We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

When I arrived on the first night of a business trip, I was told that my room had been upgraded since a large family group was expected in and they wanted to make sure I was quiet and comfortable. Although the group was very amicable, the extra consideration was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor facing the parking lot, generally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    84
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
65
35
11
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The fairly new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Chatham, Ontario has the potential to be a great place to stay. Stayed there last week as part of a conference that was being held in the John D. Bradley Convention Centre located on the same property. More on that later.

We were on the second floor and, for a no smoking area, one was hit in the face by stale cigarette smoke upon exiting the elevator. This created a first impression that was not easy to dispel.

The front desk staff was terrific and very accommodating. The room was clean and there were no issues with housekeeping.

But the cigarette smell, well ......

This property has the makings of a world class centre for medium sized conferences except for the fact that there is no connection between the hotel and the conference centre. We were required to walk outside between the two venues. So, on the more formal night when it rained that was not a good thing. I also think that it would be a detriment in the winter with the snow and slush on the ground or during a snow fall. Too bad that they cannot link the two.

We would stay there again, but would request a higher floor. Our colleagues on the 6th floor did not experience the same issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors and get a suite if possible. They are exceptionally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Staying for a conference and was excepting a "good enough" hotel, but I have to admit was "wowed" The lobby is small but nicely decorated. Check-in was extremely smooth and front desk staff helpful, efficient and friendly. Room was spacious and very clean. Bed was perfect with all-white linen and a good variety of pillows. Lots of hot water (and the hotel was fully booked) with great water pressure. No restaurant on-site but they did offer a great self-serve breakfast that even included a selection of hot items.

Room Tip: Had a room facing the the road so no issue with train noise as stated in other reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here two nights. Small but clean (salt water) pool, bed mattress is comfy but thin walls so don't plan on making too much nighttime noise....Lots of parking, large breakfast area with your basics: hot scrambled eggs, boxed bacon, etc, but I admit i do love those cinammon buns!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite-- you may get an upgrade. they have fridges
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromChathamOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went to Chatham for a tournament and really didn't know what to expect. The Holiday Inn was a better than we expected. Staff were really friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean and the staff were "flexible" with special requests which we were grateful for. The breakfast is basically continental even though there are eggs, sausage it was really packaged food. So enough to fill you, but not healthy. The arcade was better equipped than in most hotels, with prize too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding just outside of town. Hotel was spotless and the service was pleasant. Very satisfied with the condition of the room. Wifi signal was excellent. Breakfast was extremely fresh and there was a lot of variety. The location is very good, plenty of restaurants and coffee shops near by. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lari1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chatham, Ontario, is not renowned for its hotels, but the arrival of Holiday Inn Express in 2010 may very well change this perception.

I have stayed in a number of Holiday Inn Express hotels before so I was pleased that one had replaced the Wheels Inn--so-named by locals because of the Ferris wheel that was located behind it.

The Holiday Inn Express, Chatham, is the result of the re-modelling and refurbishing of the Wheels Inn.

As a new hotel, I expected and discovered current decor and comfortable furnishing. Rooms were spacious and clean. I chose a room with a king-sized bed, although the same type of room also offers two queens. My room came with a queen sofa-bed.

Perhaps I was most satisfied by the bedding. All sheets and bedding, including duvets, are white. This is always a good sign for me because it reflects how conscious hotel staff about providing clean bedding. I was especially heartened when I noticed that sheets and duvet covers are changed when a room is vacated (I actually took my time in the corridors and observed the housekeeping staff). There was even a selection of different size pillows to choose from.

The air-conditioning/heating unit was a little noisy, but tolerable and it did not prevent me from falling asleep.

Holiday Inn Express serves breakfast at no additional cost, but it was the usual hotel fare in a comfortable room that easily seats 60 people.

The staff made me feel very welcomed. They were happy to tell me the history of the hotel and encouraged me to return. I will definitely stay there on my next trip to Chatham.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalseyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.4 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.5 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Address: 575 Richmond St, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7M 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chatham South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing