We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ammenities!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cobourg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breakers on the Lake
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great ammenities!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent one night at the Breakers with our infant and two dogs and Room #11 fit everyone perfectly! Our baby slept soundly in his pack n play in the first floor bedroom. (It was very spacious for the pack n play - no need to squeeze it into a corner.) The dogs slept soundly on a comfy dog blanket provided by the Breakers. And we had the loft bedroom all to ourselves. It, too, was very spacious. The kitchen was fully equipped for meals - including a dishwasher! (Not often seen in kitchenettes so this was a welcome change from having to handwash dishes.)

The whole place was spotless. It is evident that the owners and staff take great pride in their hotel. I would totally recommend Breakers to anyone who is looking for accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BushellBasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I recently stayed at The Breakers for a week. Its a lovely place and the staff were very friendly and courteous. My room (#10) was great. Kitchen had everything I needed for coffee and a quick breakfast. Bed was comfy and the room had a beautiful gas fireplace. I am sure it is quite a different place in the summer but my March stay was lovely and quiet....just what I needed.

Room Tip: Room 10 is great; more spacious I think than the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dale1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We were looking for a last minute getaway for the Feb long weekend and lucky for us The Breakers had a cancellation in one of their best rooms (#10). We snapped it up and were pleasantly surprised by the room's proximity and view of the beautiful Cobourg beach. The room had a double sided gas fireplace which heated the room perfectly. The kitchenette was great and included a real package of coffee so you could make more than one pot of coffee in the morning.

Thanks for a great stay. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Breakers on the lake is the place I would recommend to anyone visiting Cobourg...
Right on the shore of the lake, it is an amazing location, at any time!
The people are so friendly. We loved it!!
The rooms are nice and cosy. Chose one with a view on the lake, it's very nice! Also, they have some rooms with a jacuzzi in them, they weren't available when my husband & I went but we really want to go back to try.
It's a charming place where to spend one or more nights.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SarraSnibila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We rented cottage #14 for a "girls weekend" in the late fall/winter. It was a beautiful and clean cottage. Close to the downtown shopping and park. Although it was winter I am sure it would be beautiful in the summer. The only warning I would have is that the ground floor bedroom in cottage #14 is close to a furnace of some sort so there is a constant humming sound. But it was lovely

Room Tip: Cottage #14 ground floor bedroom is somewhat loud with a humming sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sully1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed overnight Saturday in room Number 4 downstairs which had 2 beds., You could see the lake when you sat at the window having something to eat. The room had lots of dishes, a microwave, toaster, kettle , teapot and tea bags, sugar and a coffee pack. If you do not like whitener just bring a little bit of milk.

Had a bit of a problem working the TV so the lady from Reception came over right away to fix it.

Our room was ready early so we unpacked and went of a lovely walk along by the lake to the far end of the boardwalk. It took about 1/2 an hour. Lots of very nice condos near the Marina. Lots of neat little shops on the main street. Went to 5 pm Mass on Saturday night in the beautiful church called St Michaels which was only a few minutes drive from the Breakers.

We ate at the Ginger Thai resturant. Food was very good but it is not licenced yet. Lots of different kinds of teas.

On Sunday our group of Royal Marines layed a wreath at the Cenotaph in Victoria Park which is very close to the hotel. Lovely service in St Peter's Anglican church. Our group ate lunch at the Mill resturant. None of us were very impressed. Do not think that they are used to having a large group in at the same time.

Room Tip: Our group had an assortment of rooms. If you want a better view of the lake the upstairs room are go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

we stayed there one night and had a blast!!! perfect location! Just eat anywhere but the oasis. Awful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobourg
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
105 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Woodlawn Inn
The Woodlawn Inn
#1 of 7 in Cobourg
246 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cedarview Motel
The Cedarview Motel
#4 of 6 in Cobourg
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Willowmere Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers on the Lake

Property: Breakers on the Lake
Address: 94 Green St, Cobourg, Ontario K9A 3W1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cobourg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cobourg
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Breakers On The Lake Hotel Cobourg
Breakers On The Lake Cobourg, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing