We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wrong salad, wrong place”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Marty's World Famous Cafe - CLOSED

Marty's World Famous Cafe
Cuisines: Canadian, American
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Wrong salad, wrong place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

It was a mistake to have lunch at Marty's but someone had recommended it. We were in the area and the food in this tiny shop with one wall a blackboard covered in visitor-chalked messages looked ok at a distance. We sat inside because the small eating area at the back held both tables and waste bins.

Service was friendly but inefficient. It was hard to believe that they could take so long to produce salad, a reheated quiche and a reheated "special pizza". They initially brought the wrong salad. The "pizza" was small, its thin dough toasted crisp, with greasy content. It was in contention to be the worst pizza I have ever eaten.

My wife said the quiche was not too bad. Her blueberry yoghurt was too sweet for her taste. The toilets were clean.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    11
    21
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Butter tarts a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I hardly know what else they have , but Marty's butter tarts are amazing!!!!
They're bean salad is great too

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“expensive but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Yes the tarts are $4 but they are the best ones I can find in Bracebridge and at least twice the size of the grocery store ones. It is expensive for Bracebridge, but being from San Francisco, it's about what you would expect to pay there or even a little cheaper. The staff were very friendly and gave my son an extra size ice cream because he hadn't been there since last summer. We were there when it wasn't very crowded so everyone was pretty relaxed. I also had a quiche and greek & a bean salad that were all very good. Everyone at our house was anxiously awaiting our delivery of the tarts, their favorites.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The worst butter tarts EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I went to buy one of theses famous 4.00 butter tarts yeaterday. Firstly the what appeared to have only I1inch of filling, but me having faith still bought one. We cut into it and found that there in fact was only a half and inch in filling the bottom had at least an inch of uncooked dough....yes gross. How the hell can the charge $4.00 for a lover size butter tart that was all dough and a watering of filling. I do not recomend there pastry to antone.


Marty come on thes tarts are three inches high and the same diameter you should be in the kitchen when training new staff otherwise they will ruin your business

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosie6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Expensive,Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I don,t think you would find better food anywhere.
But, the food here is perhaps as much as twice what you would expect to pay

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 487traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marty's World Famous Cafe also viewed

Bracebridge, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing