We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated, modern, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Renovated, modern, clean rooms”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My hubby and I recently stayed here when in Chatham. I read a lot of reviews about hotels in Chatham and was very concerned about the quality of hotels in the area due to poor reviews. I found the best reviews were of this hotel and I found out it was recently renovated.

We paid for our room in advance on the Holiday Inn website and saved 20% i think. We checked in on a Saturday and stayed one night. The check in process was quick. There was only one person working the front desk and she had to check us in and answer the phones/reservation system at the same time. We waited about 5mins for her to end her call and then she checked us in. No problem.

We had a king sized bed with pullout sofa in a fairly modern, renovated room on the third floor. The view we had was of an air conditioner on a roof, so not the greatest view but we didn't really have the blinds open. The bed was comfortable, a bit firm. They gave you plenty of pillows, and the pillowcases had embroidered "firm" and "soft" on them. It was nice to have two options. There was a dresser with about 3-4 drawers and a mini fridge. The alarm clock had an adapter for your iphone, mp3 player which was nice. The room had a desk and a small coffee table with two little chairs/ottomans that you could use which was cute. There were Pepsi machines on each floor and a small area near the front desk that sold chips/pop/toothbrushes etc. The bathrooms were small but ok. There was no tub in our room. The bathroom was not as updated as the rest of the room, or at least didn't seem to be but it was fine.

There is free breakfast in the lobby with toast, bagels, muffins, eggs, sausage, coffee, cereal, yougurt etc. They even have the coolest pancake machine I have ever seen. You press a button and it makes a pancake and pops it out the end like an assembly machine. Very neat. My huuby actually liked the coffee and he is so picky with coffee, usually only Starbucks will do. He also said the eggs were very good. They had free Globe and Mail newspapers to read and comfortable and modern seating and tables.

We didn't use the business centre or any other services so I cannot comment on them. We did use the free wireless internet which worked fine. They give you a password at check in. The hotel is located in a busy area of Chatham with a Tim Hortons nearby as well as a gas station, Pizza Hut etc.

Checkout was a breeze, we just handed in our keys!

Overall we enjoyed our stay, the rooms were clean and updated, the price of about $135 was reasonable and the service was fast and friendly. We were very pleased and would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emerick06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    85
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
68
35
11
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Very nice staff. Breakfast was really good and it was included. Looks very modern and pretty and is very nice and clean. Love the pool. I would definetly go back here as the rates are very reasonable. nice nice nice nice nice nice nice nice nice nice

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed for one night in a suite. Cost $135 with a discount I found- regular would have been $150 per night. The interior was very nice with two 32" TVs and a kitchenette with a small table, a desk, a chair in the bedroom and some pull out ottomans under the coffee table. All the furniture still looked nice and unscratched.
Even though the suite has a sofa-bed and a king size bed in the bedroom the maximum occupancy that Holiday Inn has is only two people! With a little re-organizing of the furniture the room was able to sleep 7.
The view to the south was not very impressive with an industrial site across the road. The area around the hotel is not much to look at, but from the hotel a short drive will take you to many fast food restaurants, a bowling alley, an a LCBO (liquor store.)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canada75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We were attending a family wedding on the weekend in Chatham and we were looking for a place to stay overnight and to relax in between the ceremony and reception.
The common areas as well as the rooms were new, bright and clean.

The breakfast bar buffet was excellent. It's both a hot and cold buffet it was a very busy Sunday morning for breakfast when we were there, but the staff ensured that the food was hot, fresh and replenished. There was a great variety of hot items including scrambled eggs, and sausage as well as a pancake maker that you just makes pancakes with a push of a button. Modern and simple.

Highly recommend this property for families or couples.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We just returned from a family wedding and stayed at the Holiday Inn in Chatham, Ontario. It is a newly renovated hotel, nicely decorated and very clean. I'm not sure how others can complain about this hotel. We didn't have the complimentary breakfast however it looked good. The one improvement that I would suggest is that the front desk staff be given new uniforms to go along with the new renovations.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrmbMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Holiday Inn has done a nice job updating the tower from the Wheels Inn to a modern HIX hotel. The rooms are very modern and impressive looking. I was upgraded at check-in to a larger room due to reward status - so I can't comment on the regular rooms. My room was very large (the largest on the floor) and featured a comfortable couch/sitting area.

New flat screen, with fridge in the built in dresser.

Bathroom featured a large walk in shower with glass doors.

I've stayed here a few times when it was the Wheels Inn and the transformation is incredible.

Minor problem, there was some garbage left in one of the cans from previous guests.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SB270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here twice in the last couple of weeks and went through 5 different rooms. The first room had an unmade bed with wet towels and a pizza box on the table. After reporting this to the front desk, we were moved to a new room which seemed fine. The swimming pool area had algea growing in the grout and we kept noticing pieces of filmy stuff in the water. Closer inspection showed this to be toilet paper or tissue, lots of it in the pool. The next check in, there was a live crawling bug in the bed, we were moved to another room with a pull out. There was a half eaten cracker in the pull out couch. We were then moved to another room where we stayed but the cleanliness of this room wasn't exactly impressive. The desk staff people were very nice and apologized profusely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank captainshortbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.4 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
410 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Chatham
28 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#4 of 10 in Chatham
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#9 of 10 in Chatham
267 reviews
2.5 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Address: 575 Richmond St, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7M 1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chatham South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing