We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, eclectic style”
Review of Retro Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Retro Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed one night at the Retro Suites in Chatham, Ontario. The building is old but the decor has been done well, very eclectic. Our room was very clean. (I check behind nightstands, etc.) I loved the high ceilings in our room. We stayed in the Midtown with some of the walls brick which gave the room a real 'downtown city' feel. The bed was comfy enough (not a Heavenly bed) and the pillows were not feather (my preference). It would be nice if the large window opened. There was air conditioning in the room but it didn't seem to work well. I loved the shower head; it was a dual with a swing arm so that you could adjust it to any height and each head adjusted independently. Breakfast was included in the restaurant attached. Good breakfast as they give you a choice of continental or hot. The Midtown room had a refridgerator, microwave, coffee pot, plates and utensils. Two bottles of water were included.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with someone who has difficulty walking far, ask for a room close to the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pottery59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 459 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I love the retro suites. Have used them for parties as well as attended a few weddings. It is a magical place and an overall warming experience. We have booked our wedding reception and nights stay here. A wonderful place for a wonderful city.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is amazing, from the staff to the decor, the food and the atmosphere. Danielle at the front desk is a joy to speak with and very knowledgable about a lot of the art in the hotel, Nathan and George are both great at making you feel welcome and known at the hotel. Conor and jordyn at the chilled cork restaurant are extremely friendly and very polite and there service is absolutely amazing. Dylan the chef is a fantastic chef. I can't think of enough good things to say about the retro suites. Every room is impeccably clean and the gorgeous themes are a neat twist. I frequent the area for work and this is the only hotel I stay at. Definitely recommend the retro suites to anyone entering the Chatham area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freewheelinmofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Retro Suites were hyped up quite a bit prior to my arrival, but I was not disappointed.

The look of the place, I found, was a large part of its charm and definitely deserves mention. True to its name, every part of the hotel, from the main lobby through to the warren of corridors to the rooms themselves, is carefully and deliberately decorated and adorned. I was travelling as part of a large group and therefore got to see many of the rooms. Each is unique but equally impressive.

Despite the retro design ethic, appointments were modern and clean. Bed, bath and living arrangements varied from room to room but were universally excellent. Bathrooms were spacious, clean and frequently multiple. Most (all?) suites were equipped with kitchenettes and crockery, plenty enough for opening a bottle of wine or sharing some popcorn at the TV(s).

I had breakfast and dinner downstairs at the Chilled Cork and everything tasted great. The hotel is also located in the historic/pretty part of downtown and close to many good restaurants, the local mall (a bit of a bore) and smaller boutiques, so other options are at hand.

That said, I had some beef.

Beef the first: Service was pretty consistently very slow at the Chilled Cork in the morning, so one would be well-advised to arrive early and bring a book or lots of small-talk.

Beef the second: The (complimentary) wireless internet was not always accessible. Even when it was, it operated somewhere between stand-still and snail-pace. I mean, I've experienced worse wireless before, but it was truly a pain to use, even for email (and forget about gaming!).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2DallahChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the Retro Suites for a conference held in Ridgetown. What a wonderful experience this hotel provides. The service is outstanding! I had to check in just after midnight, and the night attendant was warm and welcoming. The hotel has a very cool ambiance, and the rooms are all different - makes you want to knock on every door and ask to see inside. Mine was very clean and well maintained, and the hotel was very clean as a whole. Many fabulous complementary features that would not be included in most other hotels! The one downfall is simply that Chatham seems to have an endless number of trains that roll through, and one of the tracks is very close to the hotel. Bring a set of ear plugs and you'll be fine! The hotel is worth it! I cannot wait to have a reason to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aj2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A great place to stay! We have had a terrific experience staying at Retro Suites and having others stay here.... business as well as for social events!!!! Such a beautiful spot with unique rooms ..with .Chilled Cork restaurant part of the experience,...Love going here ,,,Really a main feature for downtown Chatham!!!

Room Tip: Ask to see examples of rooms online or a tour,,,you probably will see one that is personal to you..o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms are all very well designed, making your stay very comfortable. Quiet location, but conveniently located downtown within walking distance of restaurants. Downtown Chatham shopping could improve greatly but that's not the hotels fault. The hotel has a great restaurant that serves a very good breakfast. Service from booking to checkout was friendly and prompt.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Chatham
Comfort Inn Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
42 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#4 of 10 in Chatham
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#9 of 10 in Chatham
280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
1 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retro Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retro Suites Hotel

Address: 2 King St W, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range: $124 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Retro Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artfully nestled in historic downtown Chatham, The Retro Suites is a first class hotel with comfort, elegance and style that will surpass all your expectations. Being the only hotel downtown, guests are always a short walk from fine dining, shopping and live theatre. Our 35 guest suites are all individually appointed and create a one of a kind experience that is uniquely yours. With over 2,500 square feet of event space our venue is ideal for any corporate event, wedding ceremony or reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Retro Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retro Hotel Chatham
Retro Suites Hotel Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing