We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“under new management!”
Review of Lotus Motel

Lotus Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lotus Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I stayed here back in 2009, and have since come back. The place has gone through some major changes, ie construction, updates and new management. This is a very affordable motel, and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. I will definitely come back! cant beat the prices and location!

Room Tip: dont be afraid to ask for something if you need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiths_falls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2010

Broken down on the 401 and brought to this hole in the ground by the tow truck driver, it was the absolutely most disgusting place we have ever had to pay for the priviledge of staying in. It was in desparate need of renovations, the bathroom featured a green tub and green toilet that was popular in the early sixties, dead bugs had come to rest on the top of the toilet tank. The light shade was covered in filth. There was no screen on the bathroom window and there were holes in the towels. The morning sun shone threw the thousand holes in the curtains that was missing hooks at the top. Only good thing, lots of hot water and good pressure. Next time we'll sleep in the car!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pennymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Stayed there one night in one of the suite rooms (2 bedroom, pull-out coach).

The room was dirty, stains, couch was broken (slanted, half the mattress wasn't even attached to the frame). The window was jammed open. There was a hole in the wall.

And the worst part.... BEDBUGS!!! Got a bunch of itchy red marks in the morning for my stay so I'll assume it was bedbugs.

Should have just slept in the car. Over-priced too. Will NEVER return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OtisToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

this was the worst end of our trip, some of the troupe got the suite, where they had a couch covered by a dirty sheet, which was also dirty. There were mismatched mugs in the cupboards along with a half empty peanut butter jar. The bathroom fixtures had been moved so they left the old holes in the wall (where we saw spiders come out) and there was still drywall dust on the floor from the "reno".
the whole thing was dirty sketch and i don't know how anyone could stay there.

Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
Thank pincurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

I have never stayed in a place that was so filthy....air con not working....heat was overwhelming....I don't know when they painted last or washed anything as all you could smell was cigerrette smoke...We sat outside as long as posssible.....
I believe that they should be paying people to stay rather then the other way around.....
I will sleep in a tent rather then go back there!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dijuha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

First, me and my wife to be went to the breakers motel but sadly to know it was fully booked.
Coming from Quebec city we had to stop for the night(final dest.Guelph)About 5:30 am we were were onwillingly suprized by a shower frrom the room above us ,pouring through the seeling right on top of us but i tell ya it was not water! needles to say we claimed out money back! Me a dutch guy and my wife to be from guelph never had an experiance like that!
One positive thing: we got our money back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moby57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

I've never been to such a crappy ugly room for so much money. Agreed, it's one of the cheapest of the area, but still, it's way too expensive for that kind of crap. They painted the wall without protecting anything, so there's paint on the ceiling, on the carpet, on the window, on the tiles in the bathroom... The shower curtain and the bath were extremely dirty, gucky and slimy. The sink was cloged with hair. The curtain were riped and we had to keep it shot with a chair. The sheets were see-through and cigarette burned. The carpet was dirty and spotted, we couldn't walk on it bare foot. The furniture didn't match and probably came from the Salvation Army. And for 80$ a night, it's way too much. I hated this place.
They advertise a kitchen suite, I guess it's the microwave we had. Don't want to see the Jaccuzi suite!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank geebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobourg
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn
#1 of 2 in Port Hope
43 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cedarview Motel
The Cedarview Motel
#4 of 6 in Cobourg
10 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Woodlawn Inn
The Woodlawn Inn
#1 of 7 in Cobourg
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Motel

Address: 823 William St, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 3A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Price Range: $62 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lotus Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Lotus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Cobourg
Lotus Motel Cobourg, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing