We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good night”
Review of Super 8 Chatham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Chatham
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you are going to Chatham, the location is fine. If you are just looking for a hotel along the 401, it's about 7-8 minutes out of the way.
The beds are fairly comfortable but the walls are very thin. Found it hard to get to sleep because the television in the adjoining room was so easy to hear, although I don't believe they had it loud. My boys were not allowed to play the table soccer game in the lobby as it was late and would keep people up even though the only people it could possibly affect were the ones keeping us up. We left a wake up call at the front desk that was never received and the room was 60 degrees all night. All in all, not a very good stay at a Super 8, a chain I haven't had any problems with in the past.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baggy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qaisersyed, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

I am pleased to hear the beds were comfortable for your stay, and the location convenient.

As for the noise in the adjoining room, this can happen on occasion, as the rooms are adjoining – if the desk had been notified, this issue would have been taken care of immediately. The last thing we want, is for a guest to have a restless nights’ stay, due to noise coming from another suite in the hotel.

In reference to the foosball being played in the lobby, it is our policy to limit all noise within in the lobby area after 10:30p.m. – this is a courtesy we extend to all of our guests’.

The thermostats’ in all of the rooms can be operated manually, so that the comfort level of temperature can be reached. This would have been taken care of, if a call had been placed to the front desk.

As for the wake up call not being received – I am sorry to hear of that, as normally this does not happen. According to our daily log, the call was made – the only explanation I have is possibly the phone line was not in order – I am having our maintenance department looking into that fact.

Guest Relation Manager
Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Chatham
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 274 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
3  Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
qaisersyed, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel was just what the team needed... Great service, great price, comfortable and close to our venue! Frank and his staff were really helpful and recommended some great local restaurants! The big TV and games in the lobby were a nice bonus for the team too!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our stay was a good experience at Chatham Super 8. Rooms were nice, the beds and pillows were fantastic...still thinking about them. The staffs were friendly and accommodating and put on a nice continental breakfast. Easy to find, 8 minutes off Hwy.401, central to shopping and restaurants with a short walking distance to downtown. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Hotel accomodation at motel price!!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kochupara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
2  Thank JIM B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
qaisersyed, Manager at Super 8 Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

It is not our intention to discourage travelers from making use of the Super 8 Motel in Chatham. This notice is more for the owners of this establishment. When we rented an overnight room a couple of days ago, the motel was sparsely rented out. Lots of rooms were available. We were given Room 218. If that room is typical of the other rooms, the whole place needs serious renovations. In our room, the remote on the TV did not work. The sink faucet in the bathroom produced only hot water (no cold). The heater was so noisey (cold weather) that we couldn't sleep at night with it on. The curtains were in tatters (see through spots). And the room in general was poorly cleaned. The toilet was rocky when you sat on it...one of the bolts holding it down was missing. The only positive thing I could say about the establishment was that the continental breakfast was very good. For the prices of $80.00 a night, we would have expected more. Can't figure out what the other reviews were excited about. We were dissappointed and doubt that we'll rent there again. But I guess you get what you pay for. Please fix the place up at least.

Room Tip: Don't know what the other rooms are like...ours was the pits.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 528JeanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qaisersyed, General Manager at Super 8 Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Guest;

I am sorry to hear that your stay at the hotel was not what you had expected.
All of your concerns that were mentioned, we have taken seriously, and all points of view have been taken care of.

Televisions are now being updated to flat screen, and rooms are being updated with new duvets, pillows and linen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Chatham super8 was a great hotel to stay at with our team, the staff was very welcoming and worked with us to make sure the stay was fun for all, they were very understanding even when our kids had to be reminded to be respectfull of other guests although the rooms are a little small and need to be updated they were very clean and comfortable, we are planning to enter Chatham hockey tournament again next year and wouldn`t think of staying any where else, main contact Frank Rock was an easy and fun guy to deal with thumbs up from Ingersoll Ice hockey group.

Room Tip: not enough double rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jody s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Chatham
Comfort Inn Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
33 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#4 of 10 in Chatham
249 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Chatham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Chatham

Address: 25 Michener Rd, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7L 4B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range: $66 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Chatham 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Chatham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Chatham
Chatham Super 8
Chatham Super Eight
Super 8 Chatham Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing