We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Definitely Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yarmouth
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at the Rodd Grand Hotel in Yarmouth on Friday past, and were very pleased with the accommodations. The room was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and the hotel staff members were extremely helpful -- especially the evening front desk clerk! We had breakfast in the dining room during our stay and enjoyed it immensely. If we were to visit Yarmouth again, we would definitely stay at the Rodd Grand.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the view of the park from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth Isabe... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hello Elizabeth,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us and that our staff here left such a great impression with you. I am so happy to hear we will have the chance to have you as our guest the next time your in Yarmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 334 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I decided to week-end trip to a part of the province we haven't really explored yet. We ended up by booking into this hotel. It's an older property but is situated right in town for easy walking about excursions. Not a lot of other people staying here at the time. The staff were very friendly and try hard to accommodate you. Rooms are a little dated but comfy and could use a little in the way of refurbishment, but the over-all theme is value and location. The food in the restaurant leans toward home-cooked meals rather than haute cuisine but was excellent and the best Caesar salad (and biggest) I have ever had. Our server was very friendly (Allie) and the cook came out to accept our compliments. This hotel is not on the level of a Fairmont, but if you want a reasonably priced room in town with good food, check it out.

Room Tip: Had a great view of the harbor and park across the street from higher up, on the front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us this summer. We are so glad you had a nice stay. The view is amazing as the sun sets. We hope you can make it down this winter to see the park with all the holiday lights. It's breathtaking.
We look forward to seeing you again soon, we'll have a caesar salad waiting for you.
Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hello
This hotel shows it's age in the room furniture worn out ,old TV's ,carpets in dire need of replacing. The place over all is clean ,that's not an issue . The staff were very good polite and did their jobs excellently . We were there for a hockey tournament place was busy parking was very hard to come by ,but there was also a Christmas craft fair going on in the convention centre not much the hotel could do about that. I understand with the lack of tourism because the government decided they did not need a feary service all but killed this area. So investment money hard to come by .they need to up grade their furniture food was good ,pool clean and well used by the guests. The hotel is close to every thing in Yarmouth down town and a short drive to the malls

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Rodd Grand to stay at during the hockey tournament. We love to see the tournament in town every year, and the fun everyone has. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Regards,
Louise LeBlanc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed with during the low season and found it to be very comfortable and clean.I didn't use the restaurant but colleagues did and said it was pretty good.They had kids hockey teams staying but they were not too noisy and parking was very easy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

We are glad you had a nice stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a great stay for hockey tournament! Rooms are a quite dated and need to be updated but only hotel with swimming pool in yarmouth! Convenient location. Breakfast was great but it is not included.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samhamscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

We are so glad you had a great stay. We really enjoyed having the hockey teams and families, media and spectators here, you were all awesome! We look forward to seeing you again.
Have a great winter.
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

found this hotel to be very good for the price, had a very nice swimming pool, gym , and short walk to yarmouth waterfront, breakfast was great and had a really nice server , room was very nice. we were also a very short walk to downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margowhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant for breakfast. The view of the sunset over the harbor is priceless. Hopefully on your next visit you will have a chance to enjoy the sunset. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Yarmouth.
Louise LeBlanc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is very dated and tired however it was comfortable and adequate for a one night stay.
Can't remember when I last saw such an outdated TV model or bedside clock radio.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Place definitely needs an update and some energy. Given its tiredness, it was over priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eden X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond. We appreciate your comments and would love to see you again soon. We do have lots of rooms with new flat screen TVs, we would be pleased to offer you one of those rooms on your next visit.
Have a great day,
Louise LeBlanc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#4 of 6 in Yarmouth
152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#5 of 6 in Yarmouth
85 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cape View Motel and Cottages
19.2 mi away
Yesteryears  Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel

Address: 417 Main St, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1G3, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range: $92 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel Yarmouth
Rodd Grand Hotel Yarmouth
Yarmouth Rodd Grand Hotel
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing