We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD ACCOMMODATION ON LAKE PAUDASH”
Review of Somerset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Somerset Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Bancroft B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in the main lodge in a ground floor room. We had a shared balcony overlooking Lake Paudash. Although you might call this place "rustic", our room was freshly painted, with flat screen TV, and a welcomed, updated bathroom. Pictures have yet to be hung on walls and I thought the bedspreads could match the contemporary theme of the room. There was a musty smell to the Inn but that is to be expected being right on the Lake. There are coffee, teas and a refrigerator with drinks for the guests to enjoy in main part of Inn. We would certainly stay there again. There is an excellent restaurant called "The Mirrors" within minutes of the Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nova45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is my fourth summer spending a week up here and I love it. It has a family feel, and getting away from the city is so relaxing. There are activities for all, and being right on the lake is a huge bonus. It is such a welcoming environment, and the owners' Dave & Laurie will cater to anything one may need. We'll be back. It's our summer family retreat.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorvik79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My Husband & I have spent two wonderful short minni Vacations here. Our first time we happened to stumble across it in September of 2011 . My parents were over Visiting from the UK and we were tripping around the Erea.
June 2012 my baby Sister and her husband were here Visiting from THE UK & We wanted them to experience the Sommerset Inn. This was our second stay, It may not be Grandure but the rooms are all kept very nice and clean. As are towels beds ect ect. All the rooms are very well kept. The grounds are beautifully kept,David and Laurie are the two of the sweetest people you could meet which is one of the main reasons we will keep returning. They have a beautiful floating dock that leads out onto the lake.....They also have a beautiful Fire pit Erea right down next too the lake with wonderful elavated decking if you choose to want too look over top of the lake. Take a beer,coffee,tea what ever tickles ur fancy pull up a chair listen to the sound of the loons...At night with millions of stars gaizing down at you....To me and my Husband this is truly a peice of Heaven.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ski A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Spent 4 nights in the main part of the inn. Location is beautiful, room was clean, nicely decorated. Furnishings were comfortable, and the lake view was marvellous and relaxing. The owners are friendly and helpful. The restaurant down the road is excellent, and gives a discount to Somerset Inn customers with a key. We've stayed at two or three places around Bancroft and liked this most. Will likely return next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psn1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed for five nights in October in a motel-style room with kitchenette. The room was basic but comfortable. The only annoying thing was the noise from the fridge! The setting was idyllic besides Lake Paudash and David and Laurie were helpful in all regards. We will hopefully return for a summer visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at this inn for one night. I rated adequate as it is by no stretch of the imagination a Fairmont or Hilton however it is fine for what it is. A well run inn by a beautiful hardworking couple, Laurie and David. Room was clean. Grounds really nice and well maintained - right on Paudash Lake - chairs set out near the water, bonfire pit near the shoreline that's apparently lit every night during the Summer months. There is a main inn which is where we stayed - our room had a balcony and a view of the lake, however there were several cabins around the property. If you like the outdoors you would love this property - understand they are open year round. If I were ever to return to the area would surely stay here again.

Room Tip: Only saw one room but imagine all the rooms at the Inn are the same - had a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cchancesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I recently had a one night stay at the Somerset Inn during our recent visit to the Kawartha Highlands and Bancroft area of Ontario. We thoroughly enjoyed our short visit ... the owners Laurie & David made us feel very welcome. We stayed at one of the five or six rooms that are situated within the inn itself (there are cottages also available) ... it had a lovely view of the lake from the balcony. The accommodation was simple but very clean. A terrific lakefront restaurant called the Mirrors Cafe was but a short distance away and offered great food at reasonable prices. We would highly recommend a night or two at the Somerset Inn if you are traveling through the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StoneyCreekAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bancroft
11.2 mi away
Bancroft Inn & Suites
Bancroft Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Bancroft
67 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sword Motor Inn
Sword Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Bancroft
190 reviews
16.5 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
No photo provided
11.5 mi away
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 10 in Bancroft
14 reviews
24.1 mi away
Benaaron Guest House
Benaaron Guest House
#1 of 10 in Bancroft
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Inn

Address: 27075 Hwy 28 South | R.r.3, Bancroft, Ontario K0L 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bancroft
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bancroft
Price Range: $124 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beautiful lakeside inn on Paudash lake in Highlands East in Haliburton.9 rooms some overlooking the lake.3 summer housekeeping cabins.Good swinning and fishing, the lake is known for its small and large mouth bass.Enjoy a fire at night down at the waters edge and listen to the loons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Somerset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Inn Bancroft, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing