We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate but not great.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bracebridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedarwood on Lake Muskoka
Mount Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Adequate but not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked this place based on Tripadvisor reviews but we were not that impressed with the accomodations. We stayed two nights in one of the double kitchenettes in the Cedars building on the resort and it was clean and comfortable but nothing special. I have stayed in numerous independent motels and hotels across Canada and have found much better value for similar accomodations but I do understand the location in Bracebridge on a small cove of Lake Muskoka creates a premium. Stting that I still feel the prices are too high especially the in season prices. We chose not to rent one of the cabins as the prices were too high for us justify for our trip as the resort was not our destination.

The grounds are quite nice and very well taken care of. To get to the water/dock area from the Cedars is not a case of walking right out your door, you have to walk the length of the building and then about another 50 to 100 feet before going down to the water which requires you walk down a somewhat lengthy set of stairs. Generally not bad to do but maybe not the best for the elderly or anyone carrying small kids as I did.

The kitchenette was a small bar type fridge with a double burner on top of it and sink beside it. I would score the beds and pillows a 4 or 5 out of 10. The rooms were dated but comfortable and felt like a cottage. The screened porch for each unit was nice feature. The muskoka chairs on the dock make it a great place to sit out and the whole water/beach area is pretty good.

All in all I would say it's a nice comfortable enough place but the rates to me are high.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had a fabulous stay at Cedarwood resort. It was short and easy drive upto the Muskokas and its' location is prime and central. The staff are very nice and helpful and do not disturb you at all. You get the true Muskoka cottage escape on the lake. The cottages were well equipped except for coffee filters and towels which I didn't realize did not come with the cottage. But the staff very kindly gave us towels for the duration of our stay. This place has canoes and kayaks all in great condition, and a beautiful big dock for many people to hang out on. Overall a wonderful experience and I will definitely be going back a lot more this summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sangeetha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend at the Cedarwood on Lake Muskoka resort and would highly recommend it to anyone. The grounds are immaculate, cabins are the cleanest I've ever seen and the welcoming service provided from management makes you feel at home. We have traveled and stayed all through Canada and very few places would get a solid 10/10. This place get a definite 10/10. See you again Cedarwood

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We spent a rainy Friday night, Saturday and Sunday at Cedarwood but the weather didn't stop us from having the time of our lives! The majestic beauty of this chunk of land and its breathtaking view won my heart at first glance. Driving up from the city and entering Muskoka and Cedarwood created instant peace! Jade and Mark were terrific hosts and treated us just like family. We even swam in the water and used the paddle boats (wearing wet suits!) This place is perfect for family getaways or for a relaxing couple's vacation. I had fun curling up with my sweetie and having a nap while listening to the rain. We will be back very soon!

Room Tip: Choose the cabin right by the water! It's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were lucky to stop at Cedarwood by chance and to ask for accommodation this Victoria Day weekend on our tour through the eastern part of Canada.
We received a friendly welcome by Jade and enjoyed sitting at the bonfire later in the evening and having a good conversation with Jade and Mark and other members of the owner/management family.
The rooms were clean, well-maintained and comfortable; equipped with all the usual equipment (a missing coffee machine was provided on the spot) as well as set of dishes and silverware.
The bathroom seemed to be renovated recently.
We enjoyed sitting on the lakeside deck in the muskoka chairs, swimming in the lake and using the pedalboats as well as the canoes (provided free of charge).
We had breakfast in the screened-in porch in front of the room and lunch at one of the tables next to the BBQs in the garden. Very handy came the deli store just across the street.
Wireless was available near the office.
Before we left Mark gave us a lot of suggestions for our further trip to Nova Scotia. Thank you very much.
We felt very comfortable and at home. Definitely a place to stay again.

Petra and Klaus from Germany

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PK_Ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We couldn't have found a better spot to play and relax on Lake Muskoka. The grounds, beach and cottages are immaculate and the water toys were plentiful. The sunsets were breathtaking! Relaxing by the bonfire in the evenings and chatting with other guests from all walks of life was such a thrill. The location between Bracebridge and Port Carling allow for easy access
to shopping and an abundance of excellent restaurants, not to mention the fabulous deli right across the street. We will definitely return to this little jewel of a resort!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

A perfect spot! Cozy cabins that were exceptionally well outfitted, dutch clean (even under the sink!) and sporting breathtaking views of Lake Muskoka. There are alot of amenities if you like to keep busy but ample privacy from your neighbour if you choose to enjoy the lovely surroundings and read a good book. The owners were available and very accommodating making sure that we were well taken care of. I really couldn't find fault with Cedarwood and would recommend that you book early to ensure renting one of their lovely cabins in the woods. If you want excellent value for your money you won't be disappointed with Cedarwood. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _scolling50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bracebridge
9.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
17.4 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.9 mi away
Patterson Kaye Resort by Regalton
0.5 mi away
Wellington Inn
Wellington Inn
#3 of 10 in Bracebridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedarwood on Lake Muskoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarwood on Lake Muskoka

Property: Cedarwood on Lake Muskoka
Address: 1515 118 Hwy E, Bracebridge, Ontario P1L 1X1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Bracebridge
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Bracebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for tasteful cottage accommodation, scenic views, and a relaxed informal setting, then come to Cedarwood Resort on Lake Muskoka! We believe you will enjoy our treasure in Muskoka as much as we and our annual repeat guests do. Our waterfront property comes with complimentary canoes, kayaks, and pedal boats next to our spacious waterfront deck! Cedarwood offers excellent access for boating on Lake Muskoka, Lake Joseph and Lake Rosseau. Shopping is close by in the quaint tourist towns of Bracebridge and Port Carling. Activities abound within minutes, golf, artist studios, tourist attractions and Santa's Village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedarwood On Lake Muskoka Bracebridge, Muskoka District, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing