We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best value- for-money choices in the area”

The Griffin Gastropub
Ranked #4 of 70 Restaurants in Bracebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the best value- for-money choices in the area”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

It's probably due to the fact that the Griffin Gastropub serves honest, fresh and well prepared food that it performs so well in the Muskoka area. The salads are not just good , they're great. The pub fare is appropriate - try their bison berger "ritz", steak pie or chicken pot pie. The beer parings and microbrewery choices are delightful . The fresh cut fries with a tasty aioli ( no frozen or packaged potatoes here) are a great accompaniment . Some of the choices like the arancini ( they call them risotto balls) add variety without trying to expand beyond a reasonable scope .The staff have great attitude and the service is always cheerful and efficient. No attempts to provide a menu with a vast array of cuisines . No Toronto prices for lacklustre or pretentious dishes that fail to satisfy ( a common complaint about other restaurants in the area). There is even live music ( jazz, blues , etc.) on Thursday through Saturday evenings. The parking lot view and direct proximity from the outdoor terrace and the somewhat cramped ( but fun) interior detracts from an otherwise top rating . Otherwise it's a great choice when in Bracebridge and the Muskoka area . It's located off the main street up "Chancery Lane" but not really hard to find. Try it. You won't be disappointed

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    47
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Friendly with great selection of beers on tap.”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

In Bracebridge for work, and have been to this pub before. The bar staff were good at recommending local beers, and chatting about the area. One of the worst things that I experience when travelling alone is to be served a pint, then ingnored. Not here. In fact I had a brilliant conversation with the bartender who was a fellow traveller with volunteer experience in third world countries.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Favorite Gastropub!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

One of the best gastropubs I have ever been to! I compare every place I go to, to the Griffin now. I highly recommend the Bison Burger with sweet potato fries, and a nice cold Belgian Wit! Great staff, music, food.. What could be better?

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect pub”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Great atmosphere. Beer selection and knowledge shown by owners is amazing. The food for a small pub like this is rare. Try the pulled pork pizza.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerren7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Being english, we tend to avoid "pubs" in other countries as they seldom seem to live up to our expectations but today we made an exception after a recommendation from our B&B hostess and we were glad we did. Admittedly it was not an outstanding meal, but we thought it was very tasty and good value for some good (and reasonably healthy) food. So often the restaurants charging reasonable prices offer somewhat unhealthy food options but I tried their vegetarian option, a lentil burger (although it was served in a wrap) and it was really very good and full of fresh vegetables. Tasty and satisfying. My husband had the quesadillas and although he thought my choice was better was quite happy with his meal. No greasy food here. We were happy. We're not beer drinkers so cannot comment on that but they seemed to have a good range and there were people in eating meals and some simply there for a beer. We left before the live music began but it looked like it could be a fun place to spend an evening to me. The bar area was fairly small...cosy...and had a nice friendly vibe. I would recommend it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Griffin Gastropub also viewed

Bracebridge, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 

Been to The Griffin Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing