We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bracebridge
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is the first bad review I have ever written for Tripadvisor. I made reservations weeks ago for the Sleep Inn in Bracebridge, Ontario, and called the day of arrival to tell them we would be arriving after dinner. Our reservation clearly showed that we had children with us. It also clearly stated that I had booked a Non Smoking room. The hallway and the room reeked of stale smoke - not just from one person smoking perhaps - lots and lots of smoke. It was the only room left we were told. We were told it was a Non Smoking room, but there are NO signs to that effect. The only reason this hotel was fully booked is because there is very little competition and it is on a busy road. My children were very upset about the smell but we were stuck. We tried to open a window but there was no screen. Thankfully the cleaning staff had done a decent job on the room which helped. The towel I used after a shower was falling apart - long threads hanging off of it. We left immediately in the morning skipping the breakfast. The man at the front was pleasant and after our complaints he reduced our bill to the amount I thought was fair. I would have preferred to pay the full amount and stayed in a decent room.

Room Tip: Arrive early so that if they put you in a "Non Smoking" room that reeks of smoke, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sleep Inn on a May weekend, not really the prime time for cottage country touristy visitors...but we still paid through the teeth for which I thought was an average room.
We have stayed in 4 star hotels and paid much less in other cities.
However we did find this hotel very clean and the staff was amazing, I loved the layout of our room in fact I love having the sink and mirror out of the bathroom as it is much more convenient.
Address of the hotel was an issue, we use OnStar and they were even confused by the address as we kept ending up at the Legion…OnStar ended up having to call the hotel and ask for directions.
Rooms were nicely decorated, but had a weird lay out that made the room smaller. Loved the large shower, however more water pressure would have been appreciated. The beds were comfortable and we did have a fridge in the room. Nice roomy closet to keep things organized.
They do offer a complimentary breakfast, same as other hotels nothing really different.
All in all a very nice clean and inviting hotel, they just need to look at offering the rooms at a lower more reasonable price (especially in the off tourist times) If you do stay here take in the Muskoka Brewery Tour it is a short drive from the hotel and very fun and interesting.

Room Tip: No elevator so take a ground room floor if you have lots of luggage to bring in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The room was more expensive than expected but that's probably just because its cottage country in the summer an there's a lack of accommodations. The hotel was really only accessible through the plaza when you're coming from a certain direction so be aware you may pass right by it. The room was super clean. The water pressure in the shower was fine, it wasn't low pressure at all. Having the sink outside the room was a little weird but not that big of a deal. The air conditioning was old school but it did its job. Would totally recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickyandhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. The staff were great and the place looks like it was recently rennovated. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean, they have a fitness room on site and even have guest laundry, they had a breakfast in the morning but I left too early and therefore cant comment. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Try and get a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great place, upgraded rooms and the included continental breakfast is nice. The only complaint I have are the showers.
I've stayed in the Sleep Inn for years and I always remember the powerful shower that was really enjoyable and the liquid soap dispensers in the shower too.

Well the rooms have been upgraded - nice ,the soap dispensers were removed from the showers -fine, but they put in water saving shower heads. If you have long hair and put in conditioner, take the morning off to rinse it out..
This hotel already has water saving features installed on the water tanks, why this punishment then?

The staff acknowledge they hear about the shower head all the time.

Enough about the shower, I like the place overall the staff are nice too....

Room Tip: Bring a pipe wrench to remove the shower head so you can get a good shower!! Canadian Tire is next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just stayed overnight to visit family. Our stay was very satisfactory. The room was clean and quiet. There is only a shower in the room but it was large and worked well. We did not have breakfast here so I cannot comment on the food. The check in & out was efficient.We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muddled36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Checked in for one night Feb 9. Pleasant front desk clerk(s), fast check in and suggestion for dinner with directions.
Rooms look like they have been renovated recently. Clean and comfortable. Only complaint I have is the shower head which was very weak.
Continental breakfast was included and was adequate.
Overall a nice stay. I would return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lannoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bracebridge
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 10 in Bracebridge
118 reviews
9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
17.5 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knights Inn Bracebridge
Knights Inn Bracebridge
#9 of 10 in Bracebridge
96 reviews
19.8 mi away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
4.5 mi away
Skyways Motel
Skyways Motel
#7 of 8 in Gravenhurst
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 510 Muskoka Rd 118 W, Bracebridge, Ontario P1L 1W8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Bracebridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bracebridge
Price Range: $69 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Bracebridge
Sleep Inn Bracebridge, Muskoka District, Ontario
Bracebridge Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing