We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
200 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Let's cover all the topics:

Location: Very easy to get to

Parking: Lots!

Facility: The first thing that "hits" you as you walk in is the "fresh, clean scent"...

The reception was friendly, fast and welcoming. Ample luggage carts for those who care about that.

Elevator: Fast

Room: Extremely and comfortable. Bed was great. Pillows were great insomuch as there was a choice of bouncy or not bouncy! I don't like having my head bounce up and down like a trampoline when I put it on the pillow at night. So the choices were "genuine".

Internet: If there were something I could "pick on"... I did have to reconnect a couple of times. Happens in most hotels... so it is what it is. They are large areas to cover I assume...

Breakfast: If you are a fan of the "free breakfasts" offered by many hotels, this one will not disappoint.
The room was comfortable and clean, and the choices were ample.

And for those who love Swiss Chalet... it's right around the corner!!

Would I stay again?

No question and no hesitation, absolutely "yes".

(Thanks to Lu-Anne and Karen for assisting with my reservation!)







Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Harvey C,

Thank you very much for the kind words about our hotel and employees. I will pass these comments onto each of the departments you have mentioned.

We very much appreciate your business and the five star rating. We look forward to your next stay with us the next time you are in the Chatham Kent area.

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    77
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
57
31
11
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had to visit Chatham at a difficult family time. We had to care for a family member and ultimately attend a funeral. The staff at this hotel were very accommodating, extending our stay as required and booking additional rooms as family came to town. Rooms were clean, staff friendly. Great breakfast every day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndaTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear LyndaTen,

We appreciate your kind words about our property and our employees. Please accept our condolences for your loss.

We hope to see you again in the Chatham Kent area, hopefully under different circumstances, as we appreciate your business very much. Thank you for the five star rating.

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent a night here while visiting to see if Chatham is a place we might retire to.
The lobby was very bright and inviting. The service was quick and friendly.
We were on the second floor near the elevators. There was a bit of an odd, musty smell when we got off the elevator and I was very stuffed up during our stay.
The room was clean. The air conditioner made a very loud racket when the condenser turned on, but we didn't realize until night time and just stuck it out. It made for a pretty bad sleep, even with ear plugs.
The bathroom had a very nice shower but only one towel rod and one hook to hang things on.
Breakfast in the morning was very good - with scrambled eggs and sausage, toast, a pancake maker, yogurt, cereal - everything you could want. The coffee was good too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeway62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Janeway62,

Thank you taking the time to write our your details comments about our property. We appreciate the kind words regarding our lobby, breakfast and our service levels. I have forwarded your comments about the 2nd floor corridor and the cooling unit to the appropriate departments to correct those issues immediately.

We appreciate your feedback and your business, we hope that you will use again when you are in the Chatham Kent area again.

Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were in town for a wedding. Even though we didn't book ahead, clerk gave us the group rate. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean and nicely decorated, hotel is in a good location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear D Canadian,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, are willing to recommend us and have decided to return to our hotel if you are in the Chatham Kent area again.

We appreciate your business and look forward to see you the next time you are in town.

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

When I arrived the clerk volunteered to reduce the rate I booked a few months ago online as hotel not full. The hotel lobby is attractive with a water fall and free breakfast area is large so will be able to get a space. There is a separate video room beside the fitness room. The bathroom lights illuminate well. To change TV channels, you seem to have to go through the menu and move the curser over to "more channels" each time as the up/down channel remote seems to skip channels. The hotel is beside the Convention Centre and a 10 minute drive to restaurants downtown.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank e10750law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear e10750law,

Thank you for writing out a detailed review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the four star rating and hopefully we can get you score us as a five star on your next visit.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on your next trip into Chatham Kent

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I guess we know what happened to the Wheels Inn! For those that remember this iconic 'resort'
We stayed here one night in June 2014.

Overall experience
- the booking process was a bit of a challenge as we wanted two rooms which were adjoining. We had to call back a couple of times to ensure the rooms were connected, but all was straighter out in the end

Accomodations
- the room was okay, we didn't have a microwave, and the door to the fridge was broken, but overall the stay was fine

Game room
- I think I know what happened to the old Wheels Inn video games... perhaps an update would be nice

Pool
- did not get a chance to use the pool, but looked nice

Staff
- friendly and helpful

Breakfast
- the breakfast was good and the kids enjoyed the pancake machine. Nice selection of foods.

Room Tip: There is a great Italian restaurant in the area called Mamma Maria's on King Street. Best pizza!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Josh D,

Thank you for taking the time to write out your comments about our hotel. I apologize we were not able to make your reservation as easy as you had hoped. We are pretty limited in the number of rooms that connect but irregardless this should not affect the reservation time and efficiency. I have noted your comments about our games, we have updated a couple of games however I will ensure I make our owners aware of your thoughts.
We appreciate your business very much and hope to see you use our property again in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were at the hotel for a baseball tournament and I could not get over how accommodating the staff were. We had late night games, so our players were up later than normal. The staff kept the games room open, so they had some time to unwind before they headed to bed. The breakfast was excellent, offering a variety of hot and cold items (and the cinnamon buns were incredible!). We were able to hold a team barbecue outside, and another team also had their barbecue outside as well. The seating areas in the lobby are very comfortable and beautiful. Cannot say enough about how comfortable the beds were. Would definitely stay there and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeds30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliff Q, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Deeds 30,

Thank you for the kind words and the five star rating. I will ensure to pass on all your comments to the rest of our team.

We very much appreciate your business and the baseball tournaments business in general, always a good group to work with.

We hope to see you again for your next tournament in the Chatham Kent area.

Yours in Hospitality
Cliff Quinlan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.5 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
3.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
2.5 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Address: 575 Richmond St, Chatham, Ontario N7M 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chatham South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing