We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice cozy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yarmouth
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice cozy hotel”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

found this hotel to be very good for the price, had a very nice swimming pool, gym , and short walk to yarmouth waterfront, breakfast was great and had a really nice server , room was very nice. we were also a very short walk to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margowhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant for breakfast. The view of the sunset over the harbor is priceless. Hopefully on your next visit you will have a chance to enjoy the sunset. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Yarmouth.
Louise LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    77
    72
    32
    39
See reviews for
74
97
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is very dated and tired however it was comfortable and adequate for a one night stay.
Can't remember when I last saw such an outdated TV model or bedside clock radio.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Place definitely needs an update and some energy. Given its tiredness, it was over priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eden X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We appreciate your comments and would love to see you again soon. We do have lots of rooms with new flat screen TVs, we would be pleased to offer you one of those rooms on your next visit.
Have a great day,
Louise LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Rodd on a Wednesday night Wallace checked us in efficiently and paid attention to our needs. We overlooked downtown Yarmouth and the harbour. The pool and hot tub were a welcome relief after a lengthy drive. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Loved the pictures off the lobby of the previous Ferries that used to run between here and the States. (So sad the loss). The lounge has character but disappointed they now
have VLT's off in another room. I always choose this Hotel whether travelling on business or as on this occasion, on vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 512.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoy your stays with us. It is very important to us that our guests have a comfortable stay.
Thank you.
Louise LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I am happy you sent us this as I was going to call because I had your room keys in my pocket when I left but I will senf them to you by mail on monday. Sorry for the inconvenience. We had a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are glad you had a nice stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Louise LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is an expensive place, but the whole setting is good, staff not too friendly on our visit, but the room was large, and clean, and a good sleep. Restaurant on the property was clean and service was good, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Louise LeBlanc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stay at the Rodd a number of times a year and have not had a poor stay yet. The hotel is starting to show its age in places but not to the extent that your stay would be negatively affected. Check in is always a breeze. The pool is much larger than most but the jets for the hot tub are a bit lacking. There is also a workout room. Great breakfast and relaxing lounge area. INCREDIBLE staff.

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking Frost Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1976pacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing report . We take pride in making our guests feel at home with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I read some of the really horrible reviews on here and honestly have to say I disagree because we had a wonderful experience here. Yes, this is an older hotel that needs some serious updating and the restaurant could use a bit more atmosphere but we really enjoyed our visit. We had the 'romance package' which included dinner and a bottle of wine in our room and I have to say it was fantastic. We had a beautiful room on the 7th floor with a great view. The room and beds and towels were all clean and I swam in the pool and the hot tub and they were both clean and no issues at all. The stand out experience here is the food in the restaurant - we had some of the best seafood ever. Smoked salmon with capers and Caesar salad for starters were both fresh and crisp and huge portions. My Cajun haddock was perfect and delicious and my husband's full turkey dinner with all the trimmings made him wonder if his grandmother was in the kitchen. (She wasn't - but we were able to meet and thank the cook in person). Our server Ally was perfect: bright, friendly, knowledgeable and available to look after us without hovering. Our only regret was no room for dessert (strawberry crepes).

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have a great view : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, General Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our guests having a great time is our goal.
We look forward to having you back again, and hopefully you will save room for dessert :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#4 of 6 in Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#6 of 6 in Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.8 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#5 of 6 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
17.3 mi away
Cape View Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel

Property: Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
Address: 417 Main St, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1G3, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel Yarmouth
Rodd Grand Hotel Yarmouth
Yarmouth Rodd Grand Hotel
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing