We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovingly restored vintage hotel”
Review of Retro Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Retro Suites Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovingly restored vintage hotel”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is such a treat from the moment you walk in the front door. The lobby is full of beautiful quality vintage chairs, tables and art. The rooms are docoratd and named according to a theme. For example "chromodelic" (very Austin Powers) and the "Cowboy room". I was a bit hesitant at first with my Cowboy themed room assignment but it had a warm atmosphere with intimate touches such as a beautiful handcrafted lamp on an equally lovely handcrafted table. Each room has a small fridge, microwave and compimentary popcorn, coffee tea and 2 bottles of water. the bathroom was sizeable with a double headed shower and a bench in the shower.
There is a compimetary breakfast included. This was a bussiness trip and my 3 colleagues had equally high praise for their rooms. We ate dinner in their dining room. I had the haburger and it was nelt in your mouth perfect. The creme caramel was also great. They offer kangaroo!! on the menu. The wine list is varied with good quality offerings as is the beer list. My only regret was not being able to stay longer. It is a well kept secret.

Room Tip: It is a large rambling hotel - make sure you remember where your room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n_mcnaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    47
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
78
130
14
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I was late to book accommodations during a trade show at the John Bradley Convention Center. I could only find a room at he Comfort Inn near the Center on Richmond Street and booked there. On arrival, my room had yellowed curtains clearly visible from the parking lot and the room smelled of stale smoke and cleaning solutions. I made a quick call to the Retro Suites and told them of my predicament and they were so accommodating. The facilities were clean and although we had to move to another room overnight (they moved our suitcases for us) we were quite comfortable and the rooms were very clean, the bed was comfortable and there weren't any funky smells.
Thank you for making our working weekend a little more enjoyable!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Krrn789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is fantastic with all the uniquely designed "themed" rooms, and really cool decor. We were in town for a wedding and opted to stay here despite being a little pricier than the more 'bland" alternative chain hotel that was offered. We were glad we did as the vibe and feel of this place is fantastic.We had a great room with lofty ceilings, really comfy bed, very clean, and tiny little kitchenette bank along the one wall. Gigantic bathroom considering the size of the room with modern finishes and fixtures and just overall a great feel. Had the feel of a NY City studio loft to be honest.
Location was perfect, very central to the venues we needed. Didn't deal with staff other than check-in/out though that was pleasant and hassle-free. The building is next to the train tracks that roll through Chatham, so if you are a light sleeper, depending on when the occasional train passes through this could be a factor, though we did not notice.
Overall a great stay, we would definitely return...potentially more than once with all the cool room options!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chardonnay room which for their "lower priced tier" of room was fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

All the reviews are spot on and I am glad I read them before hand. One thing they all left out was if you are a very light sleeper as I am please note that you will hear the train from EVERY room in the hotel. At night. At 1am. If this will affect you as it did me you should inquire with hotels in Chatham in advance. It would have made my stay much more pleasurable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniela g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hensall
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were guests at a wedding celebration at the Retro Suites Hotel and stayed in the Chantilly Lace room.The staff were incredibly pleasant and knowledgeable.Our room was more than we needed for simply spending the night in Chatham and we loved the extras! Our dinner was excellent in terms of flavour, serving size and presentation. Our breadkfast within the hotel building in the morning was another favourable occasion. We were again greeted with smiling service and breakfast just the way we ordered. The trip to this area was the first as a destination for us and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlfHensall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed at the Retro Suites several times over the last few years and it just keeps getting better. Included in the price are Wi-Fi, freshly cooked hot breakfast, long distance and local telephone calls, and parking - take note, big hotel chains! It's fun and quirky; the rooms are modern and comfortable; the food at the restaurant is excellent. If only it wasn't such a long and boring drive from Toronto to Chatham, I might be tempted to stay here more often!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gintyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night to attend a family funeral. We were upgraded to the beautiful, serene Garden Suite, as there was a minor problem with the room we reserved. Everyone we met at this hotel was friendly and welcoming. They knew we were here for a funeral and expressed their sympathy. The breakfast in the Chilled Cork was excellent, as was the service. Giving someone a night at this hotel as a gift, such as for an anniversay, birthday, etc., would be my idea of a GREAT gift. The hotel was quiet, and all of the rooms/suites are unique! I will stay here again. This hotel puts Chatham on the map. Thank you for a wonderful stay during a very stressful part of our lives.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willing292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Chatham
24 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retro Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retro Suites Hotel

Property: Retro Suites Hotel
Address: 2 King St W, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Retro Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artfully nestled in historic downtown Chatham, The Retro Suites is a first class hotel with comfort, elegance and style that will surpass all your expectations. Being the only hotel downtown, guests are always a short walk from fine dining, shopping and live theatre. Our 35 guest suites are all individually appointed and create a one of a kind experience that is uniquely yours. With over 2,500 square feet of event space our venue is ideal for any corporate event, wedding ceremony or reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Retro Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retro Hotel Chatham
Retro Suites Hotel Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing