We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Charming”
Review of Woodlawn Inn

Woodlawn Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Woodlawn Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 97 Restaurants in Cobourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A favourite spot for quiet intimate dining, the romantic, centrally located restaurant at The Woodlawn Inn has been welcoming guests since 1988. A favorite with locals The Woodlawn Inn also hosts Northumberland County's premiere weddings and special events. Chef John O'Leary a red seal certified chef uses many Ontario and Northumberland products on his European and Italian inspired menus. Highlights of the inn include a great wine program. Accredited sommelier and host Stephen Della Casa offers a selection of more than 300 wines from the cellar. The restaurant also has a cozy bar with a slideshow of ever-changing Northumberland images by photographer, Stephen Della Casa and a Tuscan, walnut inlay decor. The bar also features 25 varieties of single malt Scotch whisky.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Woodlawn when we arrived in Cobourg and found it to be a quaint Victorian style Inn with good amenities and walking distance to downtown. The meals are some of the finest in Cobourg, along with a lunch buffet, and white table cloth service. The wine cellar is the best in Cobourg with a knowledgeable sommelier. If you are looking for a change from the chain hotel experience, this is it!

2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello DavidASmith57!

Thanks for visiting The Woodlawn Inn and for posting your review. As one of the few non-chain businesses in the hospitality sector we are proud to have been in business for 25 years. After all this time, we are still humbled by all the terrific feedback we receive and we hope we can continue to serve our guests for another 25 years. Thanks for your positive comments about the wine cellar. We keep a wine selection of about 300 brands and although its a substantial amount of work we really appreciate when guests take the time to comment on it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 252 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

A great Cobourg gem. The decore is definitely traditional. Food and rooms are great. Will definitely return.

Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Alex S

We are glad that you found our historic inn and restaurant! We have been proud to serve our area for the last 25 years and we appreciate the positive feedback. See you next time you are in the area.

best wishes,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went to meet my cousin and husband at the Woodlawn Inn for lunch on Dec. 14th 2012. The lunch was amazing. A full 3 course meal and very inexpensive. The servers were very unobtrusive and helpful. I would recommend Woodlawn Inn to anyone...

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank alifour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Allfour

I am glad that you and your family could join us over the holiday season last December! Thank you for recommending The Woodlawn to your friends and I will pass on your kind comments to our staff.

All the best,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is the place to go for a special dinner or if you want to impress your guest. The waiters are friendly but not intrusive. It is indeed quiet elegance. The food will not disappoint, artfully displaced is it as pleasing to the eye as it is to the palate.

Thank AJEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear AJEG

Thanks for considering the Woodlawn Inn as your special place for dinner. We really appreciate it. In a world of loud restaurants, thanks for noticing our qualities and quiet elegance!

Thanks,
Stephen Della Casa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Friendly people in a wonderful old building thoroughly modernized. Very clean and bright rooms, lovely food in an upscale restaurant. Comfortable beds and a totally satisfying night ata reasonable rate.

Thank mymeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear mymeesh

Thanks for your recent review of The Woodlawn Inn. We appreciate each review that is written and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

Take care,
Stephen Della Casa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodlawn Inn also viewed

 

Been to Woodlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing