We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Character Great People”
Review of The Woodlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Woodlawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Cobourg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Character Great People”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a great find the Woodlawn Inn is. A comfortable little place in the quaint Canadian town of Cobourg. I went to attend a photography workshop run by Richard Martin and the accommodations were perfect for this type of event. We had our own meeting room as well as private dining room. The chef was simply amazing. the food was excellent as was the service. The Woodlawn Inn has it all... comfy rooms, great food, and really nice people!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Don M

Thank you for writing about The Woodlawn Inn and the dining room. I am so pleased that you were comfortable here, and that you enjoyed the photography workshop and enjoyed your meals. Thanks again, and we would be happy to have you back with us, whenever your travel plans bring you to Northumberland County
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    60
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
115
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here on our way home from Quebec. They are a member of 'Ontario's Finest Inns & Spa's'. Cobourg's main drag is about 4 blocks away, (10 Mins). The rooms are large and well appointed. We chose the 'couples package' which included dinner, (which was excellent) and a cooked breakfast. We were in room 106 which was located next to the staircase leading to the 2nd floor. Avoid this room!! The 'clump, clump' of patrons going up to their rooms was annoying. They have a nice little private courtyard for relaxing or enjoying a pre-dinner drink. They also have a fully stocked bar room.
Parking is free.

Room Tip: Avoid room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewhavenOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear NewhavenOntario

Thank you for your well written review. We are glad that you chose to stay with us on your recent trip back from Quebec. Sorry that the sounds of other guests were a bother. The next time youplan to return, please call me next time and I'll be happy to make arrangements for you!

Best wishes,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Enjoyed an evening in a cottage suite for a short getaway. Room was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast is made fresh to order, and service was friendly and warm. Centrally located, a short walk to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingston007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear kingston007

Thanks for staying with us and I'm glad that you had a terrific time both in your Cottage suite and in the dining room. I'll pass on your comments to the staff. They are so appreciative of our guests comments!

Regards,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful building, on very nice grounds, a short walk away from Cobourg's main street and the wonderful beach.

We stayed in the presidential suite, which was nicely decorated with high ceilings and impeccably clean. The bathroom seemed to be recently renovated and had a lovely slate floor, a large stand up shower and a jetted tub that fit four of us. The bedroom was very stylishly decorated as well.

That being said, the one thing which precludes me from giving them 5 stars is the lack of a crib for people travelling with children. When I booked the reservation, although I ultimately booked through Expedia, I called and informed them we would be travelling with our children ages 2 and 8 months. Though we travel with one playard in which our youngest sleeps, it would have been nice to have a crib/playard available for our older son.

The front desk attendant who checked us in made a most generous offer to help us out, however we ultimately set up an appropriate area for our son to sleep in. When I informed the morning attendant of the lack of a crib, I got the sense that they are not available at the Woodlawn at all. Considering that many people travel with their children, and Cobourg is actually a very family friendly town, it would probably be in their best interest to try and accommodate those travelling with children.

Nevertheless, a lovely little hotel which would suit those looking for a more refined stay in Cobourg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoANTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hello TorontoANTo!

I'm glad that you had a great time with us recently and thanks so much for your review and your description of the Presidential Suite, and Cobourg's excellent beach! I am sorry that you were given the wrong information by expedia. I will look into what they told you. If you ever need to find out specific details about the inn please call us toll free and we'll be happy to answer all of your questions. We hope to see you soon again at The Woodlawn Inn.

Best wishes,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent a lovely evening in this historic old home..a stopover on our way to Niagara Falls. As it was a holiday weekend I was thankful that they would accept just a Saturday night booking. It was a very hot humid afternoon when we rolled into Coburg...beaches and parking lots downtown were packed, so we drove around exploring the town then headed to the inn to escape the crowds. Here the high ceilings and reliable air conditioning gave us much relief from the heat in our spacious room. We had booked a Superior King and it was truly superior in every way. For once we had enough space to actually open the suitcases on the floor without tripping over them, but it really didn't matter this time as there was also an oversize walk-in closet perfectly designed for this purpose. Rooms 218 and 219 are in their own private corner of the hotel off a private sitting room so we had no noise from other guests in our corridor...just a peaceful night in a very comfortable bed.
Breakfast was adequate, but some items were in short supply. After the luxurious accommodations we had been enjoying I found this meal a little simple and underwhelming, compared to other inns where we have stayed. However, because of the on-line deal we had taken advantage of, this accommodation was good value for the money on a very busy holiday weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Janet B

Thank you for your detailed review of the The Woodlawn Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here in Cobourg and at the inn. I will talk with the kitchen staff and inquire about the breakfast! We would love to have you back with us the next time you are in Cobourg!

Best wishes,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Cobourg is a great spot for those looking for either a stopover or for a short getaway from the GTA or Kingston areas. It's right off the 401 and has maintained it's quaint, charming locale well. The Inn is a beautiful old home and was filled with knowledgeable and respectful staff which you would expect from one of Ontario's Finest Inns. We loved the size of our room, it's high ceilings and the fact that the suite maintained so much of it's classic charm. Both the dinner and the breakfast were extremely tasty and made fresh to order. I am looking forward to returning here next year!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hello Mike S

Thanks for your review of The Woodlawn Inn. We are so lucky to have great guests like you visit us year round and all of the staff truly appreciate all of the feedback they get. We are looking forward to your return visit next year.

Cheers,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is an almost perfect place to stay just off the horriblle 401 when you just can't stand the idea of carrying on in either direction. If it had a little more grounds to offer a sit and a read, it would be ideal.

The dining room, though not what it was five years ago the last time we stayed here, is still sophisticated and ambitious enough to please, a Dover sole boned at the table an old fashioned treat but alas the other person's veal temperature paid the price.

A well informed sommelier seemed slightly defensive at a question about the relative shortage of of Prince Edward county wines, none by the glass, and his explanation of being equi-distanced from Niagara and "the county" didn't ring quite true but there is no denying his knowledge of wine especially Italian.

Breakfast is the biggest disappointment: I don't mind getting my own juice and coffee or even making my own toast (i am lying here) but when was the last time you were served two slices of bacon with two eggs? That's even one less than my father allowed us as children, more than three, he had decided, we were being pigs. Right as he mightbhave been, He didn't seem to see the irony.

Room Tip: 218 and 219 are off their own living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamcares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear grahamcares

Thanks for your return visit to The Woodlawn Inn. I'm glad that you found the location of the inn suitable for a Toronto to Montreal trip. Since you last visited us, we now offer a few more Prince Edward County wines by the glass, so that guests can check out the excellent local wine scene! Sorry that the breakfast did not deliver on the bacon front! I hope to see you the next time you up here from Florida!

Take care
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobourg
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
1.0 mi away
Mackechnie House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Willowmere Bed and Breakfast
7.7 mi away
Ste. Anne's Spa
Ste. Anne's Spa
#1 of 1 in Grafton
1,362 reviews
6.5 mi away
Plantation House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlawn Inn

Property: The Woodlawn Inn
Address: 420 Division St | Ontario, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 3R9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cobourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlawn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cobourg's Historic District and close to the waterfront, the historic Woodlawn Inn opened its doors in 1988 and today has twenty generously appointed guest rooms. The Woodlawn Inn is perfect for romantic retreats, girl’s getaways, small weddings and business meetings. The highly regarded Woodlawn Inn dining room is open to the public for intimate dinners or for large weddings of up to 100 guests. Within walking distance, there are day-spas, historic homes, shops and one of the most picturesque downtowns in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Woodlawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlawn Hotel Cobourg
The Woodlawn Inn Cobourg, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing