We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, great location, great hospitality!”
Review of The Calico Cat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Calico Cat
Ranked #3 of 6 Brockville B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Calico Cat, conveniently en route from Toronto to Montreal. Dixie and John were very welcoming and keen to make our stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible. We enjoyed the uninterrupted view over the river from the spacious Queen room, sitting in the sun on the terrace outside our room and relaxing on the private dock watching the ships go by and the birds (especially osprey and loons).
We were served delicious breakfasts complemented by good conversation with our hosts.
Brockville, a ten minute drive away, is a small town with character and history. It offered excellent restaurants (as advised by our hosts), a pleasant waterfront walk and the mansion Fulford Place - an interesting example of Edwardian affluence in Canada.
The Calico Cat is highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Queen room and its en-suite are capacious, comfortable in all weathers and have great views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milton047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixie L, Owner at The Calico Cat, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. Sharing our wonderful space with our guests is always enjoyable for us.
We definitely agree that our town is an amazing and interesting place to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for The Calico Cat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a great time at the Calico Cat. The hosts, John and Dixie, were very friendly and we had some great discussions. The B&B itself sits on the edge of a cliff. It provides a beautiful view of the St. Lawrence River. Had it been warmer, we could have swum off their dock; instead we sat on the stone patio and watched the river go by in the evening and then again with the sun coming up the next morning.

There are plenty of outdoor activities in the area. We hiked the Jones Creek Trail, about 7 minutes drive from the Calico Cat. See: http://www.pc.gc.ca/pn-np/on/lawren/activ/randon-hike.aspx

For cyclists (and hikers), the St. Lawrence Recreational Trail (SLRT) runs 37km along the 1000 Islands Parkway to Ganonoque. It starts less than 1 km from the Calico Cat. See: http://www.bikemap.net/route/889951#lat=44.474720304851&lng=-75.82926925293&zoom=12&maptype=ts_terrain

Brockville (about 15 minutes by car) has restaurants, and places to rent equipment.

Have fun!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this B & B and recommend it highly. The large double bedroom had a huge ensuite bathroom, a working fireplace and an incredible view of the St. Lawrence river, right from the bed! We are scuba divers and the owners were very accommodating about our hanging our gear out to dry. We didn't get to try the breakfasts this trip as the owner who cooks was away, but were able to use the kitchen to make our own. The only thing the room was missing was a closet for hanging clothes!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kit Canoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our trip started out as just looking for a place to sleep while attending a Horse Clinic. After talking to friends who have stayed at the Calico Cat, we decided to give it a try. Well !!! I cant say enough about the beautiful view, awesome breakfasts, and of course the genuine hospitality received from Dixie and John. Once again Thank -you for everything ! We will be back :) Brian, Wendy and Sydney.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnIceHorseFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixie L, Owner at The Calico Cat, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Our thanks to all of you for your kind remarks.
It is a joy having guests such as you!
Dixie and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I've stayed at this B&B several times over the past 8 years or so, sometimes with friends, other times on my own. I make a point of going back each year. John and Dixie are super friendly hosts that know the area well. Amazing gardens! Great spot to swim off the dock, launch a canoe or kayak, or watch the shipping traffic while reading a book. Beautiful drive along Highway No. 2 but also close to HWYs 401 / 416 if you'd rather get in and out quickly to maximize your time by the water.

Breakfast is always a yummy!

Room Tip: The Queen room has a beautiful ensuite bathroom and private patio overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: La chambre Queen a une porte patio avec balcon et vue sur le fleuve.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capucine_Rocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockville
6.1 mi away
The Noble Suites Experiences
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Brockville
266 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
15.0 mi away
Quality Inn Gran-View
Quality Inn Gran-View
#1 of 5 in Ogdensburg
132 reviews
23.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Calico Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Calico Cat

Address: Rr3 193 Brockmere Cliff Rd RR 3, Brockville, Ontario K6V 5T3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Brockville
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brockville
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a cup of tea as you watch the ships go by on the mighty St. Lawrence River that runs from the great lakes to the Atlantic ocean. We are located on the water and have a dock that is available to our guests. We live 'on the edge' -i.E. The shoreline in Canada overlooking the shoreline of the U.S. We are 1km from the Waterfront trail and we welcome walkers cyclists. Live summer theatre is available in Brockville, Gananogue and Morrisbury - all nearby. Boat tours of the 1000 Islands available with various boatlines. Restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Calico Cat Brockville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing