We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”
Review of Sale e Pepe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sale e Pepe
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Chatham, Ontario
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

It was all good each time we ordered. The soups are great, a little cheap on the bread but the main entree is always delicious.

Helpful?
1 Thank Scrappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Left dissapointed”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Ate there on NYE and although I enjoyed the wine and the ambience I left feeling dissapointed. For the cost the options weren't great & the portions were small. Their tomato sauce was to die for but they didn't offer any pasta options with it. Also the dessert choices were sad and bland.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnitaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh, Authentic, Delightful”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife and I had a fantastic dinner. FRESH was the word that best describes our food. Excellent variety of choices, first rate service. Lots of room inside, nice decor-don't let the mall location storefront deceive you at all. We and our friends will be sure to return. Please give this new place in town a chance and help promote new ventures to our lovely city!! Good luck Pepe!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadToad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food & great service”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

A brand-spanking new restaurant with delicious Italian food and wonderful service. Nice decor, plenty of parking, ample space between tables, clean washrooms. A little pricey, but you get what you pay for. The "dessert pizza" was a big hit with our three kids! Opens at 5 pm daily.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdithM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Finally a place that wants to please the customer”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Chathams newest restaurant certainly will go the extra mile to please you...yes, you read that right. In the last year while visiting many restaurants, I have had the suspicion that someone is no longer teaching serving staff how the tip system works. I have experienced everything from being ignored in almost empty restaurants to being quoted company "policy" as the reason why I can't get something cooked the way I want it. Not at Sale e Pepe's though!

Tucked away in a strip mall with plenty of parking, this restaurant features upscale Italian cuisine and clean contemporary decor. Upon reviewing the menu, I noticed chicken parmagiana and veal scallopini, but not veal parmagiana...my personal favorite. When the waiter (Tyler) came over to take our order, I said that I was tossed between the 2 as what I really wanted was veal parmagiana. He laughed at my apparent disappointment, saying, "of course our chef can make that for you." I was stunned as I have had similar requests rejected at 3 restaurants I've visited in the past, when they had all the ingredients right on site. He then asked what I would like to go with that, making a few suggestions as this was not a menu item. First class service!!!!!!!!!

Needless to say the meal was excellent with the right sized portions (not too big or small). The wine nicely complimented the meal and the freshly made dessert was spectacular. Tyler even made a specialy coffee for me at my request that was also not on the menu.

The bill was very reasonable and we will definitely make this a regular place for fine dining.

The only possible negative observation I would make is that it lacks the intimate ambiance that I would normally look for in such a restaurant, but it is the food and most importantly the service that determines where I spend my eating out dollars.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeV57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sale e Pepe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing