We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Cycling and Hiking”
Review of The Calico Cat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Calico Cat
Ranked #3 of 6 Brockville B&B and Inns
Lodi, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to Cycling and Hiking”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a great time at the Calico Cat. The hosts, John and Dixie, were very friendly and we had some great discussions. The B&B itself sits on the edge of a cliff. It provides a beautiful view of the St. Lawrence River. Had it been warmer, we could have swum off their dock; instead we sat on the stone patio and watched the river go by in the evening and then again with the sun coming up the next morning.

There are plenty of outdoor activities in the area. We hiked the Jones Creek Trail, about 7 minutes drive from the Calico Cat. See: http://www.pc.gc.ca/pn-np/on/lawren/activ/randon-hike.aspx

For cyclists (and hikers), the St. Lawrence Recreational Trail (SLRT) runs 37km along the 1000 Islands Parkway to Ganonoque. It starts less than 1 km from the Calico Cat. See: http://www.bikemap.net/route/889951#lat=44.474720304851&lng=-75.82926925293&zoom=12&maptype=ts_terrain

Brockville (about 15 minutes by car) has restaurants, and places to rent equipment.

Have fun!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this B & B and recommend it highly. The large double bedroom had a huge ensuite bathroom, a working fireplace and an incredible view of the St. Lawrence river, right from the bed! We are scuba divers and the owners were very accommodating about our hanging our gear out to dry. We didn't get to try the breakfasts this trip as the owner who cooks was away, but were able to use the kitchen to make our own. The only thing the room was missing was a closet for hanging clothes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit Canoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our trip started out as just looking for a place to sleep while attending a Horse Clinic. After talking to friends who have stayed at the Calico Cat, we decided to give it a try. Well !!! I cant say enough about the beautiful view, awesome breakfasts, and of course the genuine hospitality received from Dixie and John. Once again Thank -you for everything ! We will be back :) Brian, Wendy and Sydney.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnIceHorseFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixie L, Owner at The Calico Cat, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Our thanks to all of you for your kind remarks.
It is a joy having guests such as you!
Dixie and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I've stayed at this B&B several times over the past 8 years or so, sometimes with friends, other times on my own. I make a point of going back each year. John and Dixie are super friendly hosts that know the area well. Amazing gardens! Great spot to swim off the dock, launch a canoe or kayak, or watch the shipping traffic while reading a book. Beautiful drive along Highway No. 2 but also close to HWYs 401 / 416 if you'd rather get in and out quickly to maximize your time by the water.

Breakfast is always a yummy!

Room Tip: The Queen room has a beautiful ensuite bathroom and private patio overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockville
6.1 mi away
The Noble Suites Experiences
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brockville
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Brockville
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
6.3 mi away
1000 Islands B and B
1000 Islands B and B
#1 of 4 in Brockville
11 reviews
7.7 mi away
Super 8 Brockville
Super 8 Brockville
#4 of 6 in Brockville
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Calico Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Calico Cat

Property: The Calico Cat
Address: Rr3 193 Brockmere Cliff Rd RR 3, Brockville, Ontario K6V 5T3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Brockville
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brockville
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a cup of tea as you watch the ships go by on the mighty St. Lawrence River that runs from the great lakes to the Atlantic ocean. We are located on the water and have a dock that is available to our guests. We live 'on the edge' -i.E. The shoreline in Canada overlooking the shoreline of the U.S. We are 1km from the Waterfront trail and we welcome walkers cyclists. Live summer theatre is available in Brockville, Gananogue and Morrisbury - all nearby. Boat tours of the 1000 Islands available with various boatlines. Restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Calico Cat Brockville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing