We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definetly would go back to”
Review of Sword Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sword Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bancroft
Chicago
1 review
“Definetly would go back to”
Reviewed April 8, 2010

First time I came to Bancroft from the US I made the mistake of going to the Bancroft Motor Inn...Didn't make the same mistake 2nd time around. The sword has 24hour checkin which was a life saver since I usually arrive from my 15hour drive at 2-5am(a checkin time not available at the other) Rooms have always been clean and have yet to go there and been given a room in which I wasn't happy about the size. Only had a problem one night and that was loud neighbors who were also tourists. Must admit I hadn't checked out the pool area but I never go to Bancroft for the swimming. Pricing was more reasonable than alot of other hotels I've stayed in across both nations.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    33
    23
    19
See reviews for
53
55
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Hi folks,

I would like to recommend Best Western Sword Motor Inn for their great services. The rooms are large and spacious and the ammenities are a plus! Those of you travelling through Bancroft, or looking for a good place to eat and stay in should definetly check this place out. The hotel staff are professional but still very neighborly. I would be happy to return there because I enjoyed my stay with them!

Cheers,
Dawn

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waffleDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I had a great experience staying at the best-western in Bancroft.
The staff are truly helpful people, despite being in such a remote location with very few things to do my friends and i remained to have a great time enjoying the best that Bancroft has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy032909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Had reservations at the Best Western Sword in Bancroft. When we arrived the front desk service was terrible and our room was TINY for the $189 they were charging. Despite being told that they were the only motel in town, we soon found a much better place on the north end of town, across from Canadian Tire. Rates were much lower and the staff was very friendly. We would highly recommend you at least check out the Bancroft Motor Inn, you have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bancroft hotels

uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This motel is in the middle of nowhere and priced accordingly, expensive for what you get. It has a swimming pool which we did not want, and a restaurant which was not inviting, so as for most travellers to this area it was simply a place to sleep overnight.
Our room was reasonably spacious with everything you would expect from a motel room. The first room we were given had an extremely disgusting smell and it would have been impossible to sleep in. I went immediately to complain and with no sign of surprise the receptionist gave me the keys to another, which was fine. Reading the reviews I now see that We Were Not Alone in detecting THE STINK!!!! A member of staff arrived and commented that he could smell perfume, but nothing else. Maybe he had just got used to it?
The lobby in the wing and the outside area was decorated in a way which suggested that a gift shop had been looted for every single ornament regardless of style. The combination of Statues of Angels, a bust of a greek philosopher, tinsel flimsies, ill-assorted paintings, African carvings and lavish use of strings of light made it extremely garish.
I would not stay here again if I could find somewhere else and could not recommend it as good value. It is nothing like the standard of any Best Western I have stayed in. Very overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mialanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

"Ok" rooms, average meals, clean but nothing special for the price. We stayed 3 nights to visit family and paid the same for this basic accomodation in Bancroft as we did for the presidential luxury room in Niagara falls with great view and all you can eat breakfast . So whilst it may be the best / only hotel in the area we thought it wasn't good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine_Tait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

This place is a joke! The room is TINY, the bathroom has a 2' x 2' sink/counter so you can hardly keep your toothbrush on it, the air conditioners are window units from the 70's, the pool area is aweful, the "games room" has a coin operated pool table and a checker board with no pieces, the restaurant smells damp, everything about the place is OLD!! Seriously, does Best Western know that this place is using their name? But on a positive note, if you want a good laugh, it's worth driving though the parking lot to see all the fake PLASTIC tulips they planted to various areas of the grass!! Also on the good side of our trip we ate at "Dave's Place" (small restaurant across the street from the beer store), had steak, ribs, wings the first night, all amazing, then went back for breakfast and the selection was amazing and quality was perfect!! Dave even walks around and jokes with his patrons, super place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stillinshock12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bancroft
1.6 mi away
Bancroft Inn & Suites
Bancroft Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Bancroft
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
13.9 mi away
Benaaron Guest House
Benaaron Guest House
#1 of 10 in Bancroft
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 10 in Bancroft
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
8.9 mi away
Footprints Resort
Footprints Resort
#1 of 5 in Bancroft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bancroft Bed & Breakfast
Bancroft Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 10 in Bancroft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sword Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sword Motor Inn

Property: Sword Motor Inn
Address: 146 Hastings St, Bancroft, Ontario K0L 1C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bancroft
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bancroft
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sword Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just on the north side of Bancroft near the end of Hasting St. We accommodate Sledders, ATV's, Pets, Rock Hounds and just the passer buyer. We have a heated in door pool, Hot tub and dry sauna along with a games room. All our guest receive a complimentary continental breakfast in our lovely breakfast area with there stay. This includes Hot waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, choice of different breads and pastries, coffee, tea, juice and much more! We are with in walking distance to almost everything in town and have a park right beside us that the York river runs through and right behind our location as well. So if you are a canoeist this is the spot to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sword Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bancroft
Bancroft Best Western
Sword Motor Inn Bancroft, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing