We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”
Review of Woodlawn Inn

Woodlawn Inn
Ranked #2 of 96 Restaurants in Cobourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $36
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A favourite spot for quiet intimate dining, the romantic, centrally located restaurant at The Woodlawn Inn has been welcoming guests since 1988. A favorite with locals The Woodlawn Inn also hosts Northumberland County's premiere weddings and special events. Chef John O'Leary a red seal certified chef uses many Ontario and Northumberland products on his European and Italian inspired menus. Highlights of the inn include a great wine program. Accredited sommelier and host Stephen Della Casa offers a selection of more than 300 wines from the cellar. The restaurant also has a cozy bar with a slideshow of ever-changing Northumberland images by photographer, Stephen Della Casa and a Tuscan, walnut inlay decor. The bar also features 25 varieties of single malt Scotch whisky.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Friendly people in a wonderful old building thoroughly modernized. Very clean and bright rooms, lovely food in an upscale restaurant. Comfortable beds and a totally satisfying night ata reasonable rate.

Thank mymeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear mymeesh

Thanks for your recent review of The Woodlawn Inn. We appreciate each review that is written and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

Take care,
Stephen Della Casa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Woodlawn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 205 of 232 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great food, great wines, lovely charming accommodation. Modestly priced. Why stay anywhere else in Cobourg? The owners, the Della Casa's, are as charming as their Inn.

Thank MCHBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear MCHBurgess,

We are delighted that you enjoy the Woodlawn Inn and our hospitality!. We have been fortunate enough to be in business for 25 years now and we could not have lasted without guests like you!

All the best,
Stephen Della Casa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had the pleasure to attend a private corporate Christmas dinner...the service, meal and setting were excellent, conducive to nurture an intimate gathering of 12. The meals were served hot and highly pleasing to view/eat, the desserts came with huge appreciation around the table at the how delicious and enormous they were....We were completely catered to, right to the temperature of the room and a beautiful fire. Thank you for the way in which you did not rush us, for over-seeing details and making sure all were looked after without being too intrusive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank firesheep444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear firesheep444,

Thank you very much for your review of the Woodlawn Inn restaurant. I am pleased that group enjoyed themselves here. If we can ever be of service in the future please let us know.

Kind regards,
Stephen Della Casa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Woodlawn is a terrific night out. The food is well prepared and served. Steve always talks to his patrons and makes them feel at home. There is an extensive wine list.
My pick from the menu: Dover Sole

Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Robert,

Thanks for your writing about us! We are glad that you feel at home at The Woodlawn!

Best,
Stephen Della Casa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

From the moment we walked in, we were made to feel very welcome. We were a party of 9 so were given the private dining room. What a treat! The room was spacious, spotless and full of old-world charm. The menu was tempting and we found it hard to choose. The server was very courteous and knowledgeable, explaining the dishes to us when asked. I chose from several vegetarian dishes that sounded equally good. The food was obviously prepared to order and was well presented. Despite having some serious foodies in our party, everyone without exception, enjoyed their meal. We found it excellent value for our money, with the prices being on the higher end.... but then so was the food and the service. Well worth going and for sure we will be going back for our next family celebration.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OshawaDaneLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at Woodlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Oshawa Dane Lady,

Thank you for your review of The Woodlawn Inn restaurant. I am pleased that your family "foodies" were happy and well taken care of. We have been blessed with great customers and good friends in the hospitality business and we would love to have you back with us next time there is a family celebration!

be well,
Stephen Della Casa
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodlawn Inn also viewed

 
Cobourg, Ontario
 
Cobourg, Ontario
 

Been to Woodlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing