We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the cook book”
Review of Marty's World Famous Cafe - CLOSED

Marty's World Famous Cafe
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
northern Ontario
1 review
“Love the cook book”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Cute little place, i bought the cook book and look forward in making my own baked goods for our Guests here at Days at the Lake B & B in Gravenhurst

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ionicwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    11
    21
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rip-off”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

If it weren't for the fact we were looking to shelter from the rain we wouldn't have entered this cafe. It was grossly, really grossly, expensive with coffees mediochre and double that of far better experienced in the adjacent Huntsville, the seating was inadequate and communal, and the server unbothered by flies on the food. A total rip-off.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank tankernav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Insane.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent a weekend in Muskoka with my girlfriend. We had never been there and we went to the downtown area for a street festival and we ended up at Marty's because it looked like a good place to grab a snack.
I got a ham sandwich and a side salad, she got a salad. I found it weird that there aren't any prices anywhere on the menu. Then I found out why. I got hosed for $30. For a ham sandwich. Which of course tasted the same as a $5 ham sandwich.
As a courtesy they should at the very least post prices to avoid the "WHAT!?!" that comes at the register.
If people want to pay $30 for a simple and bland sandwich thats their perogative but to fleece first timers is just bad hospitality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Adistef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I visited the Famous Cafe and was literally kicked out because I arrived 30 minutes from the closing time and was told that I can not have my cappuccino in a mug or pastry on the plate because the server does not have time to do the dishes. She told me that after I had already paid. So I was stuck with a very expensive treat in a paper bag and a coffee in a styrofoam cup. I was "allowed" to sit down though. Cappuccino was very good and a date square tasty but I felt rushed and did not enjoy this overpriced experience at all. It all cost me $14!!!! Lady who served me should not work in service industry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Tiiu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ask the price first.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

A sandwich with side salad, two salads, a coke, and a latte cost $48. Yiiiiiiikes.
The food was good, the music was nice; seems like a cute place. Shame it felt like we were getting fleeced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marty's World Famous Cafe also viewed

Bracebridge, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing