We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so grand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yarmouth
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
“not so grand”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and it is in need of a face lift, it is old and tired, the walls are paper thin, the wall paper is peeling, the carpets are dirty and everything is dated. There was a wedding the night we stayed and they put us on a higher floor to avoid the noise and party from the wedding but you could still hear the beating of the music, the people next door we so loud it felt like they were in the room with us. the staff were friendly and did move the party next door after they received complaints but I would not recommend this hotel and we will not be staying there again. Rodd Inns are normally very nice but this Rodd Grand was not so grand!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17daizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. I am sorry to hear that the guests in the room next to you were so loud, and happy to hear that our staff did what was neccessary to accomodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    78
    79
    35
    41
See reviews for
77
105
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I'm sorry but this hotel is disgusting. Dirty bathroom, musty smells - I actually had them change my room twice, but it's the same everywhere. Needless to say I won't be taking my shoes off or taking a shower here! Do not come to this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fifi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate all feedback from our guests.
Unfortunately I have to disagree with you on your post. Our hotel is not disgusting.
Our bathrooms are very clean as are the tubs. They are not new and therefore show some wear.
I am sorry that you did not feel comfortable during your stay and sorry that you did not address your concerns while in the hotel.
Our goal is to have everyone feel comfortable and have an enjoyable stay.
Thank you again for taking time to rate us on tripadvisor.
Louise LeBlanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yarmouth hotels

Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at the Rodd Grand Yarmouth recently and was less than impressed. Although my hotel room was almost clean, the hotel in general is in SERIOUS need of updating. From the sheets that were so rough with pilling, to the polyester bedspread, old school tv (which never really worked) and peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling - this hotel is not what I would call moderate. Next time I head to Yarmouth - I will stay at one of the lovely B&B's they have.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for responding on tripadvisor. Feedback from our guests is very important to us. It helps us improve to make everyone feel even more comfortable while staying with us.
Louise LeBlanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Staff is extremely friendly and ready to offer excellent service. But generally the hotel as a whole needs a renovation (rugs, walls, etc.). Also the rooms could be cleaner. To bad because the staff is great but the building is terrible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. We all take pride in our roles at The Rodd Grand Yarmouth. Our hotel has been under some upgrades recently. New windows, roof, beds etc. We look forward to seeing you again.
Louise LeBlanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANCROFT, ON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had the choice of booking with Best Western or Rodd Grand Yarmouth.I made the wrong choice. This place is worn out, to say the least. The bed should have been put in the garbage, the bedding was worn out as were the towels etc. The fridge stank big time when you opened it.
The shower was also poor.There was no remote for the TV and when one was finally produced, you had to play with it constantly each time you changed a channel It was relatively clean and the staff were polite. That ws the only redeeming factor. We could not leave there fast enough!!
KBS/DRS, ON

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room before giving your visa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KALA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry that you didn't have a positive experience at our hotel. I would like to note that we have upgraded some things in the hotel to make our guests stay more comfortable, and our new beds are very very comfortable.
Our staff are all outstanding and I appreciate you mentioning them in your response.
Thank you once again.
Louise LeBlanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

this place is not even worthy of a "terrible" review; it is like staying in a bombed-out third world country hotel
THIS PLACE IS UNBELIEVABLY BAD
stains on EVERYTHING, closet door-MISSING, spiders, cobwebs, vacuuming doesnt exist we were told (its done when you check out), faucets drip, tiles missing, toilet w/ permanent stains;
seriously, this place feels like a prison when youre in it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for posting your concerns. As I read them I was quite concerned that those were your feelings after so many denied attempts to make your stay here better. I do recall, that after we spoke during your stay, I reversed the charges on your room.
It is our absolute goal to make everyone feel comfortable in our hotel and unfortunately we were unable to do that for you.
Respectfully,
Louise LeBlanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised because of the reviews I had read here on trip advisor. The room was maybe slightly dated but was in very good condition, with 2 nice and comfortable beds. There was a brand new lcd TV with a reasonable amount of channels, a view of the ocean, the room was kept very clean.and I had no internet connection problems at all. The hotel and restaurant staffs were very friendly and the food was good. Overall I would say that I enjoyed my stay very much and look forward to the next time I am able to visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseYarmouth, Manager at Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments about The Rodd Grand Yarmouth.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The fact that guests take the time to respond is very much appeciated. I am grateful that you gave us a chance dispite the negative comments you had read. Our staff is awesome, and we are proud to be a part of so many people's positive experience. It is our goal to make everyone feel comfortable and I am glad we acheived that for you.
Again, thank you very much.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Louise LeBlanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.5 mi away
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#3 of 6 in Yarmouth
135 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#6 of 6 in Yarmouth
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
401 reviews
2.8 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#5 of 6 in Yarmouth
74 reviews
17.3 mi away
Cape View Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel

Property: Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
Address: 417 Main St, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1G3, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel Yarmouth
Rodd Grand Hotel Yarmouth
Yarmouth Rodd Grand Hotel
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing