We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Stay, but Frustrated by Disorganization”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine Stay, but Frustrated by Disorganization”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

All aspects of our stay was fine, except for our arrival. The lady at front desk was friendly, but aloof. She took a while to find our reservation and after she did told us it wasn't ready but gave no indication how long it would be. This really agitated us for two reasons: 1) We arrived at 430PM and had to get dressed for a wedding in town at 6PM (after driving 3.5 hrs to get there), 2) We had guaranteed our room weeks in advance and called several days prior to request that our room be ready for checkin time (4PM) or earlier, to which they said it would be "no problem at all". Well, that didn't happen and we ended up waiting until 515ish for the room to be cleaned. Considering checkout time is 11AM, a 5 hour room turnaround is unacceptable, especially since we booked with BW because it is known for being a brand that delivers consistent service. I'd expect that from a budget motel, but not a Best Western.

Next time I'm in Cobourg, I'll try a B+B or something in the downtown.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlipLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    131
    57
    11
    9
See reviews for
136
68
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mississauga
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel with our daughter and dog. We were pleasantly surprised with our room, it was clean the pool was great. Very modern with the TV’s and bedding very bright. The down side is the restaurant in this hotel. It looked very nice so we decided to eat there. My husband started off with the French onion soup, he was eating it and then discovered a black thing in his soup. He took out the glob of cheese and we seen a big dead fly sitting in his soup. Right away we could not believe this and we told our daughter not to eat the grilled cheese. We told one waitress the soup and we told her we will not be having our main chores. She walked away and said “you will have to pay for the drinks” and opened up the kitchen door and said “stop the food they do not want it.” Then we walked over to our waitress and she was not apologetic at all. “She said she has had flies in her food and these things happen”. We then told her we work in the food industry and these things do not happen. I have had hair not insects in my food. If she was not phased but a fly then I do not want to eat their, who knows what else. The chief came downstairs as he was catering a party. He was very apologetic and he offered us breakfast but obviously we would not accept. We ended up ordering pizza hut in our room. My husband could not enjoy his food as he felt sick to his stomach. I would stay at the hotel but find somewhere else to eat!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theshannons_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton ontario
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I were taking the train to Montreal and decided to get a room the night before to be close to the train station. We had no reservation but the reception at the hotel couldn't have been friendlier. We were really surprised by the quality of the room for the price we paid. We travel a great deal and to be honest we thought for the price we paid ($124) we would get the average room but WOW..what a surprise we had. The quality of the room far exceeded the price! The bed linen was of the highest quality and my husband continues to tell everyone that we had the best night sleep he has ever had! and we have paid three times this amount elsewhere! This hotel was a great start to a wonderful vacation. Don't hesitate to stay here!

Room Tip: We asked for a non smoking king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schnoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel was reasonably priced. This is a small town, with only 2 major hotel chains. Front desk staff was helpful, especially the man who checked us in.

This hotel was very clean, and had a great pool with jacuzzi and water play area for kids.

Not much to do in this small town, however the front desk staff was very helpful suggesting area restaurants for a nice couples dinner and our meal was fab! The hotel was fully booked, 2 rooms left, however the male at the front desk allowed me to take a look at the room, as I requested, because it was not exactly what I was looking for. We booked anyway an got the caa rate. The many small gestures of great service were appreciated greatly, and I would stay here again due to the accomodating staff at this location.

We needed extra towels and some toiletries, so we called the front desk and they arrived within 5 minutes!

Our room had a fridge and also a walk out to our parking spot on the ground floor.

Onsite fitness center, with modern equipment, bed was a foldaway cot and too soft.

However bedding was very clean and parking was FREE!

Great stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianGirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2011

At check in the agent was rude, and impatient, when my wife and I got to the room it seemed old and outdated but with a new big screen tv, I had been up for over 24 hours so I slept without an issue that night. The housekeepers didnt bother knocking either morning, and they came into the room even when I had the privacy sign on the door. When we went to check out of the hotel the person behind the desk was glaring at me for an unknown reason. Horrible service high rates even with a group booking, I grew up in Cobourg and had always thought that this was a good hotel. Oh well lessoned learned next time I will pick a different one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AoR598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Traveled with our youth hockey team for a tournament in nearby Baltimore. Most of the team was on the same floor and hotel was filled with other teams. Location was perfect, staff was understanding of what hosting hockey teams means and the kids loved the pool. Good breakfast in the morning and nice lounge in the evening. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This was a good option for a stay in Cobourg. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff were friendly. My wife and both kids swam in the pool and all found the water clean and well heated.

We stayed here for two nights while my son's team competed in a local hockey tournament. It was a good base for that. It was close to the arenas and many restaurants. Our team got a discount one morning on the breakfast buffet, which was pretty good.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobourg
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
103 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
144 reviews
7.6 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn
#1 of 2 in Port Hope
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bowmanville
22.7 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,544 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Woodlawn Inn
The Woodlawn Inn
#1 of 7 in Cobourg
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
Address: 930 Burnham St, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 2X9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre is a full service property offering an indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness centre, inhouse restaurant and lounge, business centre and 11 meeting and convention/banquet rooms. We are conveniently locate a 1/4 mi south of highway 401 off exit 472 and offer 87 guest rooms and suites for your business or getaway needs. Our friendly and courteous staff will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre Hotel Cobourg
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn And Convention Centre
Best Western Cobourg
Cobourg Best Western
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing