We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Architecture”

St. Clair College Capitol Theatre
Ranked #1 of 6 Fun & Games in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Chatham Capitol Theatre is a 1208-seat performing arts centre in the heart of downtown Chatham that presents over 100 performances and 75 films annually.
Chatham, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Architecture”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Beautiful Venue. Friendly staff. It's wonderful how they managed to restore the original architercture. Great line up. I will definately make a point to return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    18
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Best sound you can find for a small venue”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have seen a plethora of different things at the Capitol from classical to rock and it truly accommodates all with ease.
There is something special about a small venue that creates an intimate experience with the performers and the audience. Not one bad seat in the house at all, the sound is superb regardless of the seat you have.
For a small town, it is probably the best there is. If I was to create a comparison, I would compare it to Massy Hall in Toronto, and it would be in good company.
I do hope larger acts get the work and starts to come this way more, they wont be dissapointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RVcornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham-Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great view, good time!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I sat in the balcony, and we had a great view and it wasn't too steep either. The usher even got a drink for me, which was an unexpected, but super awesome gesture. I would not hesitate to see another show there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank c_ellis26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Capitol Theatre”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent Theatre!!!! Exceptional sound system, comfortable seating, friendly staff...the best deal all around!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful theatres inOntario”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a treasure we have in Chatham-Kent! Our theatre is probably one of the most beautiful in Ontario presenting affordable, world class entertainment for children and adults alike. Howie Mandel, Bill Cosby, Andre Philippe Gagnon, Vienna Boys Choir, Messha Brueggergosman, London Symphony Orchestra, Sheepdogs, among others. As retirees, we could never afford to travel a long distance to see this type of entertainment so it's wonderful to be able to avail ourselves of this opportunity.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 27Nana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Clair College Capitol Theatre also viewed

 
Chatham, Chatham-Kent
 

Been to St. Clair College Capitol Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing