We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed from dec 20-27 and the service was the best of any hotel I have ever visited. Housekeeping was very accommodating and extremely efficient. The front staff always made me feel welcome and had a kind word every time I came in the door and they were always available and willing to assist with my many questions and requests. I know that the next time I come home for a visit that I will definitely stay here again. Wonderful staff - make sure they don't leave!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWills68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila B, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,
Sheila Bateman - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    38
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
25
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just checked in. So far so good. In response to other reviewers, this motel just went completely non-smoking. My room was an ex-smoking room and I could not detect any evidence of it (no stale smoke smell after a thorough cleaning after the switch over to completely non-smoking).Rooms are a bit dated but beds are comfy, room is clean and the amenities are good.

I have stayed in many Comfort Inns over the years and this location maintained the standard I am used too. No unpleasant surprises encountered.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best if you need to step outside for a smoke, given this is a completely non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdnviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila B, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your compliments! Yes, we have just converted to be 100% smoke-free. I will share your comments as many of our staff worked very hard for that conversion.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely,

Sheila Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I booked three single rooms for two nights mainly due to its central location to where we were working. I was not expecting anything great but I was pleasantly surprised - the comfort of the room, the complimentary in-room snacks, the decent breakfast and, above all,the efficiency and friendliness of the staff that set this hotel aside from the 6 others that I have stayed in over the past two weeks.

Room Tip: Its a none smoking hotel now. As noted in other comments there isn't a lift to the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Podgorica21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila B, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It's not easy spending many nights on the road, as we often see some tired & very road-weary travellers. We always endeavour to make a difference for our guests, even if it's a little offering.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & we hope that you might return someday.

Sincerely
Sheila Bateman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our first night en route from Indiana to New England on June 28, 2013 was going to be a surprise, no matter where we ended up. We decided to keep driving through Detroit and into Ontario, Canada and just see where we ended up for the night, once we got too tired. The weather made us start searching for our rest stop a bit earlier than planned, with nonstop rain and storms the entire evening. We were surprised to find the Canadian interstate system quite a bit different from the U.S...no hotels along the road--you have to leave the interstate and drive a few miles/kilometers into the closest town. We knew there was a Comfort Inn in Chatham, but didn't have very good directions (chose not to use our smartphones due to the additional and outrageous international roaming rates) to the hotel. We stopped at the Holiday Inn Express to get a rate for the night, but it was pretty pricey, even considering the exchange rate. We drove down the road a couple miles and came upon the Comfort Inn. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The rate was very reasonable, and though the outside of the hotel was modest in appearance, we were very impressed with the inside. No elevator...which was no problem for us...because this is an older property. But, the room was sparkling clean and very comfortable. The shower was very nice, as well. The continental breakfast was nothing special, but it filled us up as well as anything more elaborate would have. We thought that this hotel provided a great value for us, and it was a great little place to stay. We would definitely opt for this place again, vs. the much fancier/expensive Holiday Inn Express down the road!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila B, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for writing about your stay with us & your experience..Our signage along the 401 is a bit difficult for travellers. Thanks for taking a chance on Chatham-Kent! We are so glad that you chose to stay with us. Your comments are appreciated.
Sincerely,

Sheila Bateman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
286 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Front desk staff were very efficient and knowledgeable. Rooms are nice and clean and nicely supplied.
The breakfast is quite nice, various breads, muffins, cereals, hard boiled eggs (nice to see if you are watching weight), fresh fruit. This area is well taken care of and is restocked often.
Good location with easy access to the 401 and plenty of fast food places and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila B, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your comments & look forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

Sheila Bateman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My room was smoking, asked for non. It was overwhelming. My eyes watered the whole time, i couldnt breathe through my nose. The sliding door had no screen, so I couldn't even crack a window. It was really bad, and I smoke!
Now-it was clean, beds made well, spotless bathroom. But I will be checking out earlier than I planned to try and find something cancer free. Seriously Comfort Inn-its 2013, lose the smoking rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macpherso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila B, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We do offer our sincere apologies that you were not able to enjoy a non-smoking room as you prefer. We hope that you will return & choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Sheila Bateman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chatham hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.5 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
3.5 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1100 Richmond St, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7M 5J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether travelling on business or just having some fun, the completely renovated Comfort Inn Chatham will offer you all the comforts of home - personalized service at a great value. Just off Hwy 401, you'll be treated to free wireless Highspeed Internet & Rewards for Aeroplan or Choice Privileges for every stay. Enjoy our free hot breakfast. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and a 32-inch flat screen television. Ground floor rooms have patio door access. This hotel is 100% smoke free and Pet Friendly (small fee applies).Enjoy the new spacious Lobby with your 2nd cup of coffee. Read email in the Business Centre or print that last-minute job. All in Comfort, just like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chatham
Comfort Inn Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Chatham Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing