We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable dinner in quiet bistro”

Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #3 of 135 Restaurants in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner in quiet bistro”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The local pickerel was excellent and my companion like the stuffed chicken on a bed of sauteed vegetables. Edemame appetizer was served nicely with sesame seeds. Good food, reasonable prices, good service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank diveryogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    66
    25
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so-so at best”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I have been here several times and we have yet to have better than average food and below average service for the purported quality of restaurant that they are trying to emulate. The very worst of our visits trying to cut a huge prime rib for 2 with nothing much better than dull butter knives, when we asked the waiter (that took for ever to reappear once our dinner was served) for some real steak knives he responded by telling us that what we had was the only knives they had. The prime rib was probably the toughest prime rib we have ever eaten and rather than rare as we had ordered it, it came well done (we weren't about to wait another 40 minutes to correct this). Definitely not worth the price that we paid for the meal and the service was most definitely much to tardy to represent the caliber of restaurant presented by their advertising. EVERYTHING is completely over priced and on the low end of quality. Too bad the Retro Hotel can't acquire a better restaurateur than the whomever is in charge of the Chilled Cork.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rippy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, General Manager at Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your unpleasant experience with us, your honesty and constructive criticism is appreciated. We appreciate your feedback and take this matter very seriously. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your less than satisfactory dining experience. We pride ourselves on a higher professional standard and strong customer service at The Chilled Cork and the service you received certainly did not reflect our standards. Be assured that we will continue to make improvements in our staffing and service levels, and will further investigate your unpleasant experience.

We strive for service excellence, source top quality meats (Canadian AAA, and USDA Prime), seafood (diver scallops, fresh and local fish), and produce (seasonally local when available) in order to prepare well balanced culinary dishes. We would like to correct this situation by offering you Dinner for 2 for your inconvenience in hopes to make it right! I sincerely hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Thank you again for your insights, we are always excited about the opportunity to improve and only through guests like yourself can we truly understand our challenges.

All the best,

Peter Tsirimbis

The Retro Suites Hotel &
Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bridal Shower and Rehersal Dinner Here!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had My Bridal Shower and Rehersal Dinner Here!

It was a beautiful setting to two events leading up to the wedding :) The food was excellent and they were very accomodating to all our needs. Highly reccommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaBoBisaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA & FLA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“An amazing meal”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went into greater detail in my review of the Retro Suites, but I will say that this is an outstanding place for a great meal!
All was exceptional, nothing was less than that!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank _RichieT_Pa_Fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“My new favorite resto!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I took my daughter here for lunch for her birthday. We both ordered salads and opted to add chicken. Let me say it was the best salad we both have ever had. So fresh and clean refined flavours not heavy with dressing just perfect. We also decided on ordering creme brulee for desert. Chilled Cork knocked it out of the park on flavours and atmosphere. We will be back very soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fosterschica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 
Chatham, Chatham-Kent
 
Chatham, Chatham-Kent
 

Been to Chilled Cork Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing