We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with free breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Modern hotel with free breakfast”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The lobby is very bright and welcoming. Lots of space to lounge and have breakfast. There is no restaurant on Site but many places to eat close by. A hot breakfast with good selections available free. Good fitness centre and there is a games room. Rooms were clean and well appointed.
I would recommend staying here. Front staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel. There is a train that runs along the back around 11 pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    84
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
65
35
11
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Breakfast room in lobby nice. If you don't get the suite you end up with an older refurbished room that kinda smells and air conditioner is original...new pool. Good for families but found a bit expensive for small farm community town.

Room Tip: Get the suite with kitchenette and pullout. Well worth it. Not old like other rooms. Do not stay by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently, we stayed at this hotel while we were vendors at a Home Show in Chatham. We were impressed at the convenience and at the friendliness of the hotel staff. The room itself was more than comfortable and clean. Overall, a very pleasant experience.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to "get away" for a nice quiet weekend retreat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krrn789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I'm under the impression that the Holiday Inn Express chain of hotels is primarily for temporary business stays. With this in mind, this hotel fulfills all your needs for such a stay. The pool is probably half the size of a standard 25m pool so you'd reach the other end within six strokes. The fitness room holds four machines that are all running/biking related (i.e. treadmill, elliptical, stationary bicycle). So it may be hard for some individuals to meet their exercise needs.

The complimentary breakfast was decent considering it is free. Bread, bagels, eggs, cold hard boiled eggs, omelettes, sausage (tasted kind of weird), bacon (occasionally), instant pancake machine, cinnamon rolls, bananas, yogurt, tea, coffee, juice. The taste is acceptable in general, while some items such as the cinnamon rolls and pancakes were pretty good.

The TV signal quality is quite bad. It's a stretched image that's quite fuzzy with many channels. The wireless internet is acceptable for browsing though you may have to wait if you are downloading files or browsing YouTube.

The walls do seem quite thin as you'll hear noises from adjoining rooms and across the hall. But it didn't bother me because my neighbours were normal.

In general, the entire hotel is quite clean and it seems like someone is always vacuuming somewhere to uphold this standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Holiday Inn is a brand that I trust, and I tend to choose these hotels when traveling for business. I know the experience will be predictable and consistent - just what's needed when traveling stressed.
I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Chatham. First of all, I didn't know about the proximity of the rail lines until a train went across the foot of my bed at 11:00 in the night. Then I noticed I could hear the folks in the room next door, having more fun than I was.
Even with the earplugs I bought the next day, sleep quality wasn't good. I also had some concerns about the cleanliness of the room. I spilled a little tea, and wiped it up, but the powder was still there the next day. And the next. And then when I was checking out I noticed a rather large (how shall I put this) booger stuck to the wall next to the bed. Will this stop me booking Holiday Inn? Absolutely not, but if I stay here again I'll ask for the front view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel, away from the railway tracks. Booger notwithstanding the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Jane P,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. We are delighted that our location was the perfect fit for your business needs. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I apologize for any inconvenience the noise created by some of the other guests as well as the cleanliness of the room. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for your review and staying with us.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara, Ontario
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed one night to attend a conference at the conference centre next door and was very pleased with the hotel. It was clean, new, fresh and the front desk staff were very friendly. The only minor issue was with the hotel wi-fi - the front desk did put me through to their technical support, who weren`t able to really help - I think they just didn`t have ``enough`` internet to go around - the hotel was full, and I think everyone was trying to go online at the same time - I was frustrated as I was unable to complete some work I`d brought with me.

Other than that, a fantastic hotel that I would definitely stay at again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draddus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

As a person thata stays at HI all the time and is a priority Club member I was appalled when I arrived with my sons ball team and recieved a nasty letter at check in that threatens to have the authorities throw the entire team out of the hotel if 2 compaints are recieved.
As a person that travels frequently with sports teams, and seldom out socializing at night, not sure why I would have been punished.
That letter makes quite an initial impression.
Don't travel to Chatham often, but won't stay here again.
The hotel ...knowing teams are coming... did not even group the team together on one floor in one end of the hallway.
The hotel itself was okay. They have tried to redo a warn out facility and just gave it a makeover. But even had broken furniture in my room, although it was new furniture.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waynes34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear waynes34,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review of our hotel. I would like to apologize for the difficulties you had experienced at check-in. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Chatham.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Chatham
23 reviews
1.4 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
262 reviews
2.5 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Address: 575 Richmond St, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7M 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chatham South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing