We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, poor weekly buffet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arthur's Restaurant

Arthur's Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 87 Restaurants in Cobourg
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ajax
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location, poor weekly buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Living close to Cobourg we have not stayed in the motel for years. It is very central and close to the mall.

We did go to their weekend buffet every couple of months and on special occasions. Up until last summer the buffet was appetizing, very popular and reasonably priced.

Over a couple of visits the selection and quality of the food suffered along with the popularity by those attending. Long standing items on the menu disappeared, some of the food was stale and service was not as good.

Needless to say my wife and I did not go back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigBlue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“one of my favorite places in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great food, great service, experienced staff. When planning an event the staff is more than accomodating. Banquet hall the best for weddings and corporate events.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tamarain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Slipping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went to the dinner theatre at the Best Western last night. In years past, this dinner theatre has been just about the most amazing value you can get for $50 a person. The meal is a buffet with three tables. One is for bread and salads, one is for meats and veggies and the biggest one is dessert. I have to say, I think the meal is still very good value for the money but there's something missing from the presentation of the food. The veggies were cold and barely cooked, the Yorkshire puddings had been left in the oven much too long and were like chewy rocks and whereas in the past you could choose from a wonderful variety of desserts like cake and trifle, the main presentation is now premade/store bought pies. The meals of the past were prepared and presented with love. I applaud the hard working staff at this place, who made a lovely evening for everyone. There's just something missing from the menu and I can't quite put my finger on what it is.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank phoenixwatcher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for Sunday Brunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good selection for brunch. Made to order hot items, different selections everyweek. Lots of parking, eash access to 401. Dont forget to cut out your coupons for $3.39 off from the local Cobourg papers. Each guest needs a coupon.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid the Steak”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Ordered the 16 oz steak and when it arrived it looked more like an 8 oz steak. The chef confirmed it was an 16 oz, though obviously it was not. Medium rare was more well cooked. It was the worse steak I ever had - price was not cheap either $36. Perhaps it was the long weekend and the regular chef was not there.

Caribbean Spring Rolls was good - hot and tangy.

Mushroom Crusted Atlantic Salmon was ok, though I would never order it again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur's Restaurant also viewed

 
Cobourg, Ontario
 

Been to Arthur's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing