We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Area....but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Bracebridge
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night as a stop over. The beach was nice and the boats that we could use were a nice break from just being on the shore.
We stayed in one of the chalets, It was nice, clean and there were fresh towels. The kitchen was nice too, but noticed that the dishes were not all very clean. The room was a bit on the high side at 254.00 incl taxes for one night. We were dissapointed that there was no coffee in the morning as promised, and as city dewellers we rely on it, we made the the 10 min drive into town for TIM's. I know the area well beacuse my grandparents live in baysville so we did not travel too much.
The resort need a lot of work, there are a few building that need to be taken care of and the area with all the toys could be cleaned up a bit.
We did not use the pool or hot tub, we swam in the lake( and I have a thing about not getting into hot tubs that are not mine or as family members...lol)
The owner was very nice showing us around the place and set us up for a nice stay, when we left he asked us if we had a good ime and hoped that he would see us again, he might,
all in all not bad but expensive! I could have stayed at a 4-5 star hotel for that price a night and had coffee at my door as promised.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was a beautiful area, and I think it does have potential IF lots of work is put into this place. From a nature perspective, we have absolutely no regrets. The falls are absolutely gorgeous, and the hidden falls inside the trails is a nice little gem. The beach, while a little untidy (overflowing garbage bin, cigarette butts on the sand for days, etc) is still enjoyable and the pedal boats, while a little grimy, were fun. The outdoor pool/deck were nice, and the hot tub was ok. The room was the big problem. When we walked in to our Coach room it was a step back into time, and not in a good way. There was old milk in the fridge. Someone else's sock, hat and water bottle was under the bed. The beds and carpet were very old, and the room itself had a musty odor that never went away despite us having windows open. There was a stain on a bedsheet and I truly believe it was not changed from previous guests. On the website it advertises that they are "immaculately kept"... nothing could be further from the truth. We did not get fresh towels/coffee/soap daily. We did not even get housekeeping at all. We returned after a fun-filled day to discover the beds had not been made, garbage bins not emptied, the room was not vacuumed -- it was completely untouched. Another guests said he had asked about housekeeping and the owner told him where he could find the large bins to empty his garbage into!
In short, while I loved the location and the falls, the accommodations are as such that we cannot return. If you truly do not care about where you sleep -- if you are ok with roughing it (similar to sleeping in tents), and enjoying kayaks, pedal boats, hiking etc during the day -- you may love this place. I also will admit I cannot make comments on the luxury chalets as I did not see inside them. I do know that others in the Coach rooms were not pleased. I actually do not care that the interior was dated, but I do care that it was not clean. I wish I could give this a higher review, because the beach is very accessible and the area is truly beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask to see inside the rooms before you make a commitment. There are no refunds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank aabd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We have been coming here for many years and simply love High Falls mostly for the scenery and beautiful view of the waterfall.
It is under new management as of this year and we expect great things from Berry the new owner. He is definitely customer service oriented and most enthusiastic about improving the place.
Even if High Falls was to remain as is, I would still highly recommend it.
You won't find a nicer place so close to the GTA.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PinoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I visited High Falls Cottage and resort this past weekend and I can't say enough great things about the stay. The owner Brian and his wife Merizta were more than happy to make sure that the cottage met my needs. The pool and hot tub were great.I enjoyed full use of the paddle boats, water slides and found the fishing to be great..right off of the shore. The view of High Falls is breathtaking.I have already booked the August long-weekend and would definitely recommend this resort to any family and couples who are looking to enjoy Muskoka this summer.

Karren

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarrenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bracebridge
17.5 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 10 in Bracebridge
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 10 in Bracebridge
115 reviews
18.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
7.5 mi away
Skyways Motel
Skyways Motel
#7 of 8 in Gravenhurst
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark

Address: 50 Brodie Crescent | Rr#2, Bracebridge, Ontario P1L 1W9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Bracebridge
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Bracebridge
Price Range: $142 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Muskoka, High Falls Bay is a place like no other. At 50 feet tall, with crests of up to 100 feet, the iconic High Falls Waterfall is one of the largest and steepest in Ontario. It is known as the "Niagara of the North". Along the perimeter of High Falls Bay, you will find 3 other Waterfalls, smaller in size but equal in beauty, that can be accessed through scenic walking trails on our property. Also encircling the bay is our beach front, 1500 ft of sandy beaches bathed in sun from the sky above High Falls Bay. ​ We offer: Chalet rentals - 1 to 5 bedrooms Camping & RV sites - Beachfront & wilderness Beachfront waterpark - Day Passes Wedding & Event Hosting Rent a chalet or set up camp and relax while listening to the falls, enjoy some privacy in our wilderness campsites along the Muskoka River. Spend the day at our beachfront waterpark, lay on the beach, go for a boat ride on the river or to the falls, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Falls Cottage Hotel Bracebridge
High Falls Chalet Hotel
High Falls Chalet Bracebridge
High Falls Bay Cottages, Camping & Waterpark Bracebridge, Muskoka District, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing