We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely inn for an overnight stay”
Review of The Woodlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Cobourg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely inn for an overnight stay”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We loved the Woodlawn Inn and we would recommend it for a stay over in Cobourg. We had a lovely room on the first floor. It was a cool night and it would have been nice to turn on the fireplace, but the gas had been turned off for the season. However, we did enjoy the lovely atmosphere of the room. We had a very good full breakfast the next morning, which was included in the reasonable room rate.
We decided to eat at the Inn the night before and we really cannot recommend the restaurant, although the service and atmosphere were both excellent. My husband and I had selected different mains and while both were okay , they were certainly not memorable, yet the prices charged for the main courses are quite expensive and would seem to merit better quality and/or preparation on the part of the chef. However, kudos for the wonderful wine selection and delicious dessert.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 155019Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    58
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
114
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My friend and I just returned from The Woodlawn Inn in Cobourg Ontario where we attended an excellent photography workshop weekend with the amazing photographer and teacher Richard Martin. Cobourg is a charming quiet town one and a half hours east of Toronto. The entire weekend was fabulous and The Inn was a delight. It is a beautiful place originally built in the 1800's for the mayor of Cobourg. The owner Steven DelaCasa (a great photographer himself) runs the Inn with his charming mother. Our large room with 2 double beds and a balcony was quiet, clean and very comfortable. Every room is different, some with fireplaces, sitting areas, small refrigerators etc The large inn has many common rooms all furnished with antiques so even though there were other guest, no one seemed to be in each other's way. The food is excellent with many choices. As a matter of fact the Inn is quite know by the locals for it's great food. I highly recommend this country inn for a little get a way or a small group conference.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stayed at the Woodlawn Twice in the last month and absolutley love it...very beautiful and spacious rooms. fabulous food and the hospitality can not be beaten. The inn is the best kept secret in that area of the Province ...you must stay there once in experience the comfort of a home away from home...special mention to Stephen and Marissa. they are very great hosts.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I stayed at the Woodlawn for the first time and was very impressed. Outstanding facilities, very friendly people and quiet (but in-town) location. A great place to stay.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyBCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We enjoyed everything about our stay (except the weather!). The staff were welcoming and helpful, the room was beautiful, well appointed and comfortable, and the food and service exceptional. The house and gardens were delightful, and perfectly maintained, and the information on the history of the house was a nice touch. We particularly enjoyed being able to step out to a mini patio outside our ground floor room, and being able to borrow and watch a movie after a long day's drive. We will certainly return on our next visit to the Cobourg area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 155004James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Despite a little discrepancy between online and actual prices everything else ran very smoothly and we were dealt with in a warm and friendly manner. The room was as described and the facilities more than adequate. Whilst I was very happy to see a coffee maker my partner was less pleased that she was unable to have a cup of tea. So little required to have that facility in a room. We were not able to open one of the windows and the other was not able to be shut! but there is so little road noise it did not bother us. The AC managed to take away an overly warm temperature on arrival. The spa bath was very welcome after a long walk along the beach. The highlight however was the restaurant. The menu was long and I doubt anyone could fail to find something exciting to try. The service was attentive and very friendly and for the quality good value. The wine list was extensive and a joy to look through and order from. Enjoyed the stay and the owners clearly know how to look after people. I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokernis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa,ont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My husband and I spent one night here on our way to Toronto. Lovely Inn, we stayed in the cottage, it was roomy and very comfortable. Cute little town, so much more than we expected. Very friendly staff and dinner was great. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonbusinesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobourg
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mackechnie House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Willowmere Bed and Breakfast
7.7 mi away
Ste. Anne's Spa
Ste. Anne's Spa
#1 of 1 in Grafton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlawn Inn

Property: The Woodlawn Inn
Address: 420 Division St | Ontario, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 3R9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cobourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlawn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cobourg's Historic District and close to the waterfront, the historic Woodlawn Inn opened its doors in 1988 and today has twenty generously appointed guest rooms. The Woodlawn Inn is perfect for romantic retreats, girl’s getaways, small weddings and business meetings. The highly regarded Woodlawn Inn dining room is open to the public for intimate dinners or for large weddings of up to 100 guests. Within walking distance, there are day-spas, historic homes, shops and one of the most picturesque downtowns in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Woodlawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlawn Hotel Cobourg
The Woodlawn Inn Cobourg, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing