We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True to the reviews of others”
Review of The Woodlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Woodlawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Cobourg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“True to the reviews of others”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in a "Charming" suite. It was immaculate, modern, and quiet. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast was included and you could choose from cereal, fruit, and make your own toast. The kitchen would prepare eggs to your preferance. We didn't have a chance to look around very much, because we arrived late afternoon and left early morning, ate supper out. It was evident that much pride is placed in the care of the property itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear BillandWendyC

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad that you had a great time during your brief visit. We would be happy to have you return the next time your trips take you through Cobourg. Have a great summer!

Best wishes,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    58
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
114
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

A lovely property, well situated in town, bike friendly, good food, pleasant staff. Somewhat pricey but nice for a treat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear VickiT59

Thanks for your review of the inn! I'm glad that you had time unwind and relax with us here in Cobourg. The summer high season is really busy but if you visit our website we post special offers during the off season. We would love to have you back here with us soon!

Take care,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had one night here in June and found it to be very nice, and only a 10 minute walk to downtown.
We had a large comfy,clean, well furnished room, the only downside was the poor air con,which was noisy and innefficient.
The staff are really nice and the public rooms lovely.
Breakfast is very good.
Overall a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: check out the A/C unit noise in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpystickboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hello grumpystickboy !

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of The Woodlawn Inn. I'm sorry that your ac unit was a bit noisy when you visited us last. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and I'll pass on your kind words to the staff. We would love to have you back the next time you are in Canada!

Cheers,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had such a great time and met some really nice people. The town of Cobourg is a ten minute walk to where we stayed at the Woodlawn Inn. The Woodlawn Inn is a family run business and was quite a nice place to stay. The room we stayed in had a very comfortable bed and the décor was tasteful. We didn’t stay in the room very long but enjoyed our sleep there.

We had a glass of wine in the lounge and enjoyed looking at the photographs taken and displayed by the owner. Then off to bed we went after this fun filled day!

We woke up Sunday morning and made our way to breakfast in the hotel. It had your standard buffet breakfast fare (cereal, fruit, toast, juice and coffee) with three options for a hot breakfast. You had a choice of eggs and bacon/sausage, veggie omelette or a cheesed omelette. It was a step up from your usual breakfast at a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hello Flash2

Thanks for visiting us at The Woodlawn Inn! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Thanks,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here twice now and look forward to our next visit. The Inn consists of an old house with breakfast room, dining rook, meeting rooms and lounge with adjacent garden; the new wing with charming large rooms (opening windows!) and comfortable furniture; and several cottages adjacent (lovely outside and in...) The hosts and staff are very gracious without being intrusive. The eating and drinking areas are comfortable and convenient. The menus are FANTASTIC! And the warm and welcoming town is hereby with lots of lakefront spaces. This place offers everything you would want in an inn get-away...

Room Tip: The cottages are a real escape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Testing12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Testing12345

Thanks for being a return guest and for your great overview of The Woodlawn and Cobourg. I'm glad that you enjoyed the ambiance of the executive Cottage next to the inn. Have a great end of summer and we hope to see you back at the inn soon.

All the best,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Together with our two relatives from the UK, we spent an enjoyable evening and night at The Woodlawn Inn in Cobourg.
Our rooms were large, clean and well equipped - very comfortable king-size bed. Coffee in room was mediocre, but that seems to be the case wherever we've travelled whether in N. America or Europe. (Coffee at breakfast was very good.)
We had a gastronomic experience in the dining room as we ate our way through a wonderfully delicious three-course meal. Hats off to the chef.
Breakfast the following morning was just right.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earbygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hello Earbygirl!

Thanks for you review and thanks for visiting us with you family from the UK. I'm glad everyone enjoyed themselves while here at The Woodlawn Inn. We would be happy to have you back with us the next time your travels take you near Cobourg.

All the best,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Amaising staff, cuisine and hotel in general.
Quiet and clean rooms!

Will return for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flight_Planners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLRShutterbug, Manager at The Woodlawn Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Flight_Planners

Thanks for your brief, encouraging review! All of our thirty staff here at the inn give their best, and its nice to see their work get recognized. See you the next time your work brings you to Northumberland County!

Regards,
Stephen Della Casa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobourg
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mackechnie House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Willowmere Bed and Breakfast
7.7 mi away
Ste. Anne's Spa
Ste. Anne's Spa
#1 of 1 in Grafton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlawn Inn

Property: The Woodlawn Inn
Address: 420 Division St | Ontario, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 3R9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cobourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlawn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cobourg's Historic District and close to the waterfront, the historic Woodlawn Inn opened its doors in 1988 and today has twenty generously appointed guest rooms. The Woodlawn Inn is perfect for romantic retreats, girl’s getaways, small weddings and business meetings. The highly regarded Woodlawn Inn dining room is open to the public for intimate dinners or for large weddings of up to 100 guests. Within walking distance, there are day-spas, historic homes, shops and one of the most picturesque downtowns in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Woodlawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlawn Hotel Cobourg
The Woodlawn Inn Cobourg, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing