We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Suites Terrific Unique Place”
Review of Retro Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Retro Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Retro Suites Terrific Unique Place”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A great place to stay! We have had a terrific experience staying at Retro Suites and having others stay here.... business as well as for social events!!!! Such a beautiful spot with unique rooms ..with .Chilled Cork restaurant part of the experience,...Love going here ,,,Really a main feature for downtown Chatham!!!

Room Tip: Ask to see examples of rooms online or a tour,,,you probably will see one that is personal to you..o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    47
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
73
127
14
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms are all very well designed, making your stay very comfortable. Quiet location, but conveniently located downtown within walking distance of restaurants. Downtown Chatham shopping could improve greatly but that's not the hotels fault. The hotel has a great restaurant that serves a very good breakfast. Service from booking to checkout was friendly and prompt.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Retro Suites for the 3rd time this past weekend in the Cowboy suite, it was "AMAZING" but that didn't surprise me because every room we have had has been amazing! We have stayed in the Turn of the Century, and the Sahara Suite, both where amazing as well. The attention to detail in this hotel is staggering the art work the decor the bedding, everything is way above what you would expect. Every room is different and I plan to stay in each room and when I have done that I will start all over again. Thank you Retro Suites for another SUPERB weekend in your hotel, I will be back very soon!

Room Tip: The Turn of the Century has 2 beds a King and a Queen upstairs beautiful high ceilings, The Sahara i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDHOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Ont.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of returning to the Retro Suites recently and, once again, were not disappointed! Each suite has a different theme and is done tastefully and very comfortably. Nice and clean; love the accessories in the kitchenette and throughout the rooms and hotel. Fantastic place to visit as a couple but also as a family which we did a year ago.

Room Tip: The King William made us feel like royalty! ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We love this hotel. It's so beautiful and and the staff is very nice. Our only complaint is the trains going by all night long. We stayed in the rock and roll suite and every time a train went by our entire room would shake. It felt like an earthquake. Also there is a restaurant below the room so we could hear an air intake or vent kicking in all night long. We told the front desk the next day and they said they are used to it. Well most tourists staying at a hotel probably are not used to trains so to me that was not really an acceptable response. They did give us a late checkout which we really needed cause we were exhausted. They said if we ever come again we could stay in an interior room to help block the noise. Not sure if we will however because we traveled 3.5 hours just to stay in a unique room and some of the rooms are not as unique as the others!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xtaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
In our continuous effort to improve our services and create a unique overnight experience, it is imperative for us to receive critical feedback to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding the needs of our guests. For this, we thank your comments and we assure you that we are taking steps to address your concerns.

Since the posting of your comment, we have changed the programming of our venting system so that there are fewer disruptions during the evening hours. There is, however, little we can do in regards to the trains that periodically pass through the downtown area. We understand how this can disrupt your stay and we will add this to your preferences so that we may suggest more suitable accommodations that meet your needs in both tranquility and style.

In regards to the response provided by my colleague addressing your concern, I apologize. All associates at the Retro Suites Hotel are trained to employ empathy and genuine care when addressed with guest concerns, however, this is not always the case. I assure you that our guests concerns are always addressed and are of the utmost importance to us.

We hope that you consider us for future reservations and I encourage you to contact me, George East – Hotel Manager, directly with any future bookings. We thank you for your valuable review and look forward to greeting you again.

Sincerely,
Retro Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My experience at Retro Suites was awesome...even before you walk in the door, the decor of the building is impressive. The entire hotel is filled with really cool pieces of artwork and furniture and each room is decorated in a different theme adding to the experience. The staff was excellent- very friendly, courteous and helpful. I will definitely plan another stay, even though I only live 30mins away...it's a great getaway place. I highly recommend Retro Suites for your next stay in Chatham-Kent.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Do not miss staying here! The Staff, the Rooms, the Location. It's all right here folks. But really the rooms are to die for! Stayed in the Royal Plantation with kids. Everyone is still talking about it.

Room Tip: Stayed on third floor, quiet and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Chatham
23 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retro Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retro Suites Hotel

Property: Retro Suites Hotel
Address: 2 King St W, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Retro Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artfully nestled in historic downtown Chatham, The Retro Suites is a first class hotel with comfort, elegance and style that will surpass all your expectations. Being the only hotel downtown, guests are always a short walk from fine dining, shopping and live theatre. Our 35 guest suites are all individually appointed and create a one of a kind experience that is uniquely yours. With over 2,500 square feet of event space our venue is ideal for any corporate event, wedding ceremony or reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Retro Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retro Hotel Chatham
Retro Suites Hotel Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing