We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good Value, Very Clean and Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Value, Very Clean and Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Wow, they know how to treat guests. Clean rooms, fabulous buffet breakfast and a staff that they should be proud of. We needed a few rooms to attend a family function and Luanne made sure that everything was perfect. We had to make a few changes, due to some last minute special requests and Luanne at the Hotel handled all with ease. From check in to check out all was great. Our family enjoyed the heated pool, the selections offered at the complimentary breakfast (healthy, hot and a good variety), the very friendly and attentive staff, and of course the lovely rooms. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLonndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear LoveLonndon,

Thank you very much for the kind words and the five star ratings. I will ensure that Luanne receives a copy of your note.

We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Chatham Kent area.

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    77
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
57
31
11
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel is very, very clean and feels like it just opened, althought it is apparently 5 years old. Nice lobby, great breakfast area and immaculate rooms. Worth pulling off the 401! Some dining options right in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Maureen M,

Thank you very much for the kind words and the four star rating for our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback about our hotel and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when you are in the Chatham Kent area.

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
199 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Let's cover all the topics:

Location: Very easy to get to

Parking: Lots!

Facility: The first thing that "hits" you as you walk in is the "fresh, clean scent"...

The reception was friendly, fast and welcoming. Ample luggage carts for those who care about that.

Elevator: Fast

Room: Extremely and comfortable. Bed was great. Pillows were great insomuch as there was a choice of bouncy or not bouncy! I don't like having my head bounce up and down like a trampoline when I put it on the pillow at night. So the choices were "genuine".

Internet: If there were something I could "pick on"... I did have to reconnect a couple of times. Happens in most hotels... so it is what it is. They are large areas to cover I assume...

Breakfast: If you are a fan of the "free breakfasts" offered by many hotels, this one will not disappoint.
The room was comfortable and clean, and the choices were ample.

And for those who love Swiss Chalet... it's right around the corner!!

Would I stay again?

No question and no hesitation, absolutely "yes".

(Thanks to Lu-Anne and Karen for assisting with my reservation!)







Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Harvey C,

Thank you very much for the kind words about our hotel and employees. I will pass these comments onto each of the departments you have mentioned.

We very much appreciate your business and the five star rating. We look forward to your next stay with us the next time you are in the Chatham Kent area.

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had to visit Chatham at a difficult family time. We had to care for a family member and ultimately attend a funeral. The staff at this hotel were very accommodating, extending our stay as required and booking additional rooms as family came to town. Rooms were clean, staff friendly. Great breakfast every day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndaTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear LyndaTen,

We appreciate your kind words about our property and our employees. Please accept our condolences for your loss.

We hope to see you again in the Chatham Kent area, hopefully under different circumstances, as we appreciate your business very much. Thank you for the five star rating.

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent a night here while visiting to see if Chatham is a place we might retire to.
The lobby was very bright and inviting. The service was quick and friendly.
We were on the second floor near the elevators. There was a bit of an odd, musty smell when we got off the elevator and I was very stuffed up during our stay.
The room was clean. The air conditioner made a very loud racket when the condenser turned on, but we didn't realize until night time and just stuck it out. It made for a pretty bad sleep, even with ear plugs.
The bathroom had a very nice shower but only one towel rod and one hook to hang things on.
Breakfast in the morning was very good - with scrambled eggs and sausage, toast, a pancake maker, yogurt, cereal - everything you could want. The coffee was good too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeway62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Janeway62,

Thank you taking the time to write our your details comments about our property. We appreciate the kind words regarding our lobby, breakfast and our service levels. I have forwarded your comments about the 2nd floor corridor and the cooling unit to the appropriate departments to correct those issues immediately.

We appreciate your feedback and your business, we hope that you will use again when you are in the Chatham Kent area again.

Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were in town for a wedding. Even though we didn't book ahead, clerk gave us the group rate. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean and nicely decorated, hotel is in a good location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear D Canadian,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, are willing to recommend us and have decided to return to our hotel if you are in the Chatham Kent area again.

We appreciate your business and look forward to see you the next time you are in town.

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

When I arrived the clerk volunteered to reduce the rate I booked a few months ago online as hotel not full. The hotel lobby is attractive with a water fall and free breakfast area is large so will be able to get a space. There is a separate video room beside the fitness room. The bathroom lights illuminate well. To change TV channels, you seem to have to go through the menu and move the curser over to "more channels" each time as the up/down channel remote seems to skip channels. The hotel is beside the Convention Centre and a 10 minute drive to restaurants downtown.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank e10750law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear e10750law,

Thank you for writing out a detailed review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the four star rating and hopefully we can get you score us as a five star on your next visit.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on your next trip into Chatham Kent

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.5 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
3.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
2.5 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Address: 575 Richmond St, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chatham South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing