We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bracebridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monastery Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 12 Bracebridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Can't say enough good things about The Monastery B&B in Bracebridge. From Barries amazing breakfasts to the beautiful decor and ambiance that Madeleine created; it is a magical place steeped in history in the heartland of beautiful Muskoka.

The 3 animals, Abbot the labradoodle, Cedar the cat and Squirt; make it a home away from home and we wouldn't ever want to stay anywhere else when in Muskoka.

Both Barrie and Madeleine go out of their way to accommodate guests and are more than happy to offer suggestions where to go for outdoor fun (golf, golf, golf), pleasant walks, swims or dinner in the surrounding area. We even had a few deer grazing in the gardens in the morning. What a delight as we sipped our delicious coffees.

A true delight of a B&B; because of the setting and service! I just hope that we can go back again very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hotwaterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Monastery Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2008

We got there and were very dissapointed with the wear of the carpets and bedding. There was a bad smell too. We drove back to Toronto rather than staying there

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carverfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonasteryBracebridge, Owner at Monastery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2009

We are sorry we did not meet the guest's expectations on this occasion. Our property is regularly inspected as members of The Muskoka Bed & Breakfast Association and the Federation of Ontario B&B Accommodation, and they have found the condition of our furnishings, carpets, bedding, etc to be exemplary.

Any odours the guests reported were due to their arrival at dinner time, when B&B hosts will often be preparing their own meal. The guest room at issue was on a different floor and the opposite end of the house from the kitchen, with several open windows, as temperatures were moderate that date, so any transient cooking smells in common areas would not have affected that bedroom. Other guests headed out for restaurants commented "smells really good - can we stay here instead?".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We stayed at the Monastery for several nights at the beginning of August 06. The building was interesting and the breakfasts generally good. We were probably spoilt having come from the best b and b we've ever encountered (Goderich, Ontario) but the service at the Monastery was mixed, some of the pillow slips and bed coverings were showing signs of wear, tear and staining although these were changed once this was pointed out. Unusually the beds were not made, nor the towels replaced (or straightened) when the rooms were serviced, though fresh water and biscuits were provided daily in the rooms. The Monastery backs on to the river, though this is not visible, or directly accessible from the b and b which was a shame. A trail led from the end of the block to the river, along it and up to Wilson Falls. It was about 20-25 mins outside of town which meant a longish walk to the Inn at the Falls (probably the best mid-range dining option). Barrie, the main host (we rarely saw his partner, Madeleine) was polite but not overly friendly. The dog Abbot, was delightful, though we hadn't been told about the presence of two cats - a bit of a problem for allergy sufferers.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Surreyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2005

We just had a 3-day stay at the Monastery, and it was a wonderful base to tour the Muskoka area & Algonquin Park. The breakfasts were superb with beautiful presentation, and the rooms very comfortable, including the large living room and upstairs sitting room for guests. Barrie & Madeleine (& Abbott, their adorable Labradoodle) were wonderful hosts, and Barrie had great local sightseeing tips as well. If you like B & B's, highly recommend this one!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MtnTulips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2005

We had two wonderful stays at The Monastery this summer. We stayed in a very roomy first floor suite (two bedrooms and a bathroom) which gave us all the privacy we needed. Although The Monastery is just a couple of minutes off highway 11, it's a very quiet property and just a minute's drive from a lovely hiking trail that leads to a waterfall. The highlight of our visits were the breakfasts -- the first morning we were served lemony Eggs Benedict and the second Peach-Almond French Toast. Both meals also came with fresh fruit and warm baking. We were stuffed! The Monastery is a very welcoming B&B, and we look forward to returning next summer.

3  Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bracebridge
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 10 in Bracebridge
131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 10 in Bracebridge
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knights Inn Bracebridge
Knights Inn Bracebridge
#9 of 10 in Bracebridge
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
9.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bracebridge
Travelodge Bracebridge
#5 of 10 in Bracebridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monastery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monastery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15 Sadler Dr, Bracebridge, Ontario P1L 1K5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Bracebridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bracebridge
Price Range: $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1.4 acre riverfront property is in a quiet residential neighbourhood in Bracebridge, and central to all the fabulous attractions that Muskoka offers. The property was an Anglican monastery from 1928-83, and this centre section has been tastefully renovated into a 4,000 square-foot light and airy home.Luxurious suites with central air. Large guest sitting room. Hearty breakfasts are served in either the formal dining room or the kitchen/family room oak table looking out at the river ravine. Daily hot breakfast house specialties are complemented by seasonal fruits, home-baked items and specialty teas and coffees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monastery Bed & Breakfast Bracebridge, Muskoka District, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing