We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience, can't wait to go back!”
Review of The Woodlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Cobourg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
“A wonderful experience, can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We spent five nights in January at the Woodlawn while visiting family, and can't wait to go back. From the first moment the service was excellent. All the staff we met went out of their way to make sure we were always comfortable. The building has been lovingly restored and the room was beautiful. The bed was enormous and of excellent quality. Breakfast consisted of a lovely cold buffet, which was imaginatively served, and varied every day, along with hot dishes made to your order. The restaurant is excellent, and the wine cellar is outstanding. When we expressed interest in Canadian wine (we live in Europe) we were immediately offered a tour of the wine cellar, which we gratefully accepted! All in all, great value for money. A perfect combination of feeling 'home away from home' with all the comforts and services you'd expect from a large luxury hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2veryHappytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    58
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
114
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2009

We were in the area and dropped by the Inn which we had stayed at a few years earlier. We were offered a room with a king bed and fireplace with breakfast for $140. It is a beautiful old building with lots of charm and lots of places to sit and relax. It has a nice lounge upstairs and a bar on the main floor along with a restaurant. This time of year is nice and quiet and it's not too far from Toronto. Considering there was a hockey tournament in town, this was an unexpected luxury. Watch for seasonal packages in the off-season. Hotel staff was very friendly and when we asked for hotter water, they complied immediately.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ws34nipissing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We arrived a lot later than we had planned. There was an accident on the highway and were delayed by quite a bit. When we arrived we were tired, hungry and in need of a bit tranquility. Let me say that the staff were excellent, courteous , attentive, but not obtrusive. We spent a couple of days at the Woodlawn. A colleague at work had recommended the Inn, so I checked out the website and got a great deal on a two day package that included breakfast & dinner and even the tips!. To get this package you have to call them directly. The quality of the food, the property, the guest rooms rooms were top notch! I travel a lot and this little country inn offers terrific value. We really enjoyed not having to get in the car for two days, as everything we wanted like shopping, the beach, a cafe and pub was close to the Inn.

  • Liked — They made me feel special
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FredMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambton
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2008

My wife and I had a terrific time at the Woodlawn. The property was great and the staff were accommodating. I am a bit picky, and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The rooms were lovely, food was excellent and the inn has a pretty decent wine cellar. I will be back soon!

  • Liked — The staff were terrific
  • Disliked — nothing really comes to mind
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EcoGreenTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed two nights at the Woodlawn Inn in Cobourg and found the room
to be very spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff were
very friendly and accommodating. The public areas were very well kept and quaint. Breakfast was included, although there wasn't alot of selection and the cooks didn't seem to know how to cook eggs over-hard. We had to send them back each morning and they were still runny!
It is also unfortunate there is no exercise room, however, it is a small hotel, so you wouldn't necessarily expect one. We would stay there again - a very relaxing, well-kept property.

  • Liked — Quaint and comfortable
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank buddykeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vevey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2007

!9th century building in Cobourg Ontario Canada. Very pretty and well decorated
Service poor. Our room was not ready at 1700hrs and we had a dinner in the hotel at 1800 hrs.Bar service was almost truculent and dinner service uninterested. The tea and coffee trays in the room were not cleaned or cleared for the 3 days we were there
The food was good especially breakfast but again the service was amateurish and slow. And the service charge is 15%
Choose somewhere else first

  • Liked — Pretty building
  • Disliked — The steep stairways
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

This property is beautiful. Sadly it seems to me that the staff are happy to let the property do the work for them. When we booked in, the staff had forgotten to get one of our rooms ready. Lightbulbs were out all over the hotel. The waiting staff at dinner (and we gave them A LOT of business over a family wedding weekend) were somewhere between cool and completely uninterested. It takes real skill to decide you're bored with serving coffee and not finish even the first round not once, but two evenings on the trot. We had two rooms for three days and not once was either tea tray cleaned or re-filled. The hotel has no one to carry your bags up very steep stairs. The cooked food is very good, but the rest of the meals, particularly breakfast, are motel-standard - unimaginative and served with no care. We were overcharged when we checked the bill and the response was just short of "What do you expect when you buy so many services from us?" This slovenly approach to customer service is a real pity, because the hotel itself is beautiful. It is really let down by the people who work in it. Would I stay here again? You must be joking.

  • Liked — The property itself is a period property, beautifully maintained with lovely furniture
  • Disliked — The staff couldn't care less.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SheMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobourg
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mackechnie House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Willowmere Bed and Breakfast
7.7 mi away
Ste. Anne's Spa
Ste. Anne's Spa
#1 of 1 in Grafton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlawn Inn

Property: The Woodlawn Inn
Address: 420 Division St | Ontario, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 3R9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cobourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlawn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cobourg's Historic District and close to the waterfront, the historic Woodlawn Inn opened its doors in 1988 and today has twenty generously appointed guest rooms. The Woodlawn Inn is perfect for romantic retreats, girl’s getaways, small weddings and business meetings. The highly regarded Woodlawn Inn dining room is open to the public for intimate dinners or for large weddings of up to 100 guests. Within walking distance, there are day-spas, historic homes, shops and one of the most picturesque downtowns in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Woodlawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlawn Hotel Cobourg
The Woodlawn Inn Cobourg, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing