We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean-refreshing and quiet! A Real GEM!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Door Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Brockville B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Peter and Lynn, I am so envious of what you have accomplished in this lovely B&B. The location, cleaniless, size of room and bathroom is just wonderful. I miss having ironned sheets, like I use to have at home...here you have them so you are GTD a great night sleep. Had a wonderful Petit-Dejeuner with fruits, eggs, spinach, jus and yes THE BEST coffee in a long time.

Merci and we will be back in August or September!

Lise and Carole
Montreal, Quebec

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lise_Messier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 145 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2010

My partner and I visited Brockville for a family birthday. Brockville itself is an interesting town to visit but this B&B was a trip in itself. The generous spaces created from the old church were designed to create comfortable rooms with good privacy and open, light-filled common areas. The decor and furnishings invite relaxing and conversation - visitors are at ease in the well-furnished but informal and cosy lounge. We were happy to spend some weekend morning time reading the paper, and talking to the other guests with our coffee and scones. The large breakfast was delicious and varies each morning. I was very happy not to see any lace - the style is retro and eclectic and features souvenirs of the old church, the owners' hobby of old sports cars and Brockville's past. Our room was very comfortable. The bed was a standard double, which was short for my 6'4" frame, however, I had a good sleep. Great bathroom!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeloguyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We found David and Lynne to be most helpful, ambiable and amazing hosts - this lovely B&B is second to none! We loved the attention to details with the cosy, clean, quiet themed rooms, the kitchen area, the sitting area and fireplace. The bed we had was very comfortable and the location was perfect. We would very highly recommend this B&B to anyone coming to Brockville. It's a wonderful and very unique B&B and we were made to feel so welcome! We hope to return again this spring! Wayne Thomas & Eileen Harrison

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElenaWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

David and Lynne are excellent hosts and the atmosphere of this lovely B&B is superb. We enjoyed the sitting area and fireplace. The bed was so comfortable and the amenities were many. We would recommend this B&B to anyone passing through Brockville. It's a great place and we felt very much at home there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flloyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

The Green Door B&B is simply put the best place to stay in Brockville. The converted Tabernacle Church has been lovingly converted into a bed and breakfast that is traditional, yet modern at the same time. The creature comforts are above average, a full bathroom in each room with their own theme and luxurious linens, huge open kitchen, and a warm and inviting living and dining area. The common area is especially warm and cosy with an inviting fireplace/stove.
Peter and Lynne are more than gracious hosts. They gave us full use of the facilities when we brought in take out food from a local eatery. The breakfast was exceptional and the menu changes daily but you would never be disappointed. Fresh ingredients prepared in house make for a perfect start to the day.
The Green Door is situated in a great location to explore the downtown area of Brockville by foot including all of the waterfront area.
To stay at a hotel in the area will cost you the same, or much more than staying at the Green Door and there are no hotels that can compete with the location. To compare the Green Door to a hotel is not fair, the Green Door wins hand down on all levels. We have been to most local hotels and speak from experience.
We would return in a heartbeat, whether the Green Door was located in Brockville or anywhere else in the world that we have travelled to.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goalie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

My friend/colleague and I came to Brockville for a job interview and stayed at the Green Door for one night. I had never been to a B&B before, and I was thoroughly impressed! Lynne and Peter were extremely kind, friendly, and accomodating. They picked us up from our train station because it arrived late at night.and we immediately felt very welcome at the Green Door. When we arrived at the B&B, we were impressed with the eclectic, charming, tasteful decor and our room, the Boathouse, was full of character. The B&B was very clean, our beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was gorgeous and modern. We were able to choose a time when we wanted to have breaksfast the next morning, which was delicious (tea and orange juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade lemon pancakes with a blueberry compote, real maple syrup, and bacon). Our room was booked by someone else the next day, but Lynne was nice enough to let us store our bags and change/use the bathroom in another room after our interviews. The only downside was that the B&B was on the edge of downtown (rather than in the middle of downtown), but everything else about the place more than makes up for this minor issue. It was located only a 5-10 minutes walk from the train station, which was convenient.

Overall, I had a wonderful experience at the Green Door and I would highly recommend this B&B to anybody staying in the Brockville area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vstchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Travelling from Quebec to Toronto, we (European family with a young child) decided to make a break half way and stopped by in Brockville, a small and pretty town just by the 1000 Islands. We spent the day taking a breathtaking boat tour past some of the islands, past "Millionairs' Row" and the St. Lawrence banks. When we arrived at the Green Door we were amazed at what we encounered: a beautiful brick building, superbly renovated by the owners, the public space is a roomy lounge with 4 meter high ceilings (the building used to be a church) hung with 7 fancy chrome ventilators, a modern kitchen, comfortable couches and lounge chairs... everything was spotless and clean. The charming owners were extremely helpful (their recommendations - for a light lunch: Boboli on King St East, for a familiy freindly dinner: the 1000 Island Restaurant on King St West). At the Green Door we stayed at the cozy appartment in the annex which was fantastic as it had lots of space, an immaculate bath and kitchen, private porch with BBQ facilities and beech chairs, bright, airconditioned and quiet rooms - and, did I mention this already: everything was spotless. Peter, the owner of the Green Door, is of English origin, so linguisticly you even encounter some Britishness at the Green Door (even Wallace and Gromit are present in the lounge in plush and photography). Overall, we were extremely pleased and would come back any time. Downsides: nothing; well, breakfast was served at 8 a.m. only (of which weren't aware), but this posed no problem as we were served a private breakfast anyway and had the large breakfast table to ourselves and Peter.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sternbild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brockville hotels
0.2 mi away
Sir Isaac Brock B&B Luxury Suites
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Brockville
Super 8 Brockville
#4 of 6 in Brockville
377 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brockville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Brockville
Days Inn Brockville
#6 of 6 in Brockville
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Noble Suites Experiences
1 mi away
Travelodge Brockville
Travelodge Brockville
#5 of 6 in Brockville
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Door Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Door Bed and Breakfast

Address: 61 Buell St, Brockville, Ontario K6V 4Y4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Brockville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brockville
Price Range: $95 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Door B&B is a stunning church conversion in downtown Brockville. The B&B offers three themed bedrooms, with en-suite bathrooms, a delicious homemade breakfast, complimentary parking and wi-fi. There's plenty of parking for everyone and we are walking distance to all amenities -restaurants, arts centre, shopping and waterfront. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Door Hotel Brockville
Green Door b&b
Green Door Bed And Breakfast Brockville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing