We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
W. Laurence Sweeney Fisheries Museum
Save
Review Highlights
It's like you were there 70 years ago.

Relics from a fisheries, even scaled smaller original buildings! Lots of photos, an actual 1/3... read more

Reviewed October 9, 2018
Chris M
Amazing collection from the past

Best fisheries museum I have seen around the Atlantic. The collection is complete and impecably... read more

Reviewed August 29, 2018
James A
,
Yarmouth
Read all 49 reviews
  
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
40
7
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing community scaled donna freighters replica industry seafaring exhibits boat admission photos visitors
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 49 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Relics from a fisheries, even scaled smaller original buildings! Lots of photos, an actual 1/3 scale ship. Preserved with love for an industry history, not your typical museum at all.

Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Best fisheries museum I have seen around the Atlantic. The collection is complete and impecably displayed. A lot of care and attention to detail has gone into the place. Be warned: No air conditioning. On a hot day I would avoid the place, it is uncomfortably hot. Otherwise amazing place you can get lost and spend hours.

1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

A small, but cute museum with real artifacts from the original building. Someone took a lot of time to create the small rooms and put in the artifacts. My friend's daughter loved the dress up on the life size boat. Well worth the few dollars to get into the place.

Thank bag02341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Well worth the modest admission fee. Original artifacts from the days of fish drying and sailing ships. Pleasant, friendly, and informative staff. Lots to see and think about from the original Sweeney's wharf businesses.

Thank thurston116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

Stop here. It is amazing. So so worth going to see, small but mighty and one of the most fascinating museums I have ever set foot in.

Thank Herbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

The museum for its unique approach to exhibiting the past in realistic format Today is to be applauded for This Excellent result. Coming from a fishing community and large fishing area in Newfoundland I was thrilled to have visited this stunning museum. I have to return for there is just so much to see and oh the memories it evoked of my past. They have Definitely set a Benchmark of standards. The Bar has been raised.

1  Thank Jnanayog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

The kids loved it, we spent a good 2 hours here! The kids loved they were able to touch things unlike most museums. Very family friendly and the staff wonderful and helpful.

Thank HhFleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Adults would appreciate this museum honoring the seafaring past of Mr. Sweeney. Exhibits are hands-on and appear "just like they left them". The craftsmanship in the detail of the 2/3 scale replica of a period Coastal Freighter was incredible and children (and adults) can climb aboard and marvel at the tight quarters. Donna and Larry were excellent docents. Well worth the $3 admission for a one-hour trip back in time.

Thank 50StateVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

Very intresting , allowed to touch somethings the ship built in the building. we were allowed on and keep the kids intrested as they can climb up to the upper deck

Thank mr peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed this museum. Guide was so helpful. We were the only visitors at the time and he was a wealth of information. If you want a true taste of Yarmouth history then this is a must place to visit.

1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews