We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beat the expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yarmouth
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beat the expectation”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Renovated rooms with nice beds, big tv and nice air conditioning. Rooms are bit small though. Good location and very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is typical for such hotel chain - nothing to complain about. Overall, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMermaid, Manager at Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our Motel. It is always great to hear the good about our guests stay. We are very happy that your stay was satisfactory. We do a bit of upgrading the property each year and love to hear that the effort is appreciated.

We hope that on your stop in Yarmouth that you will choose us again.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    87
    69
    18
    19
See reviews for
85
105
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Was on my way to Southshore n business. Needed a place to stay so why not my BW hotel. Look its a small local motel. Its old but well located. Its service is good but limited. It would nee some investment but i get it...its seaonal...
So service okay, room is ..motel style, bed was awesome and tv was huge. Breakfast was not impressive...
The only little issue i have ( i do understand the need of covering the cost) is the price.. You pay the same at BW downtown Halifax... But look, i am a BW fan so i would reco that you stay there. The staff will do what they can to help ot.
G

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMermaid, Manager at Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi Gerald M, thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We always appreciate the comments our guests make. We have been doing small renovations over the last few years to improve the motel. Our newest addition is the A/C throughout the whole building. We do try to keep pricing competitive with the other hotel locations in town. The rates do fluctuate depending on time of year and how busy we are at the time.
We look forward to any comments or thoughts as to improving our breakfast.

We do hope that you will stay with us on your next visit. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Room in dis-repair: molding missing in bathroom, small holes in the walls, wallpaper ripped and hanging off the wall. And for the kicker - a group of drunk teens nextdoor to make lots of noise( on a Monday night)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMermaid, Manager at Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi Andy H, we apologize for not being up to our regular standards. We have been under construction due to the new installation of A/C units throughout the building. We still have a few cosmetic repairs to undertake and are doing those as quickly as we can. We ask for understanding while we complete the repairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yarmouth hotels

Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Mermaid for a few nights in July, while working in Yarmouth. The location is very central and convenient.

The room had a small kitchenette, ample closet space and lighting. The bed, pillows, bedding and towels were all new and very comfortable. The addition of the air conditioning units was much appreciated as I was in Yarmouth during a rare 'heatwave'. I did not use the pool but it looked clean and well-maintained. The continental breakfast was well-stocked and the coffee was great. The staff were pleasant and professional, especially the excellent housekeeping team of Marie and Sandra. The room was spotless.

I will definitely book this hotel again if I am staying in Yarmouth, especially for work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stout_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMermaid, Manager at Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Stout_10,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our newly Air Conditioned rooms also. We certainly do have great friendly staff!

We appreciate your business and look forward to your return in the future.

Have a great day!

Dawn Robicheau, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel offered very basic accommodations but lots of room and good lighting for reading. The staff was very friendly it was only a short walk to the ocean bay. The room had no A/C on a warm day but they did provide a floor fan.

The continental breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMermaid, Manager at Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoy our spacious guest rooms and that you found our lighting good for reading. It is always great to hear that we have friendly staff.

Our NEW AIR CONDITIONING UNITS were on order at the time of your stay but have since arrived and our entire property is now completely installed with them. We arehoping that on your next visit to our area that you choose to stay with us again so that you may enjoy the comfort our our newly air conditioned rooms.

Thank you, Dawn Robicheau Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I will definitely stay at this hotel the next time I am in Yarmouth, NS. The staff were very welcoming and polite. I was surprised when I entered my room and found hardwood floors instead of carpet and just how spacious it was. I don't believe the room could have been any cleaner. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMermaid, Manager at Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
It is always a wonderful thing to hear that the staff have given you a great experience. We have a super staff at the motel. They go above and beyond the call of duty.

As times change, so do we, and you will see that most of our rooms now have hardwood flooring. It gives a larger feel to the room and is also much cleaner. Many more renovations will be happening in the next couple years and hope you get the chance to see it first hand.

Please DO stop in and see us on your next visit to Yarmouth, you will welcomed with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.5 mi away
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#3 of 6 in Yarmouth
135 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#6 of 6 in Yarmouth
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
401 reviews
2.3 mi away
Voyageur Motel
Voyageur Motel
#5 of 6 in Yarmouth
74 reviews
16.9 mi away
Cape View Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth

Property: Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth
Address: 545 Main St, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia B5A 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth is conveniently located within walking distance to the Ferry Terminal where the Nova Star Cruises will take you to Portland, Maine. Several Museums, and a variety of nearby dining and shopping options are all within 2 kms from the Hotel. We are a proud 2 GREEN KEY holder. Each spacious guest room features all the extras that make a difference while traveling. Our AIR CONDITIONING UNITS will ensure that you have a comfortable and pleasant stay with us. Each guest room includes free wireless high-speed Internet access, 42" Flatscreen HD Plasma TV's, HD Digital Cable, free local calls, and a free Hot breakfast. Other amenities include a heated outdoor swimming pool (seasonal), guest laundry and business center. BEST WESTERN Mermaid Yarmouth is also pet friendly (feels apply). Bus tours and groups are welcome! Whether attending one of the many outdoor festivals, enjoying a game of golf, sight-seeing, or enjoying one of beautiful beaches all within a 15 minute drive. Our friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yarmouth
Yarmouth Best Western
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing