We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We arrived late, but check in was fast and friendly. We stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite, which was extremely clean and spacious. It worked very well for us, as our kids are very active and need a lot of space to move around to remain calm. This also allowed us to put the kids to bed early so we could enjoy each other’s company in a different room. The kitchenette area was clean and well stocked with dishes, wine glasses, etc. The bed was firm, but soft enough to be relaxing. The bathroom was well supplied with enough towels, etc for 4 adults.
The breakfast had a combination of hot and cold dishes. It wasn’t a 5 star restaurant, but was sufficient for a good quick breakfast. There were eggs (powdered??), bread, bagels, muffins, cereal, coffee, juices, milk, etc.
The indoor pool was very clean but a little cool for my liking; however, the kids seemed to enjoy it. There were chairs around the pool for people to sit in while they were watching their friends or kids.
Just outside the pool area, there was an arcade filled with cheap games/activities from which you could earn tickets. After you earn a sufficient number of tickets, you can trade them in for cheap prizes/junk. This was the only negative part of the hotel. I don't mind the idea of an arcade, but get rid of the junk and bring in some free and some decent pay as you play games.
All in all, it is a nice hotel, and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobys_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    83
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
64
35
11
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherstburg, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Extremely friendly and courteous staff. The room was large and clean. Would recommend a higher floor as our view was roof of the entrance overhang. Always loved the breakfast and this was definitely not a disappointment. Hats off to the cooks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Only stayed one night but everything went smoothly. Staff was courteous, friendly and prompt.

Room Tip: We went for a funeral and received their funeral rate. Staff was efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveHuanchaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We recently decided to check out the recently renovated former Wheels Inn and were pleasantly surprised. Although the price is a little on the high side for Chatham, we were offered a free upgrade to a suite upon checking in, which made for good value. Other than the character and location of Retro Suites, I found the Holiday Inn Express to be overall a better room. Let's face it, Chatham is small so driving to where you want to go is no big deal. If I'm on a budget, I may still be tempted to go back to Super 8 (see previous review of Super 8), but this is a good compromise for the improvement you get without the high price of Retro Suites.

The room was clean, comfortable and roomy. There were separate thermostats in the bedroom and the seating area/kitchenette. The bathroom had a nice walk-in shower and a handy extra mirror with counter to accommodate two people trying to get ready at the same time. Towels were plentiful, nicely sized and soft. The only toiletry I tried was the bar of soap, but I found it a good size and more sudsy than many others. The kitchenette had a dining table with 4 chairs and a selection of dishes, glassware and cutlery for your use. Although there was a little bottle of dish soap next to the sink, there was no dishcloth or tea towel. That made me a little nervous about the cleanliness of the glasses. Wrapped disposable cups were also available.

If I had to find something to criticize, I might suggest that they make it easier to pre-wash any dishware one would like to use. A nightlight in the bathroom would be handy (I like to avoid full lighting for a mid-night bathroom visit). An HD source for the TV would also be nice given that the TVs (one each in the seating area and in the bedroom) are LCD flat screens. We didn't really have much time to watch TV. I will definitely be back next time we're passing through Chatham.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Take_It_for_Granted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
253 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express has a great check in staff. The rooms are updated, clean and comfortable with wireless internet which is always a must for me. If you want a safe, clean room, then this is the spot for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahayoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingersoll, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel and will highly recommend it. Everything has been renovated from it's former days as the Wheels Inn. Nice new carpets, beds etc. We did experience a problem with the lock upon arrival but maintenance showed up within 3 minutes, let us in and fixed the code reader. We did not use the pool so I can't comment on that but did eat the breakfast and it was better than the average hotel. It'd definitely worth the few extra dollars it costs over the other very dated hotels in the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLuckyDuece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for business. Not a particularly enjoyable task for any number of reasons (co-workers, not for long...). There was a boys hockey tournament in town and the hotel was filled, rammed with whitebread parents looking to snap beer caps and bust loose. Fair enough, but they took their 905/705/519 parties into the hallways. Sleepware,slippers and booze in the public areas is fine if everyone is single. The staff should have booked the hockey peeps on their own floors. I had a hard time getting to sleep until about 3am. Good breakfast and a very comfortable room. Will return if I am in the area as it is the only game in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadhemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.4 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Chatham
112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
257 reviews
2.5 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Address: 575 Richmond St, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7M 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chatham South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing