We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts in an unusual bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Door Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Brockville B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hosts in an unusual bed and breakfast”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This B&B is located in the historic area of Brockville is just a short walk to King Street. The hosts’ Peter and Lynne where great and share stories of transforming this Pentecostal church into a stunning bed and breakfast. We were directed to a nearby restaurant for dinner (Buell Street Bistro) which was literally just down the street. After a brilliant dinner the hosts were kind enough to share stories about life in Brockville.

We stayed in Mrs Browns suite which was tastefully decorated and not only spotlessly clean but also the brass bed was extremely comfortable. The large en-suite bathroom had a period feel with all modern conveniences and plenty of fluffy towels.

Breakfast was delicious, cooked to order and accompanied by Lynne’s freshly baked raisin scones – a real treat.

No question that we would unreservedly recommend The Green door for anyone visiting Brockville

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrenRem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLawrenceChick, Owner at Green Door Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you very much for giving us this wonderful review. We thoroughly enjoyed spending time with you and enjoying a glass of wine together. Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
70
17
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

What’s behind the Green Door?
Happy guests.
Before we opened the Green Door, we weren’t sure what secret it was keeping … but. although there is an old piano behind the Green Door as the song lyrics say (as well as an old organ), there’s a lot more.
From the moment we entered the great room, we were impressed with what Lynne and Peter Meleg have done to transform a Pentecostal tabernacle into a warm and welcoming bed and breakfast. There is “eye candy” at every turn! Our hosts gave us a tour of the rooms in the former tabernacle – each of them entirely different and unique - and a rundown on how the B & B evolved that was fascinating. They also provided information on local restaurants and activities, which was very helpful.
We stayed in “The Boathouse”, a room with a nautical theme and creative use of unusual space. The beds were comfy and the bed linens crisp and clean. There were thirsty towels in the washroom.
The breakfasts were incredible. We especially enjoyed the ricotta pancakes, clafoutis and scones – all freshly prepared.
After a busy day out and about, we enjoyed relaxing in comfortable chairs in the great room beside the fire – popping up every now and then to look at yet another interesting item in the room, such as the “collage” floor of the stage.
If you’re heading to Brockville and enjoy the B & B experience, this is definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: "The Boathouse" offers twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLawrenceChick, Owner at Green Door Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Olivia G, Thank you for this wonderfully descriptive review of the Green Door B&B. We think we'd like to stay there too!! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Lynne and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This B&B is in a building originally a church and it is very quaint and very comfortable. The room we had, Mrs. Brown's Chamber had beautiful period detail but modern comforts.
The proprietors are friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay there again; as a matter of fact I'm sure we will since my parents just moved to Brockville.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Peter & Lynne have created an amazing enclave in this small town. The conversion of the chapel into the excellent B&B is a fascinating story and well worth taking time to hear.
The B&B has a wonderful look and feel, you can feel the care and attention that has been taken with every aspect of its transformation, this passion translates through into the warmth and friendliness of the hosts.
Peter provided us with the low down on the highlights of Brockville which is all within walking distance and also some great tips for our onward travels. The breakfast that Lynne served was superb and we felt really spoilt, particularly as we were able to spend some quality time with our hosts.
We really struggled to leave the Green Door and I'm certain that we will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Majestic Room which was spacous, superbly decorated and had a fantastic en-suite ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwyndafini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great place: clean, comfortable, beautiful. The room was large and quiet, breakfast excellent. The owners are very nice people, always ready to give you useful informations. You really feel at home! Alberto & Laura, Milano.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLawrenceChick, Owner at Green Door Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you, Laura and Alberto, for the wonderful review. We enjoyed hosting you during your stay at the Green Door. One day we may make it to Milan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

After spending nights in Niagara and Tronoto, Peter and Lynne made Brockville our favorite night in Canada. Clean, friendly and great location. Everything is within walking distance. We were made to feel at home within the first 2 minutes of setting foot into an old church turned into a lovely home and B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLawrenceChick, Owner at Green Door Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The conversation was great - hope we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I go to Brockville on business and for the first time elected in July to stay at the Green Door instead of a hotel. The best decision. Comfortable room and lovely bathroom with the fluffiest towels all in this lovingly restored setting. A patio to sit outside, a refrigerator for the guests. Warm hosts and interesting guests. My (majestic) room had a desk so that I could get my work done. A short stroll down the block to the Bistro for dinner. I think that traveling alone, in particular, made the Green Door a much warmer place to return to each day.

Room Tip: The Majestic was spacious, had a desk and a wonderful bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brockville hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brockville
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Brockville
263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Brockville
Days Inn Brockville
#6 of 6 in Brockville
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
1000 Islands B and B
1000 Islands B and B
#1 of 5 in Brockville
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Street Inn B&B
Pine Street Inn B&B
#5 of 6 in Brockville
13 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Brockville
Super 8 Brockville
#4 of 6 in Brockville
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Door Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Door Bed and Breakfast

Property: Green Door Bed and Breakfast
Address: 61 Buell St, Brockville, Ontario K6V 4Y4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Brockville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Door B&B is a stunning church conversion in downtown Brockville. The B&B offers three themed bedrooms, with en-suite bathrooms, a delicious homemade breakfast, complimentary parking and wi-fi. There's plenty of parking for everyone and we are walking distance to all amenities -restaurants, arts centre, shopping and waterfront. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Door b&b
Green Door Hotel Brockville
Green Door Bed And Breakfast Brockville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing