we offer free coffee to go in the morning.you can order breakfast when you checkin if you like.we serve it in the cafe at the time desired. Our fine dining cafe is by advanced reservation only and offers a great selection of a set price three course dinners. Enjoy a fine dinner and stay at the B&B for a weekend outing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Lakelawn B&B Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakelawn B&B Motel Yarmouth, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing