We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast”
Review of Dave's Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dave's Place
Ranked #14 of 42 Restaurants in Bancroft
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Combermere, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“breakfast”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

after a disappointment at the eagles nest.....we came to dave's and enjoyed a good breakfast. place was clean, the food was good

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah_V2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“cozy and welcoming”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Dave, the owner of this restaurant is more than welcoming. The food is fresh and savory, but I was disappointed with the service. In addition the celing lights fixtures and corner fireplace heater need dusting; yet the washroom was very clean and fresh scented.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
“amazing service”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

the owner of this store is such a nice guy. he makes amazing, delicious, and reasonably priced food. The service is amazing and always so welcoming. the restaurant is always clean and tidy. it is placed on a side road in the town and a little tricky to find, but it is a real gem. I recommend this restaurant if you are in search of a good family meal. I like the burgers as well as they have delicious fish and chips. this is a really good place to go for some good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a local restaurant that gives more than expected. The owner is very proud of his business and works to make sure every diner has a happy experience. The menu is varied. I love the tempura vegetables. Food is prepared with fresh ingredients. Service is friendly. Weekend breakfasts are terrific. A visit to Dave's guarantees a tasty meal in a cozy relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Value (once you wait)”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went there for breakfast. Looks very plain from the outside. I was expecting a greasy spoon type place but it was clean and modern enough. A couple of booths at the front and tables at the back.
They serve all three meals but it seems this is a popular place for breakfast. We got our menus immediately from Dave himself but then waited a bit before we got our order taken. When we finally got our coffee from Dave again, I asked if he was on his own. You could see he was scrambling ( no pun intended) from table to table then back and forth to the kitchen. He admitted that the breakfast business was tough so he tried not to hire and looks like he was doing it all himself. He was friendly and tried his best but really with about 7 or 8 tables to serve he probably should've had help. He was also doing the cooking!! My husband says he sometimes has his wife with him but not today! Anyway, everyone was patient, and seemed to be familiar with this routine and when the hardy portions arrived, all was forgotten. The food was tasty, the coffee was hot. Make sure you try his hash browns-very crispy.
The place looked clean and well kept. Tiffany lamps hung above each table and he even had some local stained glass pieces that were for sale. He also has a big screen TV with CP24 on to catch the morning news.
I'd go again. This guys is working hard to make his business fly. Tough when there is competition like McD's and Dixie Lee just down the street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave's Place also viewed

 
Bancroft, Ontario
 
Bancroft, Ontario
 

Been to Dave's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing