We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice improvement!”
Review of The Human Bean

The Human Bean
Ranked #24 of 93 Restaurants in Cobourg
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Nice improvement!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spend our summers in Cobourg and as with all small towns in Ontario, it's difficult to find a really good coffee house. I'm happy to say there has been some positive improvements since the previous years. Number one, they seem to be giving more attention to cleanliness, which was a big issue for us in the past and kept us from patronizing. Thankfully, there is a notable upgrade in that department and I hope they continue to keep on top of this. Also, the service we received was great. There is one girl that seems to be there daily. She served me once but has remembered my drink order every time I came in. The cookies and scones seemed fresh and the place is always buzzing in the morning. Here's hoping they continue with the upscale tea and coffee they serve.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Town!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A regular stopping place in Cobourg for coffee - a very popular spot, and rightly so…the coffee is superb, and soups to die for! It has great atmosphere, and the changing artwork on the walls adds to the ambience. It's also a wealth of information about local events with an extensive bulletin board.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fraggletops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Bad attitude, cold soup and stale rolls”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Looked great from the outside and seemed just our kind of place but the waitress was clearly having a bad, BAD day. The meal was bad enough so we didn't hang around long enough to sample the coffee - and won't be going back. There are plenty other good friendly places in town - like Chocolates down by the lake - so give this one a miss.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DuthieDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coffee!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great place to stop. Friendly place, great coffee. The Human Bean is in the heart of Cobourg and much more reasonably priced than their neighbor.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great coffee & treats”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Lovely place to sit quietly with a cup of coffee (Many to chose from) and a treat while walking in town.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Human Bean also viewed

 

Been to The Human Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing